We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such an Interesting Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rock Solid Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such an Interesting Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hostel is one of the coolest and best hostels I've seen. There is great security to help you feel safe, everything is very clean and organized and the people are really friendly and helpfully. The indoor rock climbing through the hostel is really awesome too. The kitchen was great also we enjoyed a good dinner and breakfast. The front desk was also great with helping us book activities and find the best activities for us and get us transportation. Oh did I mention the beds are really comfy! This hostel is great

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkrizz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Kia ora
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your fantastically 'cool' comments about your stay with us.

My team and I do care about providing a really comfortable and enjoyable experience for our guests and really appreciate it when guests do!

All the best for your continued amazing experiences and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    95
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
7
65
115
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent personal service, staff really care for their visitors, relaxing atmosphere plenty of room
to do what you want to do without disturbing others. If there is anything to improve on, there weren't many toilets, but lots of showers.

Room Tip: Go to room 202 best as, im gona write a song about it in the future and you can truthfully say you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia ora Shammy

Thanks for taking the time to share your great comments about our hostel.

We do work hard at providing a friendly, comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests, so are very pleased you appreciated our caring staff and spaciousness.

Thank you too for feedback regarding our bathroom amenities however we believe we do have adequate bathrooms as we have a separate men's bathroom on level 2 consisting of 3 showers and 2 toilets and a 2nd bathroom also on level 2 with 2 more toilets, which you may not have been aware of?

We also have separate women's bathroom on level 1 consisting of 4 showers and 4 toilets.

Thank you for your great feedback and hope if you ever return to Rotorua you will come stay with us again - look forward to hearing your song!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good facilities over all. Good kitchen, free wifi, friendly staff, double security doors. Woman's bathroom had an odd smell our first day, but was gone in the morning. Building seems like a referb and is more than a little noisy at night.

Decent value for the budget but would likely look for a different place if we were in town again since sleep is #1 for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Kia ora Richard
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments about our hostel we are pleased you appreciated our guest kitchen, friendly staff, security and affordable rates.

We have taken over an older building and had to refurbish and only been open for 9 months now so do appreciate all feedback.

We are sorry you were disturbed by noise during your stay however we are not sure whether you meant inside the hostel or outside?

Inside our hostel? We do make a point at check in and have signs in all common areas advising all guests to keep noise down between 10pm-7am. Unfortunately some guests are inconsiderate

Outside our hostel? We are located in a central city area which has advantages but of course also means we do have neighbouring nightclub/bars, which we have no control over. So at check in we do however advise our guests (who are booked into rooms close to the main street side) and offer them the option to be in a different location away from the front of our hostel or a discount if they are Ok to stay? Which means you could have a 4 bed dorm for just $19, 3 bed dorm $21 or a private double room for just $50! We think this is being upfront and very fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Rock solid is a very nice accmodation with friendly staff, clean facilities, free wifi, free table tennis and pool billiard. You can also relax with a lot of free dvds or the Xbox. The Hostel is in the city centre and it's just a short walk to Supermarkets.
Awesome !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lennhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Kia ora Lennhem

Thanks for taking the time to place your feedback on our hostel and share your great comments about our hostel.

We do work hard at providing a friendly, comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests, so are very pleased you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, clean room especially the free DVDs and XBox and central location.

We wish you continued amazing experiences on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a very good hostel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and there is plenty of places to chill out. Only thing I'd recommend is that the toilets and showers could do with a bit of refreshing. But overall perfectly adequate for what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RaeRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Kia ora Roxarne

Thanks for taking the time to place your feedback on our hostel and share your great comments about our hostel.

We do work hard at providing a friendly, comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests, so are very pleased you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and lounges provided for our guest to relax in.

Thanks too for your feedback about our bathrooms which our cleaning crew do work hard at keeping clean however we do know they are showing their 'age' and an upgrade is definitely on our 'wishlist' too !

We wish you continued amazing experiences on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We loved our stay here! The staff were great and make us feel very welcome. Fantastic kitchen facilities, lots of storage space and worktops and it's all very clean. They also have very good discounts on trips so book through them! Supermarkets, bus stops and lakes all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yogawithmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Kia ora

Thank you so much for taking the time to place your feedback and share your great comments about our hostel.

Our team is always working to provide a friendly, comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests and are really pleased you appreciated everything we had to offer especially our helpful staff, our spacious kitchen , the discounts we can offer and our central location.

We hope you come stay again next time you are in our great town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have a wonderful weekend here. The bed is nice, the kitchen is big and clean, the staff are very friendly. Ask them anything!! They just had all the right answer for you ;) Lots of things to do here after a day trip outside like ping pong, pool, x-box, climbing wall (with a very nice deal if you stay here!!) or, just relax and watch people struggling to make to the top of the wall :D.
Will stay here again if I go to Rotorua ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PrastaTetaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Kia ora

Thank you so much for taking the time to place your feedback and share your great comments about our hostel.

Our team is always working to provide a friendly, comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests and are really pleased you appreciated everything we had to offer especially our helpful staff, your comfy bed, the spacious and clean kitchen and all the free activities available in our lounge!

We hope you come stay again next time you are in our great town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Solid Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Solid Backpackers

Property: Rock Solid Backpackers
Address: 1140 Hinemoa Street | Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Solid Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG BOLD & BRIGHT! Kia ora - Welcome to Rock Solid Backpackers located in the heart of downtown Rotorua with dedicated local staff who really do care about their guest's comfort and enjoyment and love sharing their hostel and town with their international visitors. Based in a former office block, this large industrial-style building may not be a cosy cottage but if a funky inner city chill out zone at reasonable rates is what you are looking for - then this is the place! Guest lounge The large comfortable reception guest lounge is the hub of the hostel with FREE High Speed WiFi, FREE pool table, FREE Table Tennis and FREE XBox. FREE DVDs and FREE book exchange corner. They also have FREE luggage and bike storage room including a fridge to store your food while waiting to check in or depart. Also unique to Rock Solid is the 17m high rock climbing wall you can view through floor-to-ceiling windows from this guest lounge. Or if you feel like having a go, guests can climb for just $12 which includes, shoes, harness, chalk and climbing until you drop(not literally!) Or if you prefer a bit of arty culture you can check out what's on in the Basement Arts Cinema downstairs too! Kitchen & Dining Room A large well equipped guest kitchen and dining room for guests to prepare and cook their meals and snacks. This hostel also actively recycles packaging. Guest Laundry Coin operated washing machines, driers and laundry powder dispensers are also available. Tours & Activities Rotorua is the ultimate north island adventure and cultural destination, offering a huge range of activities to suit every taste, budget and thrill factor which hosts are happy to arrange for their guests. Parking There is both limited free public street parking and charge meter parking available in front of the hostel. From 5pm-9am (daily) this parking is FREE. It is also free from Saturday 12:00 noon to Monday 9:00am. More information is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Solid Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing