We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lone Star Rotorua

Lone Star Rotorua
Ranked #19 of 218 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Dined here three times this week. Service been great, very efficient, meals a good size - especially for the hubby! Thank you

Helpful?
Thank janjanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoneStarRotorua, Owner at Lone Star Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We're thrilled you came to us three times in a week when there's so many Cafe's to choose from in Rotorua. Thanks very much for the feedback as well as your patronage.
Andy Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    175
    57
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good family fare”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very good food and service, in a very busy happening restaurant - would visit again. Atmosphere is busy and electric.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathyb931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoneStarRotorua, Owner at Lone Star Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Kathy thanks for the feedback, sorry about the belated response. We have a lot of comments about the atmosphere and music so glad you enjoyed it too.
Andy Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“friendly staff, yummy food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

went twice here in 3 days. Friendly staff who remembered us the 2nd time. No surcharge on public holidays. Great food

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoneStarRotorua, Owner at Lone Star Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback but sorry for the belated response. We always remember a pretty face, glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Andy Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The atmosphere at Lone Star is great, this time we were seated on what I call the stage, a slightly elevated area, I found this much more pleasant as music was quieter and it was easier to hold a coversation. Staff were friendly, food was great (although our 23 year old daughter and I share a main, as they are to big).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoneStarRotorua, Owner at Lone Star Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Tricia thanks very much for the feedback and sorry for the belated response. We have a lot of people say the same about our raised area, just ask whenever you come back and we'll put you up there.
Andy Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go to this place!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The food was so good I will go back again and again!!! The service was fab!!! Their cole slaw was number one, so different I could have just eaten it alone!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoneStarRotorua, Owner at Lone Star Rotorua, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks Deanna39,

We're really happy you enjoyed your visit with us recently. The coleslaw is pretty famous through New Zealand and keeps people coming back. Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lone Star Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing