We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Championships White Water Rafting and At Sala”

Atsala Apartment Stay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atsala Apartment Stay
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We 're the Dutch National Whitewater Rafting Team and stayed for about two weeks at At Sala with 7 persons. Beds and bathrooms we're all fine. Close to the city. 10 min walk. and 2 min walk to a nice Maori village Whakawerawera.!
Ian did all he could to make us feel at home, cleaned our rubish and vacuumed while we were away. He even came to shout for us during the competions at 1,5 hrs drive!!. That was great..! Had a little disturbance about the traffic at night when you sleep at the roadside. We even could store some Luggage while we were traveling after the games. Thanks Ian..!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Atsala Apartment Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

we came as a group for the last labour weekend and practically booked the entire place - there were 26 of us and it was just perfect for our stay. wr were lucky to find the place and book early. it was great for money as we got a very good deal from ian. although we saw some parts of the apartments that seemed like wasn't cleaned properly but it generally good. ian was very welcoming and very friendy and very approchable. we had a group bbq on saturday using his bbq unit and turned up to be a memorable night to all of us. we also felt the place was safe and secure. i would certainly recommend the place to everyone who are looking for a nice place to stay in rotorua. i would certainly come back with my family in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I think important to give balanced feedback. We booked the accommodation at short notice. So that part of the experience was very good. The owner was very friendly and tried very hard to be accommodating. I think he genuinely wanted us to have a nice time. Which overall we did. For our large family the configuration of beds etc was good. My concerned were related to the cleanliness of the property. It was very dirty. I was very uncomfortable and had to wash everything before using. The pillowslips and towels had, what looked like bleach marks on them. The additional blankets we requested, made all our children with allergies itch, and I myself could not use them either. They were very dusty. Regardless of this, as we were on holiday we made the best of it, and had a great time. This was good value for such a large group, we have 4 kids and us parents.
I hope the owner can take this review as feedback, and maybe consider whither that part of his service can be improved, he seemed like a nice man.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I recently travelled to Rotorua to meet up with family as a half way point for a weekend getaway.

I found Atsala on the internet and we were able to fit 6 adults all in the one apartment which is very hard to find anywhere now days. The room we stayed in had a large king bed room, and another room with two twin beds and in the lounge two single beds. Not only could we fit 6 of us in the apartment I never felt at any stage that we were crowded as the rooms are very large with a spacious lounge and kitchen. It also has an outdoor area that you can go outside and use which would be nice for in the summer.

Ian the owner was very welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived and gave us recommendations on what we could do in the area. He is the type of person that would go above and beyond to make sure your are enjoying your stay.

If you are looking for the Hilton then this isn’t the place for you, however if you are looking for something clean and comfortable and a place that feels like a home away from home then you would enjoy staying here. I would stay here again, it is great value for money, spacious rooms and great hospitality.

Travel Consultant Auckland

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgurugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Don't stay here its awful. Run down, shoddy, cheap.
Tricky photos on the internet makes the Atsala look very plush. don't be fooled.
The owner could well pop up in your room to "check something" while your getting changed or in the shower.
Don't let your kids play on the back lawn as the owners dog likes to toilet there.

Tip #1 for travelers to New Zealand. DO NOT leave valuables in your car. Especially in this Rotorua or Taupo region.
Tip #2. Do not wander around Rotorua or Taupo drunk at night and do not flash cash in any bar.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Our-NZ-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Lots of space with a double and a twin bedroom, divan in living room and spare bed if required. Spacious living room and nice balcony and outdoor area. Beds all really clean and comfortable and great shower. The host, Ian, is so friendly and would do anything for you. He's a fabulous pianist, leave the door open on a nice evening and enjoy listening to him play. If you have time to chat, he's a very interesting man. This place would be great for families wanting a bit of space. A bit out of town but if you have a car it's no problem, and free parking is available on site

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki255109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were in Rotorua predominantly for mountain biking, and for this the Atsala was very well located. The apartment was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The owner (Ian) was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure we were happy. This even extended to providing storage for our bikes. Only slight negative was the noise from the trucks in the middle of the night, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGARD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pohutu Lodge
Pohutu Lodge
#16 of 58 in Rotorua
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atsala Apartment Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atsala Apartment Stay

Address: 27A Sala Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £75 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atsala Apartment Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atsala Apartment Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing