We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value and lots of space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gwendoline Court Motel
Ranked #92 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Located within a minute's drive or a 10 minute walk from the town's famous boiling mud and steaming geysers, this motel offered us a spacious suite (two huge bedrooms, a lounge and a full bathroom with bath and stand-alone shower) for an astonishing bargain-basement price for two nights. It would suit a large family or two couples. Although there is a microwave, kettle and toaster, crockery and cutlery for 6, the absence of a hotplate, pots and pans limits the self-catering options to microwaving TV dinners.

Room Tip: The upstairs room immediately to the right of the reception hall room is the huge one.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Thank you for the positive comments, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Gwendoline Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had booked a room but when we got there and saw the state if it we decided not to stay. The lounge area had a double bed and a very shabby armchair and small stained and dirty side table.
Carpet was also very thread bare, very disappointing.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this motel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lesleysime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide your valuable feedback.

The rooms are spacious with a queen and sindle bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs.

We do have a project plan in place to update the lounge chairs, and we do hope we can accommodate you again in the future

Kind Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The motel had heaps of room, the kids loved having their own upstairs area. Was a bit outdated however very comfortable and had everything you could need. Heater worked a treat as did the outdoor spa which we all enjoyed at various times. We extended our stay by an extra day and couldnt have been happier with the friendly service. Only downfall was the laundry facility was very inadequate do your washing somewhere else takes way too long.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback

The rooms are a great size, and the central heating does keep the rooms warm and cosy at night time

Thank you for your comments about the guest laundry

We do look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The unit is very spacious with an upstairs bedroom and has (almost) everything you need (no frying pan, no hairdryer and some other things missing in ours though); it has a very big spa outside and a huge bathroom. However, most of the furniture/sheets/sofas are really old and sometimes dirty or stained. If you're like us and don't normally spend a lot of time in the room or are not really fussy, it's ok and I guess you can put up with it for a few nights. It's about 2/3 km from the centre of Rotorua so if you don't have a car it's quite far away. We stayed for a few nights and the units were 'cleaned' daily but the floors were never swept, the bed was never made and the coffee/tea/sugar never refilled.The lady at reception was helpful and the wifi is really fast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback

We do service the rooms daily, and when we service the rooms the beds are made, dishes are washed and the floors cleaned. I am extremely disappointed that we did not service your room correctly during your stay, and we have addressed this at the motel level.

A new staff member had not been adequately trained in servicing rooms, we have now trained the new staff member to ensure it does not happen again

We appreciate your comments about the sofa, and we will be addressing this in the near future, as we look to replace them

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Disgusting - the rooms were dirty, the carpet threadbare. Broken or missing tiles around the spa and the spas filter kicks in at around 4.30 am. That combined with the general noise from other residents and the road made for a terrible night. Also, we booked (and paid for) 2 queen beds and arrived to find one queen that looked as though the mattress hadn't been changed in 50 yrs and a fold out lounge that was from the same era. We stayed 1 night as we arrived at 10.30 pm, but left by 7.00 the next morning. Highly recommend you do not stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V9118DQMichael_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We appreciate your feedback

We understand that you had requested two queen beds in the room, unfortunately we do not have this configuration in any of the rooms, the rooms have a queen and single bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs.

I do appreciate the comment about the spa pool, we have found that the timer had been set incorrectly and did start to run in the middle of the night, I am extremely sorry about this, we have now corrected the timer on the spa pool

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this property because they allow animals and they were offering a cheap rate.
We were in unit 10.

The positives are that the units are huge they have their own thermal pool and the reception lady is polite and willing to help.

Shower had good pressure.

The bad.

This place is DIRTY. Kitchen was filthy and the cups in the room were so stained and dirty that I would not let my family use them. The electric hobs were filthy and the telephone was yellow with grime. I found a half drunk glass of water in the fridge and crusty dirty ice that I emptied for them.

The cleaners are appalling as when I sat down on chair I found a cough lolly, there was hair in the bed that we had not slept in (we used our sleeping bags and own pillows), brown marks all over the walls and stains all over the carpet.


The TV in my unit was not tuned in (although reception lady did come to do it).


The sheets had holes in them as did the chairs and everything was just so dirty.

I would like to end on a positive because the rooms were a good size and we only paid $107 for 2 adults and a Labrador. If this place was cleaned properly I would not have minded the tatty rooms so much.

I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask them if they have cleaned the room and take your own bedding!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trailertroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Since your response we have moved to hired linen, all our linen now comes from Linen Apparell so the sheets are clean, fresh and pressed

We are disappointed that you experienced some housekeeping issues, we have recently spring cleaned all the rooms, and I am sure you will find them extremely clean

Thank you for your feedback

kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Worst experience ever!!!!! walked in and was horrified the carpets were thread bear, the couch covers were older than I am (37) went up the stairs the bed looked as someone had been sleeping in it ( 2 pillows only positioned in middle of bed and blankets bunched up as if someone had just got out of it) ripped sheets, curtains hanging up by about 4 hooks instead of usual 20 odd, the furniture looked like it had been purchased off the side off road ( people putting out free stuff) my daughter pulled couch cover off her bed only to find the blankets were all stained!!!! Went and spoke to manager told her we were not snobby but this place was beyond a joke!!!! have seen uni student accommodation looking better than this!!!! she agreed!!! and looked at our sheet then informing us it was a non cancellation room and we would be charged for the 2 nights still, we disputed this and went away and rang booking.com (with which we had booked thru) they contacted management and agreed we would only be charged for one night. We went further down the road and got a room at the Rydges for only $20 more a night !!! ASK YOURSELF JUST SAYING!!!!

MY ADVICE....Stay well away from here (it will ruin your break away) and don't book with a non cancellation term!!! I have since investigated and have realised the owners of this motel own other motels as well so I can only imagine what they are also like!!! The pictures we saw over the net reflected not one resemblance of what we were given.... cancellation fees should not apply when you have actually turned up and the standards of the accommodation are way below minimum expectations!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

It is very disappointing to receive your comments, clearly in this instance we did not meet your expectations

Since your stay in January we have moved to hired linen, we can now confidently say that we have clean/ fresh and well pressed linen.

We have not ungraded the future yet, but we now have plans to upgrade some of the future to provide a more modern look

Our rooms are very clean, and we now have supervisors check the rooms to ensure they are clean

We appreciate your comments, and believe that we have made changes that you would appreciate

We do hope that you will again consider staying at our motel, we assure you of over best service

Kind Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#69 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#80 of 92 in Rotorua
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.0 mi away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#76 of 92 in Rotorua
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £66 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwendoline Court Motor Lodge is within walking distance to Puia and the Rotorua International Golf Course, the Motor Inn offers 18 spacious one bedroom apartments, each with spa pool, full kitchen facilities, central heating, wireless internet, digital TV, en-suite with shower, tea/ coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing