We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chosen for its suitable location for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Maria Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Maria Motel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Chosen for its suitable location for us”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Awesome service, nothing was too much trouble. Very accommodating, thank you. This is an older style motel and was selected as it suited us not to be right in town. The beds were comfortable, water pressure in the shower excellent, parking good and there was an excellent outside seating area. The two bedroom unit had plenty of space and a good sized lounge area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servicecounts-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Wow, what can I say, an excellent review all around. Thank you, thank you and thank you again. It was our pleasure to host you, the 3 bedroom family unit in which you stayed has now been tastefully redecorated, we hope to see you again to show it off. We are very proud of the small but effective changes that we bring to the Santa Maria Motel
Regards
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Nice and cozy and the spa room was right outside our back door. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Good location if you have a car as it's not too far to drive in to the centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your welcoming review, we were very pleased to host you here at the Santa Maria Motel. We have recently re-decorated all our rooms and the spa is looking good too. It is great if you have a car but we are also right on the main local bus route :-)
Regards
Jason and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My two friends and I stayed in the cottage at Santa Maria for two nights and it was clean, super convenient, and a nice break from hostels and camping. With a full kitchenette and washer, it provided everything we needed for our stay in Rotorua.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank desert1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Excellent Review, thank you very much. We are so glad that you enjoyed the "cottage in the gardens". It has everything that a small family our group of friends should want.
We hope to see you again i the future should you visit Rotorua again.
Regards
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have already stayed at this cottage 18 months ago and was very happy with our experience then hence the rebook. It is very quaint and quirky. They've updated the TV and changed the suite and carpet since our 1st visit but it still has the same character and feel that we loved. The duty manager was very accommodating. We managed to arrange a late checkout with him. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you Joanne for your review, very kind words, we try to make small but necessary changes to improve our customers stay without destroying the fabric of the classic Kiwi Motel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future to see our most recent improvements.
Regards
Jason and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean! The owner is very friendly and talkative! I like this kind of people :) The motel even provides a whirlpool situaded in the garden which is very clean too! Its in a small cottage and you can lock up the door! My boyfriend and me relaxed at least an hour there and there hast been nobody disturbing us! I really can recommend this motel because the hotels and motels and Rotorua town can be very overbooked in peaked season!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnii01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our motel, many improvements have been made since your stay. We have replaced nearly all carpets, installed new TVs, added Sky Guest Select. My wife has repainted the Spa with a Kiwi Mural and we are currently repainting every unit.
We hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Jason and Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The motel is a fabulous place to stay in Rotorua. Rooms are of good size and very clean. You can be assured to get all the required whitewares for your stay. With Jason being friendly and helpful what more can you ask. Will return back to Santa Maria on our next trip to Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Jay B, It was our absolute pleasure to meet your family. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your night with us, we hope to see you again when you take that very much deserved break from your work in Auckland. We have a list of things to see and do in and around Rotorua so if your ever back, give us a call and stay again.
Regards
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Accommodation spotless. Jason & Emma were very helpful about things to do and see in the area.
Nothing was to much trouble. Room large with everything we require and parking was easy. lvely quiet garden area at rear of unit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranmorebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason E, Manager at Santa Maria Motel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Good day to you CranmoreBelfast, Thank you very much for your review, it was great to meet and tell you a little about Rotorua and the surrounding area. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, our large unit, ample parking and our lovely garden area.
Thank you again
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
103 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#59 of 93 in Rotorua
77 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Motel

Property: Santa Maria Motel
Address: 270 Te Ngae Road | Ngapuna, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Maria Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing