We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I spent a couple of relaxing days at Mokoia Downs in November 2012. The property is expansive, quiet and close by car to attractions. I have never been better taken care of than here. Every afternoon when I returned from an excursion, I would be greeted with freshly baked goods and tea. Evenings guests would gather around the bar and could sample Mick's liquors or have a glass of wine and talk about their adventures. Breakfast was delicious. I had difficulty deciding what to focus on. Theresa took care of helping me plan my days and the Maori dinner show.
Although I did not bring children, Mick and Theresa were equally attentive to the needs of other guests' children. There is plenty for children to do on the grounds including feeding the livestock-- friendly donkeys, sheep, and chickens.
I had no time to peruse the library, but it looked impressive.
I hope to be back for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
132
152
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

The place itself is lovely and relaxing.the hosts could not have been more welcoming,and the breakfast was superb.ISet in about 5 acres with a lake,donkeys,sheep,ducks and chickens it was wonderful to do a bar b que looking over this fine setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Dec 2012. The Garden room was very comfortable with all possible amenities considered and provided. Breakfast was superb each day and Mick and Theresa are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and they gave us useful advice on places to visit and see. there was always a welcoming drink at the bar each evening when we returned! The Mokoia Downs is on the outskirts of Rotorua, 10 minutes drive into town, in a quiet, peaceful location. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliemacclesfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Wow! I have stayed two nights at this gorgeous B&B and highly recommend it. Mike's and Theresa's level of care and attention to detail was awesome. I'm traveling by myself and after a 30-hour journey from USA it was great to feel I did not have to worry about a thing! Mike picked me up at the airport, they made reservations and recommended great activiies, prepared the most unexpected breakfast I have had in a B&B (including a jam with ginger because I mentioned I like ginger the night before), and surprised me with salsa music in the background to make feel at home. They genuinely care about their vistors. I felt like I was staying with friends. I could say so much more but I'm running out of space :-). Ah and the facility is very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whalesspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Mick and Teresa wecomed me back to Mokoia Downs as warmly as ever. This time I dipped into their extensive library of autobiographies and read one on my namesake. I sat in the lovely light conservatory and it was all so peaceful.

The place is on the outskirts of Rotorua so you haven't got the smell of the sulphor. It is also very quiet and no intrusive traffic noise. I like to walk around the gardens which at this time of the year were alive with the blossom of spring.

The breakfasts are great and I have taken the recipe for the filled eggs - gorgeous.

Try the home made liqueurs!

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and quiet. There is no traffic noise and only the sound of birdsong as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owhiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was one of the very best places we stayed at during our 4 week tour of NZ - mostly because of the charm and hospitality of the owners, Mick and Teresa. They make you feel right at home and ply you with fantastic cakes and muffins, breakfast was amazing with home made granola, and in the evenings we were included in a great multi-national get-together where Mick serves all kinds of alcohol from his impressive bar - with Irish coffee to end provided totally free. Generous, but just one small example of the great efforts put in to make everyone feel welcome. Even the flags on the long and winding drive are changed to reflect the nationalities of the residents. Please don't be put off by thinking that you'll be forced to socialise is you're not entirely confident - Teresa will use her Irish charms on you and won't force anything on you - the property itself is massive, lined with more books than WH Smith has, and there are plenty of quiet and private places, and some great artefacts too. This is a special place - a real home from home and 'with friends' atmosphere - Mick and Teresa are wonderfully hosts. When selecting this from the many accommodations in and around Rotorua, I read that sulphur smells can be noticeable in some areas, but this is not a problem at Mokoia Downs. My tip if using sat nav is that mine stopped short of the junction by approx 50m and told me I had arrived. If this happens to you, drive on 50m, turn right, drive up the road to a T junction and turn right again. The entrance to the property is a bit concealed, but it is on your right. A lovely place, don't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryfromCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Travelling alone in New Zealand I could not have asked for a better experience then staying at Mokoia Downs. I do emphasis experience from the time I was picked up at the bus stop until the time I got dropped off at the airport Mick and Theresa were the perfect hosts. This is not just a business to them but an opportunity to share their wonderful home and estate with visitors. Besides the very warm welcome , excellent breakfeasts , evening cocktails and story sharing with others they helped me arrange my day trips and a Mauri dinner and show. When I return to Rotorua I will not be staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I had the new room in the backyard and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JungleJane10150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
5.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 53 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
4.8 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Property: Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing