We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Simply fantastic !!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is my first B&B experience but my third farm stay experience. It has been the most memorable stay that I have ever had overseas!

The hosts Mick & Theresa were splendid! They were so hospitable and we had a great time chatting with them. We definitely enjoyed their welcome tea, homemade pastries and their complimentary drink. Breakfast is a sumptuous treat -- homemade smoothie, yogurt, muesli, great, jams, as well as fruit salad, ham cheese croissant and scrambled eggs! Simply delicious!!

We love the cosy place too! The rooms were lovely, the shower facilities was great too and we love the ambience of the main dining area, glass conservatory, outdoor dining deck and the multipurpose room where we watched movies!

The highlight of my stay was the fun I had feeding and playing with the donkeys, sheep, ducks and chickens!! I never had so much joy playing with these animals on the field. Feeding them is like an interestingly intimate relationship as they pick their food from our palms! I am so missing these animals!!! I want to feed them again, pat the donkeys and sheep & carry the ducks!

There's nothing in this B&B that falls short of my expectations. I'll definitely recommend this place for people going to NZ.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
156
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The positive experience started with our booking when we received emails from the owners Mick and Teresa! As we drove to their beautiful place my kids immediately fell in love with the animals - sheep, donkeys, ducks and the chickens. The property is peaceful and the owners are wonderful.

The b'fast was tailored to our vegetarian needs and we loved their hospitality. The place is neat and clean and removed from the city of Rotorua but still close enough.

Then owners helped set up our schedule and gave us a lot of local information.

We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: If you have a family and don't want the sulfur smells of Rotorua stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchmoretogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This B&B is an excellent place to stay. Your hosts will treat you like family friends, giving you tea and cake on arrival and a complementary evening drink from the bar. They are very keen to chat to guests, but this is not compulsory as there is a very large lounge set aside for guests’ use. Breakfasts here were the best we experienced during our 26 day stay in New Zealand. Many of the items,including the bread were homemade. Guests are encouraged to have hot and cold items. We stayed in the Garden Room, which is separate from the house. It was spacious , clean and comfortable. The en-suite is adequate for a couple of nights,but is a little on the small side. This B&B is very child friendly with a large,separate playroom for children and farm animals for them to feed. We received a lot of help in planning our visit so that we could make the most of our time in the area. We had two evening meals in Capers; this restaurant provided us with the best value for money meals we had in New Zealand and was clearly very popular with the locals.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The hosts, Teresa & Mick are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb and we also enjoyed the home-made liqueur very much. We stayed in their Garden Room which was meticulously clean. If you want a nice place to stay in Rotorua, Mokoia Downs is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had a fantastic stay with our children, 7 and 10 years old, at the Mokoia Downs. Mick and Teresa were very kind, attentive and interested hosts. The children loved getting up early and to go with Teresa to check on the hens and their eggs, to feed the donkeys, to pet the sheep, and to look for the ducks. My kids still remember all the animals by name and have lots of stories to tell about each of them. Teresa and Mick had set out a very entertaining treasure hunt for the whole family. Breakfast was all home-made and delicious. The rooms were fresh and relaxing. We even made good use of the swimming pool, as the weather was great. The Mokoia Downs is a lovely estate, a short drive from all activities in Rotorua. If we have the chance, we'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: The Tarawera Suite has two lovely, peaceful bedrooms and a separate bathroom. The Suite is connected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie-s-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and would thoroughly recommend it. Mick and Teresa were friends rather than hosts. "Would you like an Irish coffee?" asked Teresa after providing us with complimentary evening drinks. We accepted, of course, and felt that this is a place where you are treated as an individual. The best thing I can say about Mokia Downs is that it rivals Sunderland House in Auckland and that is a real compliment. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. Next time ...

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room which was excellent and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massacio1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Thanks Mick and Theresa, you gave my family a remarkable memory in New Zealand. Every thing is so perfect and warm to our visitors, only except that we could stay there for just one night. All of us were not willing to leave your pleasant place and Rotorua as well. We enjoyed to feed donkeys, sheep and hens... Also, My wife and I really enjoyed your home-made alcohols.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan-Bo-CHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
3.7 mi away
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Property: Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing