We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breakfast fit for Lady Grantham (Downton Abbey)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A breakfast fit for Lady Grantham (Downton Abbey)”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were planning to stay 2 nights but stayed 4! The home cooked breakfast was plentiful and amazing with freshly made smoothies and home made muesli and fruit salad. Plus home baked bread. I'm not a big bread eater but couldn't resist the warm bread straight from the bread maker :)
Mick and Teresa are super friendly and generous. They really enjoy what they do which makes all the difference.
Like other reviews have mentioned, it is the special touches that make this a really unique experience. I mentioned my love for camomile tea so came home and found a new box next to the kettle in the room, along with the daily baking. (cookies or carrot cake- yum!)
The WIFI worked well and Mick kept the fire blazing the whole time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Taranaki room which is small but the rest of the place is spacious and this room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
133
153
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a great two-night stay in March. Stayed in the detached room with private bathroom. The owners Mick and Teresa were terrific hosts -- perfectly walking the line between being present and available, and giving us our space to enjoy the property on our own. Their recommendations for what to see and do in Rotorua were spot on. Breakfasts were incredible. Really highly recommended. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We liked the detached room with en suite bathroom. It has a fridge, a couch, and a charmingly natur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defaultusername123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was a very good travel experience in Rotorua. The house is very close to the lake and easy to find. We got many useful recommendations from hosts. The room is very clean, the breakfast
is healthy and hearty. You can take some time to stay in their library corner and feel the sunshine through their glass roof.

Room Tip: nearby the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZHOU Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

A great b&b in a quaint estate with special touches by the hosts. Loved the healthy home made breakfast with fruits and nuts from their garden; extensive library and regal furniture; freshly baked muffins and tea with lovely china... And many others!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gladbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Thank you for a memorable Rotorua experience... The recommendations were spot on and the hosts' English hospitality sincere... They truly love the work... Only regret was that we didn't spend more time at the farm and missed out on night one's complementary liquor! (Maybe next time mick :D)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhcheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic little spot just outside the city centre and close to the lake. The house stands on a beautiful estate and the interiors are cosy and welcoming. Our hosts were gracious and friendly and always ready to recommend the best things to do around Rotorua. It felt like we were staying with old friends. The breakfast was organic and all home made- delicious! And the home made distilled spirits were yum! We would certainly stay here the next time we visit! All in all- a perfect B & B experience

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterfrozt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent a perfect 4days and nights at Mokoia Downs with my son, his wife and their two small children (5 and nearly 3). Mick and Teresa were exceptional. While they left us to ourselves when appropriate, they also introduced the kids to feeding and getting to know a gaggle of quacking ducks, two guinea pigs, a clutch of chickens, a worm farm, a swim of goldfish and frogs in a pond, two tame sheep and a couple of soft-lipped donkeys. And ... a treasure hunt simply topped off a marvellous experience for the kids. The breakfasts were beautiful - each different yet all exceptional - and the added joy of a full-on cinema with Mick's amazing library of both films and books topped it off. In addition, their local knowledge re attractions, times, and options was a fantastic help. We have B&B'ed it all around England, Scotland and Canada and have had some pretty exemplary 'stays' ... but this one takes the prize. You should stay at this one ... you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Oops ... I ticked 'Fitness Centre' by mistake .. but there wasn't one. Unfortunately, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codger46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
5.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
4.8 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokoia Downs Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokoia Downs Estate B&B

Property: Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Address: 64 Mokoia Road | Ngongotaha, RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mokoia Downs Estate B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mokoia Downs B&B provides high quality accommodation and comfort in a boutique country lodge that exudes charm and character. With a host of unique or unusual features (including a library, cinema and micro-distillery as well as swimming pool, organic garden and hens, ducks, guinea pigs, donkeys and a miniature horse), Mokoia Downs offers memorable experiences rather than simply a place to stay. Set in five acres of beautiful, park-like grounds, Mokoia Downs is just over 10 minutes from central Rotorua and within easy driving distance of all amenities and attractions. Extensively traveled themselves, your hosts offer warm hospitality and an excellent knowledge of the area to he lp you plan your itinerary. Enjoy enchanting walks around the grounds, feed and pet the animals, and just soak up the tranquility and seclusion offered in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mokoia Downs Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing