We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #3 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real delight”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

A lovely property run by an excellent hostess. Spacious accomodation with access to more 'living space' than the room alone. Being away from town centre (6kms?) is a bonus rather than a disadvantage as the views from the B&B are beautiful and you are away from hustle-and-bustle of Rotarua itself - the country setting is delightful. Very comfortable accomodation and we would certainly recommend Doolan's to all and sundry.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be similar - I would not hesitate to book any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penguin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
212
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying two nights in this wonderful B&B. The home is situated on top of a knoll overlooking acres of gorgeous gardens that Christine maintains. We enjoyed all the birds that visited and took several walks around the property, admiring the breathtaking views. It was a pleasure to visit Rotorua and then return to this retreat for a relaxing visit with Christine who made us feel so at home and put the kitchen at our disposal for early morning coffee or afternoon tea. Everything was in perfect order, beautifully kept, clean, and peaceful. Doolan's was a highlight for us!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Christine is a fabulous host who loves her adopted country and is incredibly knowledgeable about it. All rooms are immaculate and the view over Rotorua is fabulous. Breakfast is great. It's a 10 minute drive into Rotorua for evening meals, spa pools and museum. Good cafe is the Fat Dog.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stclaptonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed with my mother at Doolan's this past April and we had a fantastic time - certainly the best stay that we had in New Zealand. Christine was extremely welcoming, hospitable, and was a great resource for what to see and do in the area. She made excellant recommendations on the best places to visit and eat in Rotorua As a guest in her home you get an 'insiders' view on the culture of this beautiful country. She is an expert on subjects ranging from birds to thermal springs, Maori culture to kiwi harvesting. It was a most relaxing and enjoyable few days and I hope to be back on my next trip.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet - this is a gorgeous country home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights, and it was superb. Beautiful location overlooking the lake and surrounding countryside. Christine is a great host, extremely knowledgeable about the area, activities and a whole host of other things. The B&B is surrounded by beautiful gardens that Christine is reinventing on a regular basis, as well as a number of animals (such as Ricky Martin & co.). Topped off by a lovely breakfast out on the patio. Would have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsFunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Doolan's Country Retreat is really a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. The property is absolutely fantastic and with great views of the surroundings. During the day, we had clear views of Lake Rotorua and the surrounding hills. In the night, we can just stargaze as the stars can be seen clearly from the garden. Christine is a great host and she provides a wonderful filling breakfast. The bedrooms are decorated in different styles and are very comfortable. We also had fun feeding the donkeys. Just let Christine know and she will provide the food to feed the donkeys. We definitely had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at Doolan's Country Retreat.

Room Tip: Ask Christine for the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYToh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This weekend was one of the best we have ever had, and all because we met Christine Doolan. We were married on her property Doolans Country Retreat last Saturday. I can honestly say that as a host she is second to none. The property is a fantastic country Estate with views to die for. The Bed and Breakfast home stay is simply beautiful. I work in the hotel industry and know what to look for, and I just can't fault this place at all. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated with own bathroom and so very comfortable. The Retreat is just all style, and comfort. Christine herself is a wonderful host, and we will most definitely be back. Thankyou Christine for making our day such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Speak to Christine, each room is decorated differently. She will make sure you have the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanjaneRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Property: Doolan's Country Retreat
Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing