We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doolan's Country Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$171
US$139
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
295
15
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsricky martinb bshania twainnew zealandsurrounded by beautiful gardensbed and breakfastplaces to visitlake rotoruaother guestshomemade jamsbreakfast was deliciousstayed longerwealth of knowledgepleasure of stayingbeautiful place to stayan easy drivecommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

If I had to describe Doolan's Country Retreat in one word it would be "home." Christine is a very gracious host and I felt at home the two days I spent staying in her retreat. Christine takes pride in her home and gardens. I was treated to a guided tour of the garden by Christine. The bedrooms are located away from the living spaces which were very open, of the different places I stayed I felt the most comfortable whether in my room or in the common areas. If I make it back to Rotorua I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Upon arriving at Doolan's we were greeted by a family of quails and soon learned that there were several quail families and other wildlife on the grounds. We also had the pleasure of being greeted by a small herd of donkeys that proved to be very entertaining. Our too short stay at Christine's homestay included sumptuous meals, glorious night skies, remarkable, gardened surroundings, exceptionally comfortable accommodations and a hostess whose generosity was unlimited. We had hoped to return to Doolan's prior to our return home but sadly ran out of time. We suggest this homestay to those who prefer the tranquility of a country setting and the comfort of home. Thank you Christine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at Doolan's for 3 nights and could not have found a more perfect spot or such a warm welcome. The views are incredible and the grounds are just beautiful. Christine is a superb host and ensured that we enjoyed every minute of our stay. If you're looking for a stopover in Rotorua that's conveniently close to all the attractions but away from the bustle of the town, this is the place for you. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at Doolans for two nights and were delighted with the accommodation and our wonderful hostess, Christine.
The house is amazing, set on top of a hill with views all around. Beautiful gardens to wander around and with no light pollution an amazing sky to stargaze at night. Christine is very knowledgeable about the area and helped us organise our time in Rotorua, including booking our Maori evening.
Christine is an excellent hostess who made us feel very welcome in her home. Should we ever get the opportunity to return to New Zealand this is certainly a place we would choose to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Set in acres of gardens, Doolan's Country retreat is an unbeatable place to spend a few days when seeing the sights of Rotorua, or simply enjoying some time in the countryside. Christine is an incredibly welcoming and generous host who will go out of her way to ensure your stay is comfortable, and can point you in the right direction for everything from an amazing dinner out, Maori culture, or the perfect walk through a redwood forest. Delightful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peripatetic_Dip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews