We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words can fully describe - best NZ experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #4 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No words can fully describe - best NZ experience”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

No words would suffice in praise of this lovely little paradise. Situated on a the top of a small paddock/hill, it offers lovely views of Lake Rotorua and the surrounding mountains. The exapnsive greenland is just limitless.
About Christine - there is hardly anything to say apart from what has already been written about her. Gracious, accomodating, friendly and a wonderful person. We still wonder how on earth does she maintain this place all by herself. It's a bit difficult to locate being away from the main city (only a short drive away though). However, you forget all that once you get here.
The rooms are very well maintained, the decor is classy. My wife was especially impressed with the attention to details that Christine has given to the smallest of things.
There surely can't be a better host than Christine. Not only did she cook a superb breakfast, she also offered to make a special dish out of the strawberry that we were carrying, of her own accord. We gained a lot of insights into the local culture, North Island and most importantly tips on star-gazing, which turned out of be very handy later on tour.
Hats of to the amazing woman that Christine is and the lovely B&B that she owns and cherishes. All the best!

Debayan & Nidhi
India.

Room Tip: Christine is kind enough to suggest rooms while booking once you mention the purpose of your visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebayanBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
212
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Location: I like it as it is not located next to the road... You will have to drive up the slope. But it is just 10min drive from Rotorua city. A quiet place with a very nice greeny view...
House/Room: Very spacious house yet it gives a warm feeling. Living room, dining room and rooms are all very nicely decorated and very clean. They are as pretty as the pictures shown in the website. There is a little farm with donkeys... Feed them and play with them can be addictive as they are soooooo lovely.
Host: Christine is a very friendly and jovial host. She is very passionate in managing this property and little business... Yes, I have to said the property is really very well maintained and she did all chores herself. She also gives good recommendations for places of interests. I am actually surprised that she would personally visit the places of interest or tours to ensure it is really worth her recommendation. As we made a trip to Waitomo Cave before check-in to her house... We were actually very late. But intead of being unhappy or showing us a "black face" (i.e. most of the time, host of home stay whom we experienced would give us charcoal black face when we were to check in after 8pm), she waited patiently for us and made tea for us when we arrived (at about 10.30pm).
Food: I love the breakfast she has prepared (i.e.homemade jams and yummy eggs). The breakfast spread is awesome! She is definitely an excellent cook.
Comments: I admire Christine' passion and high energy level and would highly recommend this accomodation to all... Be her guest and testify what I have written... Such experience is hard to come by... Don't miss it when you visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have stayed in a number of B & B's in a number of locations and this was the best one yet. Superb location, the hostess was wonderful and the room was very beautiful. Christine (the owner) was very helpful and all of her suggestions of things to see and do were bang on. It felt as though we were saying goodbye to a relative when we left!

We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Doolan's on my recent trip to NZ. Everything was excellent. Christine, the owner was very welcoming and full of information about the sights and surrounding areas. The room itself was very nicely appointed and very comfortable. The property itself is beautifully landscaped and the donkeys that live on the property are a hoot to watch. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCnNYC1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My wife and I together with her cousin from Germany stayed and had a wonderful experience. Christine, the host was gracious and helpful and the food offered was excellent. We have no hesitation in recommending Doolans to all who appreciate location, service and hospitality at a very reasonible cost

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2012

What a lovely place to stay. The house is situated on a quiet spot away from the crowds of Rotorua with beautiful views over Lake Rotorua and the surrounding landscape. Our room was immaculate, the garden beautiful and breakfast delicious.
Christine's warm welcome made us feel at home immediately, we really felt welcome and special. She was very helpful and even picked out the best route to our next destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I cannot recommend Doolan's strongly enough. Everything about the place is special - the location, the host Christine, the food, the gardens, and yes, the donkeys!

Christine the host is really an amazing host and a beautiful, special person. Great company, and exceptional service! She had a couple of friends over (who were also all amazing, interesting people) and it was great to have the option of interacting with them and socialising. However the property is large enough to have lots of private space if that is what you prefer.

The room was great and the beds super-comfy. Bathroom was adequate and toiletries were all top-notch. It is hard to believe that Christine manages this place by herself as it is such a large property, yet impeccably kept.

One of the highlights was breakfast. We stayed 3 days and it was different every day, though always cooked and usually more than one course! Christine is a fabulous cook! And apart from that we were also offered homebaked cookies and cakes for afternoon tea - truly beyond the call of duty.

Thanks again Christine for a lovely stay, and for being the way you are! My dad and I have very fond memories of you and of our stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahaseebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
7.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.3 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Property: Doolan's Country Retreat
Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing