We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Inn/Delightful Inn Keeper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doolan's Country Retreat
Ranked #4 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I recently spent three nights in the quail suite at this lovely little B&B. The room is bright and airy and well equipped including a good sized walk-in closet and a delightful little patio right outside the bedroom. The grounds are beautiful with a well tended garden area and great views as well. Although about a 10 minute drive back into Rotorua, the drive is quick and it was nice to be out of town in the quiet of the countryside.

What really makes this inn so good is Christine - the inn keeper. Christine was ever helpful with directions and suggestions of what to do and what not to do while we were there. She had advice about hikes and sites and even where to park while in town. We got the feeling that she just couldn't do enough for us - much appreciated.

Bathroom could stand an update, though we understand that this will be done soon. Also, a chair for the dressing table/desk would have been useful but really these are very small points.

Room Tip: I believe the room we were in, the quail's suite, is the largest and from a peek a boo view we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our hostess Christine was more than gracious and helpful, she was also very personal. After talking with her, this property becomes even more colorful and special. In her spacious garden, each plant was given care and heart. This would be a place that I would love to get married at. Rabbits running around on the spacious grass ground surrounded by roses, orchids and trees. Each morning I felt like waking up in this dreamlike fairy tale place, it was serenity that I found in this place. Christine was more than happy to recommend any restaurant or attraction, she even helped us on booking as well. It was such a lovely stay and hope more people will get to enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yushan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Superb accommodation in stunning setting; beautifully furnished & very comfortable bed. Excellent and varied breakfasts. A fantastically warm, friendly welcome from Christine, who could not have been more hospitable and helpful. We enjoyed our evening chats with Christine over a glass of wine when we returned from evening meals in Rotorua. We stayed for three nights and had to drag ourselves away! Would definitely choose this B&B for a future visit to Rotorua.
Whakarewarewa & Waimangu both fantastic trips. St Faith's church well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent 2 days here. The room was clean and comfortable and Christine really welcoming, helpful and knowledgable about the area. She made some good suggestions about trips etc and helped with a booking. The views were lovely. She shares her home with her guests and was really generous with her time, coming to feed the donkeys with us, talking about the stars, etc. We really enjoyed our time there and her great hospitality.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

.......that hasn't already been said! Christine is what Doolans Country Retreat is all about. She is a great ambassador for Rotorua and we did things I thought we would never do, like the Rotorua Canopy Tour. She is such an easy person to talk and laugh with and when you leave, you take special thoughts of her with you. Enough said, she'll read this! Doolan's Country Retreat is everything you would want in a well run B&B. It is homely, beautifully decorated with Christines flare and attention to detail. We were there on Christmas morning and awoke to a beautifully decorated Christmas table and hearty breakfast. There were four couples and Christine and we had a great start to Christmas Day. Anyone who stays at Doolan's will never be disappointed, it is absolutely beautiful inside and out, and is situated down a country lane that speaks New Zealand, New Zealand, New Zealand. Well done, Christine!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianneharris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We cannot say enough about Christine and her awesome home (er, B&B!) She makes everyone feel welcome. The grounds, donkeys, house and views are spectacular! She works very hard to maintain the house and gardens, provide outstanding and hearty breakfasts, and makes reservations if needed, She is a wealth of knowledge about things to do and about the area. I told her I was coming back and never leaving, hahaha!!! Both my husband and I loved this place and Christine!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Selected Doolan's based on the overwhelming consensus of reviews and could not have been more pleased. Spent one evening this past December with Christine as we made our way down from Auckland to the Hawke's Bay region. Only regret was that it was only one evening. The location is ideal, 10-15 minutes north of Rotorua and there was no odor you get while in the city. The winding drive once you arrive can seem a bit treacherous but once you get up by the house it is all worthwhile. The B & B sits on top of the property with lovely views in all directions. Christine is a most welcoming and gracious hosts-we'd arrived late so she directed us to where we could get some fish & chips take-aways (take-outs for the Yanks)-we brought the food back & invited Christine to join us. She did not hesitate and in no time we felt like we'd known Christine for many years rather than just maybe an hour. Our room was perfect for a couple-not very large but clean. comfy, & quiet plus we had our own bathroom. We were up early the next morning to walk the wonderfully landscaped grounds - wish we had more time to sit and relax & take it all in but it was very nice morning. Christine asked if we wanted to feed her three donkeys & we were all over that plus we had the birds coming right up to her patio doors for their morning feeding. The breakfast was delightful, especially being able to eat with doors swung wide open to enjoy the fabulous surroundings. We had the good fortune to share breakfast with a very nice couple from England. I always consider this morning type inter-action between guests an expected benefit of staying at a B & B so we were not disappointed. All told we may have been with Christine a bit over 12 hours but it was such a quality experience - Hard to believe Christine does virtually all of this alone but you can see that she pours her heart & soul into her place and it shows. She helped steer us to some of the local attractions which also was helpful. Doolan's & Christine will forever be a highlight part of our second visit to New Zealand

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
6.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.9 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's Country Retreat

Address: 165 Dalbeth Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £108 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Doolan's Country Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doolan's Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing