We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“greenkiwi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
Ranked #60 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“greenkiwi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lovely location but let down by being poorly equipped, especially the kitchen. One pot (no lid), one frypan (no lid), no sharp knives, can opener, breadboard, cleaning brushes or clothes. In fact no kitchen utensils of any kind - just cutlery. Bulbs missing from both bedside lights, no electric blankets and the heat pump struggled to make an impression on the cold.
For the price you will do much better elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    17
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is clean, modest, inexpensive accommodation in a beautiful lakeside location. Our room was clean, spacious and well equipped but the location is extraordinary. It's always a lovely surprise to arrive in the dark and open the curtains in the morning to a really beautiful view. We only stayed one night but are tempted to return when Rotorua is our destination. It's close to the city but free of the sulphur smell, right beside the lake and a beautiful trout stream and on the Auckland side of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokako99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Location is far from Rotorua town centre but lake frontage made up for it. Also, there is a small town centre where you can get everything such as Four Square and several fish and chips shops. So no need to go to Rotorua town centre. If you want peace and serenity, this is the place to stay. Rooms are very clean, just like how we want our home to be. Best of all, Di was very friendly and made sure that we are comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Older style motel, so was nice and roomy.We had booked a one bedroom unit and it was very suitable.The bed was very comfortable and my husband and I slept very well,quiet and peaceful.We were travelling with a trailer so plenty of parking room for it.The unit was also very clean.
The only down side was there was no handtowels or face cloths in bathroom and the unit is only serviced if you ask them to do it,(i realised this later when I read the info booklet).I would think servicing a room daily is normal for a motel charging what they did per night.We stayed 2 nights.
The spa was was working but I think in need of a upgrade soon.
All in all, I would stay there again, mainly due to the good nights sleep we got there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellfish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed in one of the more basic rooms and it was basic. But it had everything you need and the hotel is very well located only a five minute walk into town. Very hard to get this sort of location for the price so well worth it if you don't require uber-luxury.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

took our 4year old grandson who just fell in love with Di !
the chalets were clean, spacious and well positioned for the lake. Would have liked a few more cooking utensils as we had chosen not to eat out and struggled a bit although we did use the bbq. Canoes, spa pools great although would have liked one pool outside..nice to sit under the stars.
Di was extremely helpful and friendly. Would go again.

Room Tip: we were in room 7 which backed on to quite a busy/noisy road. choose one overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I loved my 2 nights at this motel. The motel is an older style, (the advantage with this is the big size rooms) and the owner is clearly working hard to make it a pleasant experience for those who stay. I was impressed with; the beautiful new white bed linen, the size of the units (We were in number 1), cleanliness, the outlook over the lake, the free use of the kayaks, and with how quiet it is.

Room Tip: Compared to inner city properties, this is great value and a good size. It is not modern so expectat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.9 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
6.2 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#43 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Resort Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Resort Rotorua

Property: Lakefront Resort Rotorua
Address: 5-7 Arnold Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Jack & Di's Waiteti Lakefront Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakefront Resort Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakefront Resort Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing