We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oppie's Fish & Chips

Oppie's Fish & Chips
Ranked #32 of 219 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Fast food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Zealand Herald ranks Oppie's #4 Fish and Chips place in New Zealand. I don't know who the other 3 are but Oppies is the best i've had and their chinese takeaway is great too. good prices, generous portions.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

the fish was lovely, just cooked the right way, chips were crispy and plenty of them, service was friendly and the place was clean thank you

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    136
    71
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napier
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

good quality fish and chips food... they even label the bags with the different types of fish you order... we had snapper, gurnard, hoki and terakihi!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Have been here in 2012 and loved it so couldn't wait to go back on this trip. Noticed they have won 'Best Chips' award since my last visit but I don't think they are not special - well cooked and all that but I prefer hand-cut 'homemade' chips to McCains.
The fish was exceptional though, beautiful batter, good oil & was nice the way that they separated & labelled the 2 different types of fish we ordered.
Really sweet service too with the guy who runs the place handing over our order at the counter with a smile.
Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fush & chups - the burgers are great too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Tried this on several occasions and enjoyed whatever I have ordered, the chips are awesome! The selection available is great and fantastic value for money, would recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waitakere
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not was expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were told to try out this place as they had won the best Fish and Chips award. I was not that impressed and neither my husband. The service was very slow and the food was some what very greasy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oppie's Fish & Chips also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Oppie's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing