We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick service”

Oppie's Fish & Chips
Ranked #35 of 218 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Fast food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Zealand Herald ranks Oppie's #4 Fish and Chips place in New Zealand. I don't know who the other 3 are but Oppies is the best i've had and their chinese takeaway is great too. good prices, generous portions.
newcastle england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We ordered curry which was very taste but not like what we get in the UK the curry has more veg in and the portions sizes are massives

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    142
    72
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Takeaway Food but very busy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

great takeaways must be all the locals were there and we enjoyed our food! You can order online however they need to also produce a printed menu that you can pickup on your way past!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shoppadownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really bad fish and chips”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This fish and chip take away was advertised as "The best fish and chips in the North Island". If this is the case the others must be really terrible. One of our party ordered a hamburger expecting the usual style of burger with salad....when she opened the bag, the burger, which was battered (something none of us had seen before) literally slid out of the bun onto her plate. It looked totally disgusting. The other two of us had the advertised great fish and chips and we also were disappointed. They were very greasy and the batter over powered the size of the fish it contained. Another thing that really took us by surprise were the two young children that were standing behind the registers, on boxes so that they could reach, taking orders. Needless to say , we will not go there on our next trip to Rotorua.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Classic Fish & Chippery in Rotorua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Oppie's is guaranteed to provide quality classic fish & chips at any time. The condiments provided with the Fish & Chips are many and varied which adds to the pleasure of eating F&C while sitting admiring the view over Lake Rotorua.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank peperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

the fish was lovely, just cooked the right way, chips were crispy and plenty of them, service was friendly and the place was clean thank you

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oppie's Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Oppie's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing