We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food friendly service”

Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways
Ranked #3 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food friendly service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were veeery hungry after Mtn biking and had the Kaskrute and pizza it was tasty and Ramzi gave great service

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vanrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    65
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dispointment”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Most expensive pizza $15 with no value of money, only covered with cheese on the base, we hardly found any chicken on it .ordered time 15min received in 30 mins.we didnt mind paying but quality was a huge disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank raza999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We'll worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The place doesn't look like much from the outside and I was dubious about ordering but the food was delicious and cooked freshley in front of us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clairparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand, north island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! My one regret was not knowing about this place sooner!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady Carol who was so friendly, helpful and accommodating. She explained the menu patiently and helped us choose our menu choices. we were given a jug of chilled water and cups without even asking which was a lovely touch.

I had the berber (chicken and lamb mix) for 13.00 and was so yummy with lots of flavour not hot but spice flavoured with a small spice kick on your palate., it was mainly rice with a small tasty salad and a large serving of saucy meat over the rice.

My husband had the Krascute (I think that was how you spell it) that was a moreish Lebanese bread folded over and filled with cream cheese, olives, chicken and lamb and other things to make a very yummy dinner with a small salad. My husband loved it and so did I. Both servings were filling

We also grabbed another meal for our teenage son to take home and he loved it too.

Yes its not fine dining, there is plastic cups for the water but it would be up there for taste. Try it you won't regret it. Thank you Carol for a lovely night.

As a side note we then went on to the Novatel hotel and had a private spa in geothermal water all for a grand price of $46.00 dollars including dinner (my husband loves that I am such a cheap date!) I hope others get to have a great night like we did.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kev&trac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent large and tasty meals - spicy and filling. Great value for money. No alcohol licence however, and is also a takeaway. While not a romantic dinner location, we liked our meals a lot and will definitely be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebenjamin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ali Baba's Tunisian Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing