We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in a suite here, warm welcome, clean but dated room, very cosy with one of the best bathrooms I have seen in a hotel, underfloor heating, heaps of towels, double rose shower which was massive, 2 toilets, one separate. High quality soap and bath products for the huge spa tub.
Dinner was great, lodge style ambience with a huge roaring fireplace, breakfast was the only letdown, overpriced and soggy buffet, but overall loved this place right on the lake and will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a suite, it is divine! Great views of the beautiful lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theblodne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had a lovely night here, and we're very happy overall, but there were a couple of things we were less than impressed with. When we arrived at 2pm we checked in and wanted a grab something cheap for a late lunch. We asked the guy at front desk if there were any local takeaways nearby and he said he didn't know but the hotel restaurant offered fish and chips (for $16 each!) and then we discovered a little takeaway shop literally right across the street! Then when we tried to go to the restaurant for dinner, we were told that without a reservation we would have to wait an hour and a half even though the place was half empty. Would've been nice to have been told that we would need to book even when we're staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nurserowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed for the last night of Queens Birthday weekend. Have stayed before and was very impressed. Beds are very comfortable and service is great. Decided to have dinner at the hotel for the first time and ordered off the 'Snack Menu' - Fish and Chips in beer batter with salad for $16.00. A big mistake; the fish was rubbery and the batter was soft and chewy. Obviously precooked and reheated. Did not stay for breakfast. Sat by the fire after dinner and talked to some guests which had also eaten from the restaurant over the past few days and had the same experience. Such a shame for an amazing hotel. I will definitely stay again, but will not eat at the restaurant while they serve this standard of food.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you wish to open the doors and walk out to the lake edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked a king room and a couple of days before we arrived, I phoned to reconfirm. When we arrived at the hotel they gave us a twin queen, they advised us after we returned from the room that there were no King rooms left, that they had been allocated to people who had extended their stay. I wasn't very happy with this, as they knew about our booking. They gave us a couple of drinks and breakfast to apologise, but I do think if a hotel has a booking they should organise to honour it.

Our waiter at dinner was very average - he was also the bartender, when I asked if a certain chardonnay was oaked, he replied that he didn't drink it so didn't know. I would think he should know this kind of thing. We also ordered cheese and port, having said that there were "like 3 bottles" or port behind the bar, he returned later to say there was no port. We then changed the cheese board to a dessert, but he didn't tell the kitchen, so we had to get it changed once it arrived. The meal was average and not worth the price. The resort is quite a way from Taupo and it would be a pain to go out to dinner from there, so you are sort of stuck with the food.

The room was nice but I feel the service really lets this place down.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargoBebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We just had our national conference here with 45 people, the place was just perfect. Every staff member were so helpful nothing was a problem and sorted out everything making it easy to run, food was fantastic, Enjoyed the nights around the fire. Free Wifi, nice comfortable beds, lovely rooms. We had dinner one night on the catamaran on the lake stopping at some hot pools with trout fishing, relaxing and being looked after. Plenty of grass space for the team building games we played..
Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

21 members of our family aged from 3 to 83 spent a recent weekend at Okawa Bay where the lovely setting and the casual ambience made it an ideal venue for such a gathering.
The assistance in planning the event and the willingness to accommodate all our requests was greatly appreciated and during the weekend the staff were so obliging and helpful that we couldn’t help thoroughly enjoying the occasion. The facilities are ideal for such an event and we would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 - 112 and 201 - 208 have the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Situated on the shores of Lake Rotoiti, in Rotorua, NZ. This is truly a fisherman's dream.This resort is 2 hours from Auckland driving or you can fly from Auckland Airport. The hotel has a
a pick up service. For Trout fishing it is a peaceful lake with lovely views and Hot pools that you reach by boat. The non fishing person can enjoy heaps of activities for all the family, A Gym, Swimming pool, Spa pool, Outdoor Chess, Bar , Restaurant and Lounge with Fire place, BBQ's,
Paddle boats, canoe's, the Hotel does boat trips around the lake and to the Hot pools. Those with their own boats can tie up to a Jetty's. Wonderful lake views from your rooms. The grounds are kept in excellent condition. We have stayed for a week twice now and just love it. Only 10 minutes to the centre of Rotorua for shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higgs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
722 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
7.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £57 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing