We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had had a long day of travel from Auckland with several side trips and a tour along the way, and this was the most relaxing and reenergizing place to stay. The setting was idyllic. Our room was an elegant, very spacious corner suite overlooking the beautiful lawn which lead down to the lake. The king bed was comfortable. The rooms were spotless. We enjoyed a lovely, quiet dinner in the diningroom and were quite content to simply enjoy the resort surroundings before moving on the next day. This is definitely a resort that one could call home for an extended stay and enjoy the activities of the resort and larger area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigneLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    117
    64
    19
    9
See reviews for
92
177
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were the only guests in this hotel and had been upgraded as a result. Our room looked out over the lake and was so quiet, it was wonderful. The receptionist, Alan, could not have been more helpful if he had tried and the manager was also a very friendly chap.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are away from the road, so quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I recently stayed here for a weekend escape, no husband, no kids, just me.
Rather than type meaningless words, I will break it all up for you:

Service - I booked on Hotelclub and checking in at reception was pretty easy and straight forward. Friendly staff, clear directions to my room. No complaints here.

Value - As I said above, I booked on Hotelclub, knowing that it was the middle weekend of the NZ school holidays so I think the price I paid was reflective of that

Sleep Quality - I booked a king size lake view room and the bed was HEAVENLY. 2 of the best sleeps I have ever had. Would highly recommend the hotel based on the bed alone. A good selection of pillows as well.

Cleanliness - Room (including bathroom and balcony) were very clean and servicing was done daily.

Location - The hotel is located approx. 20min drive out of Rotorua, past the airport so its not a centrally located one. This appealed to me because I didn't fancy being "in the thick of it" but I don't know what public transport/accessibility to town is like.

Room - As above, I booked a king size, lake view room and it was definitely both. Sunrise over the lake was amazing! I was on the second floor and as previous reviewers have said, you can hear other guests (both day and night) but I have a toddler so I am used to having "background" noise at all hours of the day. I can understand how it would bother some.

Spa - there isn't one and the bath in the room is a normal bath - nice and deep though!

Breakfast - I didn't have breakfast there, but I did use room service for dinner twice and both meals were quite nice and arrived hot. If this doesn't suit, there is a take away shop across the road.

Summary - Yes, its a nice place to stay and the location is lovely. The beds are great, staff were friendly and there seems to be enough to keep families occupied - pool, chess set etc.
I wouldn't stay there again as next time I go to Rotorua it will be with family and we will need to be located closer to town for the tourist experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here with partner and two children - excellent location on a beautiful lake, trampoline for the children. Friendly staff and decnt dining if you want. Big outdoor chess set and boules area. Stayed here years ago without children and it was fun to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a great night at Amora, and the Meals were incredible. Staff very friendly and very personable. As it was off season, there were few people, and we had a lovely quiet afternoon and romantic evening. Would recommend to anyone, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allegonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A G, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The location is stunning and as you say, the staff are great. We hope to see you again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I want to start off by saying this is a beautiful lake resort, quaint and lovely view. Most importantly away from the sulphur smell. Great food and service at the restaurant! We spent 5 nights at this hotel only because the Duty Mgr., Alan took good care of us. He's a professional and he seemed liked the only one that really cared. Although the rooms are nice and clean, the walls are very thin and you can hear every creak and noise especially if you have a room above you. Duty Mgr.Alan was able to move us to a Suite situated at the end of the hotel only the last 2 nights because it was already booked. The Suite room was comfortable with great view but had 3 sleepless nights in their other downstairs room. Addressed our concerns w/ upper management(Acting General Mgr. & Hotel Mgr) and they didn't seem to really care or believe in providing excellent customer service. Quite frankly, they were the most disappointing part of our stay. In addition, the rooms are outdated especially the TVs and w-fi service is poor and never worked in our rooms. I would have given this resort at least a 4 star but not only does the rooms need updating, hotel management needs to be updated too! The only one that truly cared was the duty mgr. Alan and he is the only asset to this hotel as he is dedicated to providing excellent service! Kudos to you Mr. Alan and thank you for all your help!

Room Tip: The only room worth staying is their Suite room at the end of the hotel or an upstairs room with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hi502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A G, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We would like to thank you for your valued input. In regard to your comments in respect of our managements lack of duty of duty care, you may recall our Acting General Manager did take the time to come see you on his day off to discuss your concerns.That as a consequence he advised our Duty Manager, Alan to allocate and upgrade your party to an one bedroom executive suite whilst honouring your discounted standard room rate. That the Acting General Manager did take the time to personaly assitt with your bags from your room to your car on your depature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel has great staff, they made the conference we were attending a great success. Free wifi was very handy. Breakfast was generous and dinner options were excellent. Very relaxing location.

This hotel has great staff, they made the conference we were attending a great success. Free wifi was very handy. Breakfast was generous and dinner options were excellent. Very relaxing location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyajane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
8.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
8.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Property: VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing