We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and superb customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place and superb customer service”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here during the long weekend and our stay was amazing . We enjoyed every moment of our stay . Staff is really good and helpful . Vivek was the star during our stay and he made is feel home and special during our stay .
Will definitely come back and highly recommended .
;) :) keep it up guys .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear RaviMaurya4:
Appreciate your feedback. Yes the place is a small heaven on earth, with wonderful views of the lake. Yes our enthusiastic General Manager is very passionate about customer service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    118
    64
    19
    10
See reviews for
92
177
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here about 20 years ago and came back because of the sensational vista. This hasn't changed however the decor and upkeep has suffered. Can't complain too much as got the room on an amazing deal. Disappointingly the WiFi was down during our stay and had the housekeeping staff barge in on us without knocking (didn't realise that the doors don't self lock when you are in the room)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear GB:
Welcome after 20 years and appreciate your feedback. New management took over on 1st April 2014. Some sort of refinement required. Housekeepign incident is of concern to me and locking device needs to be of modern era where self locking device is in practice. Major owkr on WiFi under progress as we took over only on 1st April 2014. You will find fast WiFi during your next visit.
Regards

For other readers: Amora Lake Resort is a paradise on earth. Stunning views over lake can be enjoyed from most of the rooms on both floors. Kayaks, boating tour, bikes and tennis gear available for outdoor activity. So many other things to do including mud bath and spa, boating tour, near the Resort without having to go to main CBD of Rotorua. This Resort is ideal for family vacation whether it be winter or summer. In house Restaurant and Bar available for guests enjoyment. Excellent value for your money.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed there over the eastern weekend. Got a got deal with free breakfast. Rooms were clean with stunning view. Staff was friendly and helpful . Restaurant food was ok and I think bit over priced. There was also short of staff in restaurant which manager did agreed. Overall we had a lovely stay and will recommend .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurjeet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Gurjeet S:
Appreciate your feedback. Training, Retraining and new placement still under process to build a strong customer service team to make the stay very comfortable and memorable.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice clean room with balcony and views over the lake. Spacious with bath all the essentials.

Grounds are beautiful and well kept... would be nice in summer to enjoy the lake more.

About 20 mins drive out of Rotorua and all the tourist spots.

This was a last minute tripadvisor find on a long weekend so very happy our pick!

Room Tip: Go for an upper level lake view room. Private with a lovely view overlooking the grounds and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Miss MLJ:
Thanks for your nice comments. Rotorua town is about 16 minutes drive from either side - clockwise or anticlockwise around the lake. Fitness seekers can use our bikes for free. We have all the gears and courts for tennis enthusiasts. For water sports, we have kayaks to enjoy. Or just walk inside or around Amora Lake Resort. By the time you check out, you will find yourself more fit and sporty!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The property itself is very good and supposed to be one of the best in Rotorua. The staff is very courteous. The check in was seamless and room service was good. The location is slightly off city center so if your idea is to stroll around you can find too many places nearby. The property is good with huge lobby and elegant decor inside. If you are not too bothered about being city center this is definitely your hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinp603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear austinp603:
Absolutely right. This is self sufficient resort and to be enjoyed away from the hussle and bussle of a town centre. Stroll around inside the Resort, hear the birds, feel the quietness, read your favourite book by the lake side, play chess with life size pieces on the lush green lawns by the lake, take single kayak deep inside lake and enjoy the lovely 360 deg views around, visit nearby hotpools in our houseboat, or just lay and soak the sun by the lake side. Surely, you will enjoy every bit of time during your stay which cannot be enjoyed in any down town centre.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

stayed there for 3 nights and loved it. excellent view from the room.. Wifi was bit up and down but not of a much concern to us. Restaurant menu was bit limited but food was delicious. staff was friendly and always there to help you out. Will recommend to everyone, specially those who want to relax and stay out of city . Free shuttle service from the city was a bonus which worked out really well for us. Will be back for sure

Room Tip: book a lake veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you Brian V, for picking up your good memory of free shuttle. Yes we have added this free pick up and drop from Rotorua town as well as airport. This will be great value for guests if they are not driving their own car. Once inside the resort gates, you will find everything available inside.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two week-days. On arrival we received a very warm welcome at reception and were upgraded to an Executive Room.This hotel is quite luxurious for the price it charges. The bedrooms are large with good sized bathroom with shower and very comfortable beds. Staff were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. From the outset, the high standard of service we were to enjoy for our entire stay - the receptionists and other staff deserve a special mention for their friendliness and efficiency. i would love to stay again and recommend to others :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio_nov90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Scorpio_nov90:
You have summerised well. Thanks. The place is simply stunning and excellent value for those who want to relax and enjoy. Away from city traffic noise, you will feel the aura of nature and surroundings stroll around our lawns, trees, bushes, lakeside, poolside, tennis courts, parking area, marina and across the highway 33 towards main rotorua lake.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
7.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
8.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Property: VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing