We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Big thumbs up for the GM to accommodate us with the last minute booking. The room was lovely with a lake view and spacious bathroom. The old school TV was a novelty really. Everything was perfect including the cooked breakfast.

LOVE IT!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccandcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Candcats:
Appreciate your feedback. The old box type TVs are due soon for replacement. Perhaps you will find slimline TV in your next visit.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend and still dreaming about this place......we booked a lake veiw king room . The room had a great veiw and breakfast was delicious. All the staff was friendly and professional . Will definately recommend this hotel and will be back soon.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 256mukeshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear 256mukeshk:
Thank you so much for your views.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a lake view room and the view is absolutely beautiful. Lovely clean rooms too and love the deep bath and the shutters between the bedroom and bathroom. The staff were so friendly and helpful especially in the morning. Muhammed Ash in the restaurant for breakfast was great! Thank you for taking the time to chat with us (I hope I got your name right), and for looking after us at breakfast which by the way was delicious. We enjoyed it so much that we will be bringing the family back when we can get away. The only slight negative would be that you can hear through the walls but I'm sure ear plugs would solve that problem. Definitely will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank suuumuuu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Suuumuuu11:
Thanks for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to serve you again.

For other readers: The location of this Resort on Rotoiti lake is perfectly set along highway 33. You can see forest and mountains below blue sky on the other side of Rotoiti lake and feels like a paradise on earth. Read a novel or any favourite book by lake side in the lush green lawns, play live size chess in the lawns Enjoy free cycle tours, kayaks, tennis, or just venture out around the Lake. Explore Hells Gate mud bath and sulpher pools which are pure and natural, and located just 5 minutes drive away.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Do you have a dream of staying at a hotel where the service is phenomenal, the restaurants are foodie-worthy and the rooms make you feel as if you are in your own oasis?

The Amora Lake resort Rotorua meets these criteria. If you can, stay in one of the Lake view spa suites with a just wowwww view. Or you can enjoy the view from the restaurant.

Room Tip: The Lake view Spa Suite is amazing. You can see the sunrise right from the lake like a pearl up on the ocean from your room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS6957ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear JohnS6957ZK :
Your description of the Resort is overwhelming and very poetic. I must thank you for encouraging me and my team. It reminds me of a guest who with several heavy accessories of photographic paraphernalia shooting by lakeside, across the lake, from centre of the lake in kayak, taking hundreds of photoes before sunrise.

Once again thanks for describing this Resort enormously in few words.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first time here and we were not welcomed, told where things were or made to feel welcome. We booked a lake view - I would describe it as a partial lake view with buildings blocking most of the lake.
The bathroom was huge and had lovely plush towels. There is a folding louvre between the bath and the bedroom, which humoured us for the duration. The only reason for it would be to make the place feel bigger maybe??? The toilet paper must be the cheapest available and after arriving to stay three nights, the toiletries were never restocked, including the empty tissue box. When I asked at reception they simply said "there must be some, have you looked in the drawers?". I wasn't going to contact them again about it. I took door signs off the cleaning trolley as there were no "do not disturb" or "please service the room" signs. There wasn't a mini bar price list and when my husband went to ask for one at reception, was told "we don't have them". The rest of the room is rather small after the large furniture and king bed is in it. The bed protector was a queen size and obviously didn't fit the king bed. The TV is an old one, set to the side facing the window. You couldn't watch it from the bed and there was only one single lounge chair that I moved to face it. My husband sat at the table and watched from there. The deck was pathetic to say the least - you couldn't fit a chair on it if you tried! The robes were disgusting! Old, threadbare complete with holes! The spa was great as was the sauna if you are into that. The blue towels for that are also old and threadbare.
There is a laundry that is complimentary, the newspapers are also complimentary - which is great.
The breakfast was okay, but by the last morning when we asked for toast we were bought two pieces....mmmmmm...yes one piece each!
We had a voucher for a dinner. I had the fish and couldn't fault it. My husband had the pork belly and was very disappointed - very little meat that appeared to be boiled and NO crackling. Desserts were very nice. Glad we didn't pay full price though!
The location can be great depending what you are after.
We had just recently stayed at the Amora Wellington and thought this Amora would be similar - not so on so many levels!
Due to the lack of attention to the little things, the feeling that money is tight and lack of caring staff we won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest:
I can appreciate your concern about little things. And I am glad for your candid comments. Actually you have done me a favour by taking time to write these little things. This has given us opportunity to open our eyes and ears to see and feel these little things and not bypass these things in our daily routine.

Some of the points could possibly have been addressed then and there. If partial view from the room, we change room where full view is seen, provided guest lets us know. No problem during lean season like current one. Louvre looks more romantic to couples, we were told. Concern about toiletries is noted and housekeeping briefed for good. Cant agree any more that Front Staff need to be on thier toes to check and recheck guests' needs. The room appears small due to the victorean style cupboard. But this looks elegant and adds to royal ambience inside room. Every room has two chairs. However Sofa chair is only one as additional number will cluster the room. Your point about Robes is noted and prompt action is underway for new lot. Spa Blue Towerls are also being replaced. Chef is highly skilled and experienced and has been briefed about Pork Belly.

Appreciate your eye for detail and letting us know. We are redefining our customer service and assure that you will see us improved lot next time. Pl do give us opportunity.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel had lovely grounds,set by the lake Rotoiti.The town of Roturua was a 20 minute drive from the hotel.The room was basic with a huge bed.Staff were very helpful at all times.We had one evening meal which was excellent,although the price was quite expensive.Some parts of the hotel were starting to show their age.The decor and curtains in the main dining area in particular.Lastly when staying at this hotel you must meet Disney the hotel dog.The job he has, is to keep the Geese off the lawns,he is a joy to meet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeHenry47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear GeorgeHenry47:
So glad to know that you enjoyed your stay immensely to call it trip of life time. We look forward to welcome you or your friends in near future.

For readers: This hotel has been just taken over by VR Hotels who manage more than 11 in NZ, apart from Aussie and US. Amora Lake Resort is actually paradise on earth set in a stunning surrounding by beautiful lake Rotoiti. Rooms with elegant furniture and designer curtains, with spa bath within give an impression of a royal grandeur. 17 minutes drive away from Rotorua city life, this Resort is self sufficient for a family stay with ample of activities such as kayaks in the Lake Rotoiti, One hour boating cruise to hot water spring, biking within or around Resort complex, tennis within own compound, playing chess with life size pawns on lakeside green lawns or just relaxing or reading your favorite novel lying on a lazy chair by Lake Rotoiti, or enjoying sulpher mud bath at nearby Hells Gate spa. Restaurant and Bar provide some of NZ's very exotic wines and awesome food to your entire satisfaction. Friendly staff will make your stay a memorable and you will crave to come back again to soak as much joy as possible!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here with my husband for a wedding and had a excellent time. Staff were friendly, accommodating and kind. The room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. My favourite feature was the deep bathtub you can soak in while enjoying the view. We had a lakeside room which overlooked the beautiful Lake Rotoiti, the grounds were well maintained and peaceful.

The wedding itself was a wonderful affair and the service and food was great.

I would love to go back to the Amora Lake Resort and can't wait until I get the chance!

Room Tip: Make sure to book a lakeside room with a bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldieEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear TheGoldieRoom:
Glad to know you enjoyed the wedding event. I appreciate your feedback.

For other readers: Amora Lake Resort has by now a popular destination for would be grooms and brides. The wedding events are fairytales under twinkling stars in the open night sky, on the well maintained lush green lawns by Lake Rotoiti, with that lighting effect on trees and bushes by the lake is mesmerizing effect. The Grill Restaurant provides amazing food, and Bar has all your favorite wines from different regions of NZ. Apart from inhouse and outdoor activities which are free of charge to all our guests, we can arrange any day tour with packed breakfast or lunch around Rotorua. At Amora Lake Resort you will find plenty of joyful activities and but lack of time.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
819 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
7.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £78 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing