We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic spot but needs TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Rotorua for peace and quiet but close enough for the shopping trip or bit of adventure. The hotel itself is lovely and the room warm and clean with all the normal amenities.The bed was very comfortable but the pillows very disappointing, very thin and could be replaced. I was very disappointed not to be able to have a bath on our first night due to 'full capacity' as they had run out of hot water. The view out the door to the lake and oversized chess set is beautiful. The next night we were not able to have two of the same dessert due to running out, not that we saw loads of people in the restaurant. We thought we would check out the spa pools but one was cold and the other smelt so more care is needed in this area. We would go back but hope that these issues are looked into as it is a delightful spot. The open fire in the dining room is nice but could be stoked more to have a lovely roaring fire.

Room Tip: rooms facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear TheBarrsNZ:
Thanks for your thoughtful comments and points note regarding pillow, hot water pressure, restaurant food quantity and spa pools, and the fire place in Restaurant. You will see all these things sorted when you come back soon in summer.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The grounds here are beautiful and the facilities are all clean and tidy. Having a sauna was a real treat!

We also experienced a wonderful front desk person who went out of his way to return some clothing items that we accidentally left in our room! Fantastic :) Well done Amora Lake Resort. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level are good if you want easy lake access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lisapolica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Lisapolica2014:
Thank you for feedback and we are proud of our team's customer service. "Atithi Devo Bhava" in age old sanskrit language interprets every gust as god. Hope to see you again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in July. It was very cold when we arrived and the room was cold and took a while to heat up. There was no electric blanket and the bedding was quite flimsy.We requested, and were given,an extra blanket. I decided to have a bath to warm up, but the water was only lukewarm. Having said that, the next day was not so cold, the water was hot and we didn't need the extra blanket. The staff were friendly, and room very nice and the grounds were beautiful. You need a car if you're going to stay here as it's quite a way out of town, but this is what makes it so peaceful. We really didn't use any of the facilities but are thinking we would like to return in the summer when we would enjoy it more.

Room Tip: Go in warmer weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear KKatherine:
Thank you for your time to write your comments. Yes July is peak winter and the Sun tends to shy away behind clouds. Your point about room being cold is noted. Room should have been warmed up if we have arrival time notice. Also the outdoor heated swimming pool and two SPAs are for guests' enjoyment in winter. A hot beverage from the Bar just beside pools, will add to the enjoyment.

For other readers: We are 16 minutes from CBD, and 3 minutes from airport, on Highway 33, right on Rotoiti Lake with main Rotorua lake on the other side. Plenty of oudoor activities nearby such as Hells Gate mud bath & pools.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were fortunate to buy a voucher for a two day break which included bed and breakfast for two people. We arrived to find our beautiful room with a super king bed and a stunning view of the lake.
The room was exeptionately clean and well cared for.
We had a very good dinner there, although it was quiet with not much atmosphere and we felt the lovely log fire could have been lit earlier to feel the benefit on a cool evening.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Theresa M:
I appreciate your frank comments about fireplace and valid point to start fire early. This is done now.
For others: Winter specials are still available to enjoy the weekend or longer stay to soak all day sun on lush green lawns by beautiful Rotoiti Lake. Enjoy outdoor activities such as Boating cruise, Kayaking, Trout fishing, Mountain Biking, Tennis, or just trek around the area and explore native Maori culture. Weekly Hangi Dance and Dinner is becoming more popular in the Resort. A perfect family Home Away from Home.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a great stay at this resort, great staff and a great view. Amazing service and friendly staff. will surly come and visit come again. Really enjoyed our stay and will tell every one about this resort.

Room Tip: MUST visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank waviralw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Waviralw:
Thank you for your feedback. Amora Lake Resort is perfect weekend outing for Aucklanders to relax and unwind in this awesome Resort with stunning and uninterrupted panoramic views of beautiful Rotoiti Lake. Hope to welcome you again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I carefully chose this hotel which looked amazing due to the reviews and the facilities, especially the heated pool and two spas. Unfortunately shortly after we checked in there was a four hour power cut which left us sitting in the dark in our room with a few candles for lighting, and meant we could not use the spas as they were cold, could eat at the restaurant as planned and could not use our bathroom at all for hot or cold water. The power cut was ofcourse not the hotels fault but the way it was dealt with by staff was terrible. We were originally told we would be compensated but ofcourse the next morning were not. The power came back on at around 6.30/7pm but we could still not have a hot shower (only luke warm) that night or the next morning before checking out, the staff claimed it was due to the power cut. We also received a 6.30am wake up call the morning we were checking out which was not asked for and was very upsetting as we were tired from travelling all the way from Wellington the day before. The final disappointment when checking out was that we were asked to pay for breakfast, when I booked I was told by the women on the phone that we would get a free breakfast with our stay which we were very happy about (and it was very nice) but the rude man at the desk insisted we pay for breakfast. Even after we had spent four hours in the dark, had no use of facilities and had no hot shower the entire stay. Although we were told we would be compensated for the lack of power when we came to check out this ofcourse not the case, instead we got yelled at rudely and made to look stupid when he told us breakfast was not free and we should have confirmed it. This is one of the worst stays I have ever had a hotel a huge disappointment after 5 and a half hours driving to get there, we would never stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kallista123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Kallista123:
You had a deal of $189 for two adults for a night stay with $30 voucher for spending on breakfast or dinner, in addition to other coupons for Hells Gate Spa. Due to weather storm our guests had lot of inconvenience. For this we gave you discount of $20 on top of #30 voucher which you had opted to use. We further gave you $40 discount on the breakfast. So total of $60 discount on top of free voucher of $30 making a total of $90 discount on $189 deal. We did it specially to you only as there were lot of other guests who had encountered the weather storm inconvenience that night. No other guest, however, raised this issue. But we were unable to provide further cash refund to you for which you had insisted. I am sorry that this upset you so much so that you had to write this feedback.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We originally booked to stay 2 nights but loved it here so much stayed 1 more night at the special rate we paid for our first 2 nights. We had a garden room room which was very clean bed so comfy and the shower was great. The restaurant was excellent and loved the breakfasts.
All staff were very welcoming and friendly,
The location on the lake edge is perfect, beautiful, peaceful and quiet, loved it!
I would highly recommend staying here for couples and families.
We are already thinking when we can come back and have recommended this place already to family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sonja a:
Thank you for your positive feedback. Hope to see you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
916 reviews
7.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#23 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
8 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#50 of 92 in Rotorua
1,264 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £71 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing