We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The service and food was average but you couldn't beat the location...pure lake front! All it needed was geothermal pool nearby and it would be perfect. Breakfast included which seems to be standard outside of NZ but not so in NZ.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Seahp:
The geothermal acitivities are plenty in the region. The Hells Gate sulphur bath and spa is only few minutes drive. Of course we do have our own spa and pool right inside by the Bar Lounge !

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    115
    62
    19
    9
See reviews for
92
173
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We did a lovely two night stay @ Amora in a King Lake View Room- very quiet and relaxing view of Lake. The room was very spacious and the view from the Room was wonderful. The bathroom was lovely and clean as was the room, the restaurant was nice and was also peaceful both at dinner time and again at breakfast. Both dinner and breakfast were great and the service was friendly and efficient.
The setting is truly unique and felt like a real escape! Highly recommend for honeymooners or couples looking for a quiet weekend away and families alike with so much to do! Bikes, peddle boats, playground, swimming pool and spas! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you Duke422 for your candid views. I wish all prospective honeymooners and romantic couples go through your comments. You simply wrote that our bathrooms were lovely. I am sure you will not hesitate to write these bathrooms "romantic". Some of our guests have commented on our bathrooms such as humorous, hilarious, interesting, unique etc. Hope to serve you again some time.

All other readers: Inside complex activities are abundant and enough to keep you busy and these include, bikes, peddle boats, kayaks, boating cruise, tennis, swimming, spa, and chess in outdoor lawn or inside cosy bar. Or simply watch tv serial or rugby in Bar lounge. Or simply enjoy glass of red by woodfire place in the dining lounge.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed in this wonderful hotel for two nights at the beginning of August. Arriving at night meant that the next morning on awaking I was delivered the spectacular views of the lake and surrounding hills. The hotel itself is very well decorated and furnished and is truly deserving of all the praise it gets. The staff were very friendly and helpful and ensured my stay was pleasant. Breakfast was very nice and topped off with the same spectacular views my room had. Going in the off season is not a bad thing and far from being a ghost town the hotel was a hive of activity which was pleasantly surprising. Facilities such as the pool and spa were understandably not at 100 percent owing to the fact its winter however that was not too much of a problem. Located outside of Rotorua is a blessing in disguise as the sulphurous smell of the city is not present at the hotel, yet it is still a very close and convenient drive to the city. If you are travelling to the region you must stay in this hotel as it is frankly superb and well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Anything with Lake views will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear William D:
After your superb comments, we have nothing more to add, except that we work 24/7 to ensure maximum enjoyment to our guests. I wish wide readership and millions of click to your comments. So that people can enjoy the beauty of this hidden gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at this resort, great staff and a Great view. Amazing service and friendly staff. Will surely come and visit again. Really enjoyed our stay and will tell every one about this resort. Special thanks to Vivek who really went out of his way to help us in booking tours and giving us the best service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, Owner at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you Reece64 for your excellent comments on Amora Lake Resort which is now renamed as VR Rotorua Lake Resort Okawa Bay. Your commendation to our General Manager Vivek is very fitting and I feel proud of my team leader, who does not leave any stone unturned in providing top notch customer service to our guests. Our team is "punjabi by nature" and they treat every guest as God. This is true depiction of Sanskrit following "Atithi Devo Bhava".

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here in july. Excellent lake veiw from the room and staff was so helpful all the time. Food and service in the restaurant was outstanding. Will be back for sure and will recommend to everyone to visit this beautiful and peaceful place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohitmeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Rohitmeena:
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in this peaceful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of a metro city like Bombay. The tranquility and natural beauty of this Rotoiti Lake reminds of ancient times rishi muni when they used to indulge in meditation for hours together. We are sure you will advise your friends and their families to visit this place to relax, unwind and enjoy the scenic beauty of this Resort which is nothing but a small paradise on earth.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Thank u amora ............ Had a great time .......... great staff..clean n aesthetic rooms ............ Excellent lake veiw from room and great food in restaurant....... Luvd it ........ Will be back guys ......

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjunsingh4745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Arjunsingh4745:
Thank you for taking time to tag so many pictures of the VR Rotorua Lake Resort Okawa Bay which was known earlier as Amora Lake Resort. Some of the photoes are really awesome which have been shot in perfect day light conditions and which have professional touch of accuracy and angles. Our admiration and appreication for your time. We hope to look after you again in our aesthetically designed accommodation with top quality food in The Grill Restaurant.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stay for 2 nights with my family we booked 2 rooms and it was perfect, we had a great time. the hotel is beautiful and the staff are great, the hotel is well located near to the activities that we had planed,
the food in the restaurant was lovely and the view of the lake just made everything better.
I wish I had more time over there, it was very relaxing... I have already recommended this place to friends.

Room Tip: I didn't book a room with a view of the lake because we knew that we weren't going to stay m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaza30Vene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Mr Doug:
It was pleasure to have you with us. We are so glad that your first night in beautiful New Zealand was spent at Amora Lake Resort which is now known as VR Rotorua Lake Resort in Okawa Bay. We hope to get a chance to look after you again in near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
231 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
5.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
5.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Rotorua Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Property: VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing