We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an hour on a cool, drizzly day.”
Review of Lakeland Queen

Lakeland Queen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.52*
and up
Lake Rotorua Paddle Boat Cruise with Breakfast or Lunch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakeland Queen offers a unique dining experience, spectacular scenary of key landmarks around Lake Rotorua and the surrounding countryside such as Ohinemutu, Kawaha Point, Mokoia Island, Sulphur Point, the summit of Mount Tarawera and many other geographical features. Complement the sunrise with a delicious buffet breakfast and one hour cruise or take a relaxing lunch break onboard the Lakeland Queen.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour on a cool, drizzly day.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The warmth once on board and the smell of the food was just divine.The staff were very welcoming and polite. The food was delicious and plentiful. Fantastic way to spend an hour and have time to site see your surrounds. Great value for money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    17
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had originally booked the coffee cruise , however when this was cancelled we were upgraded to the lunch cruise. I can recommend this trip as a relaxing way to spend an hour or so. The staff were very pleasant and the food was lovely , lots of it , good choice and hot. Our expectations on this cruise were exceeded by far . A great way to view Rotorua from a different angle.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrewkj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The staff are friendly. We selected to go on the 2 hour evening dinner cruise. It was a pleasant way to send a couple of hours looking at the city from a different perspective. The boat cruised out the the island and back. The dinner was an adequate meal for the money spent, drinks were available from the bar. The boat captain, Ian, was knowledgeable about the area and shared this knowledge.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Forget it!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This offers nothing in the way of sightseeing or local information. The boat goes from jetty to the middle of the lake and back again. You see nothing of the shoreline and the sound system is so poor that the small amount of info offered is totally inaudible. This is nothing more than 'eating a meal on water'. (Most of the mainly Asian passengers didn't even look out of the windows). A total waste of time and money. So much potential ...something obviously lost on the operators.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussieRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakelandQueen, General Manager at Lakeland Queen, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are disappointed to hear that you had a less than desirable experience with us recently. We are however grateful for your comments as it allows us to improve on areas of our service and the products we offer. Since your visit we have also had our sound system repaired as we were aware of the poor sound quality. We are confident our ongoing improvements will continue to please, and we hope one day you may return to see us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Coffee cruise: what a great way to spend an afternoon.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked the coffee cruise via Grabone. It is real value for money. The staff is very friendly and Mike tells you a lot about Rotorua. The kids really loved it. It was a lovely day. The boat is lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FvdHPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeland Queen also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lakeland Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing