We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”
Review of Rob Roy Motel

Rob Roy Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rob Roy Motel
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very welcoming and standard of service is excellent. We had a pleasant, quiet and comfortable stay at this motel. I note comments other reviewers have made about tired furnishings and a need for refurbishment. There is some truth in this, but our room was still pleasant, private and quiet, with good window ventilation. We were after budget accommodation and had everything we needed. We would definitely consider it good value at the rates we paid for our room here. The location is very convenient to town. Kitchenette and bathroom spotless. Plenty of hot water and excellent shower. Mineral pool a pleasure. The manager could not have been more helpful and attentive. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    23
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting the area, I admit to being a bit apprehensive as the reception area did not look to welcoming, however the owner Pam was very helpful and friendly.
The motel although older in style and a bit tired had everything needed, complimentary carton milk, hairdryer, fridge, private sulphur pools which we made use of and a nice clean bed! all that is needed and good value considering the cost for the night. The room was spacious and although there was no air con the windows lined one wall and let in a nice breeze. This is a great base for taking in all the local sights with eating places within walking distance. An ideal stopover for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Deposist paid & payment balance required on arrival, Skinny carparks, noisy music to early hours of morning from bistro bar next door, unit badly in need of makeover, no air conditioning or fans, intimidating notices on wall threatening customer surcharges. one night in a place like this is plenty.

Room Tip: Beware the noisy bistro bar next door if you value your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed in the 3 bedroom house available at this motel.

A very tired complex in need of lots of decorating.

Those managing the complex were courteous, pleasant and helpful as were the cleaning staff.

The unit was quiet and comfortable and close to attractions.

Would book the 3 bedroom again as it suited the requirements of our group. Two bathrooms was a big plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked this motel via an online booking site. We have a large group so the options are limited. The pricing was really fantastic so expect normal motel quality. The unit is generally clean, everything inside are usable, and I would say all things are barely meeting standard. You will find the units are not very well maintained, there are patches on the walls and furniture are old. There are mineral pools available but having been to the room I would not put myself into the pool at all.

Should you be concerned? No if you are just staying for a night, but I don't recommend anything more than one night.

On the service side, the hosts are very helpful, they aren't those fussy motel owners who make rules for the convenience of themselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_akl_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We booked this place through a normally reliable website and because it was the only place left that could cater for 3 persons. We were met by the female owner who was very chatty especially with us being Scottish and showed us to an outside unit. Whilst walking through the motel to our unit we managed to look into an interior room and it looked not too bad.
However when we got to our unit it was like walking into the film set of a 70's film set, grossly out of date, mis-matched furniture and utensils, grubby and generally not very appealing. However to be fair the beds were clean and the toilet was by far the best feature although basic. Kitchen was clean but very dated which made it look dirty.
As it was the only place available, we decided we had no option but to stay and matters got worse when we returned to our room at about 10.30pm, when we started to prepare for bed, there was a sudden loud noise for on average about 5-10 seconds, like someone drilling, which continued periodically for the next hour until we retired to bed. We could not work out what was causing the noise but deided to try and get to sleep.
However after about 15 minutes the noise returned and stayed with us for about 25 seconds. We then checked with the immediate neighbours who confirmed that they too had heard the noise and thought it was coming from a pipe.
The proprietor was raised from bed and informed of the problem and he indicated that he had been in charge of the property for 9 years and had never had a complaint about our particular problem. He fobbed us off with it perhaps being the water being too hot, although the hot water was switched off. Needless to say, the noise did not return during the time he was in our unit.
There was no repetitition of the problem for the remainder of the night, probably because all the adjoining units looked like they had retired, but it again started in the morning just as the proprietor passed by our unit. He was informed of the re-emergence of the problem again and invited in to hear it for himself, but he did not present himself before we left a short time later.
Unfortunately there was no one at reception when we left in order to vent our frustrations again and to be honest I just wanted toleave as soon as possible.
I suspect the problem was a plumbing one, caused when another unit used water and I suspect that it did not suddenly develop upon our arrival. We were in a poor unit which I suspect is only used when they reach full capacity and have perhaps been putting off repairs.
If you do happen to use these premises please do not take an outside unit and especially number 17.

Room Tip: Do not take an outside unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our second time in the last 12 months at this venerable motel. Made warm and welcoming by it's owners this motel is a quiet, respectable, well established motel, within walking distance of any and all of Rotorua's shops and central visitor attractions.
Notably the Horse racing track simply across the road.
Priced to please considering it's closeness to the city, and always clean and tidy.
The Rob Roy has a special attraction these days, it's own genuine mineral pools, for the exclusive use of it's guests.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and ask for what you'd like, the owners are only too happy to accommodate you in thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#57 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#59 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Executive on Fenton
Executive on Fenton
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#84 of 92 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Motel

Property: Rob Roy Motel
Address: 291 Fenton Street | Rotorua Central, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rob Roy Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rob Roy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing