We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired”
Review of Rob Roy Motel

Rob Roy Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rob Roy Motel
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed two nights - it was value for money for a large group but everything is old and very dated. A little worried that there are no smoke detectors which i would have thought was mandatory. Well supplied for a big family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our netball team stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. We had a 2 bedroom unit and it fit all 7 of us comfortably. Was a bit worried after reading the bad reviews, but for what we paid (which was cheaper than all the local backpackers) we got a bargain, the rooms were all clean, we were welcomed and shown to and around our room, despite it raining cats and dogs when we arrived. The lady got us all sorted in the spa too. If you want to stay somewhere fancy you have to pay for it, stop giving this place a bad rep. Id stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We went to Rob Roy in January 2013. The service was sloppy and the kitchen utensils were dirty and the people working there would smoke outside the rooms. The fell overall was very outdated and the spa could really use an upgrade. But the worst part of the stay was that overnight we were robbed of several items worth allot of money and the owners didn't seem to care. In fact the owners themselves were giving us a hard time about it. The area that Rob Roy Motel is situated in is what we as a family called dodgy and when we asked to see what security they had there they seemed to have none at all! if i could give this a worse review i would. It really ruined the experience we were so keen for as a family. Shame on you Rob Roy Motel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights with a group of 6. It was a little dated but it was a great place to stay. Not far from supermarkets, restaurants and shops just a short drive away. We wanted an affordable place for us all to stay together with hot mineral pool after a cycle event and our own facilities for cooking. The owner was very nice and even found an extra off street carpark for our extra vehicle. I would recommend to families or groups. It ticked all the boxes for us

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very welcoming and standard of service is excellent. We had a pleasant, quiet and comfortable stay at this motel. I note comments other reviewers have made about tired furnishings and a need for refurbishment. There is some truth in this, but our room was still pleasant, private and quiet, with good window ventilation. We were after budget accommodation and had everything we needed. We would definitely consider it good value at the rates we paid for our room here. The location is very convenient to town. Kitchenette and bathroom spotless. Plenty of hot water and excellent shower. Mineral pool a pleasure. The manager could not have been more helpful and attentive. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting the area, I admit to being a bit apprehensive as the reception area did not look to welcoming, however the owner Pam was very helpful and friendly.
The motel although older in style and a bit tired had everything needed, complimentary carton milk, hairdryer, fridge, private sulphur pools which we made use of and a nice clean bed! all that is needed and good value considering the cost for the night. The room was spacious and although there was no air con the windows lined one wall and let in a nice breeze. This is a great base for taking in all the local sights with eating places within walking distance. An ideal stopover for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Deposist paid & payment balance required on arrival, Skinny carparks, noisy music to early hours of morning from bistro bar next door, unit badly in need of makeover, no air conditioning or fans, intimidating notices on wall threatening customer surcharges. one night in a place like this is plenty.

Room Tip: Beware the noisy bistro bar next door if you value your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
940 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
1,292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 91 in Rotorua
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Motel

Address: 291 Fenton Street | Rotorua Central, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £39 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rob Roy Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rob Roy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing