We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
21
21
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
21
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo nightsgreat facilitieson arrivalclose to towna great place to stayswimming poolairportunitsspatvcampervansheetsvoucher
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We had our second stay at Holdens Bay this January, where we met up with friends on the way home from somewhere else. We stay in units. Both our units were clean and tidy, ours did have issue with flies coming into it but I guess mainly because it was so hot we had all doors and windows open! Holdens Bay is excellent value for money, yes some things are looking a little worn, however you do expect this for the price you pay. Our kids love the pool and the playground and it is a short drive to town or to launch boat at the end of the road. yes there is an airport close but this airport is not Heathrow and therefore the odd plane when you are around is not too much of an issue. Never heard one at night, first one usually around 7am! Note that this park has gone into liquidation and is now being managed by previous employees whilst liquidators work on selling it. The staff were very friendly and helped us with minor issue we had quickly and friendly. Due to the liquidation it is no longer a top 10. I wouldn't personally stay here for a long period but it suits us just fine for our short visits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Firstly my apologies for the late reply. As you are aware the Park has been going through a lot of changes.

I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, we value and appreciate it very much. We are happy to hear that we could meet your expectations with the Pool, Playground and Fair Pricing of our Accommodation. We aim to offer our Guests Budget Accommoation and are pleased to know that we do.

We are in the process of planning the upgrade of Accommodtion etc with the Council and hope to get this underway in the near future. Therefore we do hope to be of service to you again in even if its just a short visit or feel free to just pop around and say hallo and check out any changes.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
The Team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Pros: value for money accommodation, friendly & helpful staff, great playground area for children, swimming pool, spa
Conns: location on out skirts of town, old buildings, flight path for nearby airport

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreese005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Firstly my apologies for only responding to your review now.

I would like to thank you for your review and feedback, we appreciate it very much. It is great to hear all your Pros in regards to our Park and to know we met your expectations. Thank you also very much for the Conns as these are just as important, unfortunatley there isnt much we can do about the Aiport but I am happy to say that we are in the process of planning in regards to the upgrade of Accommodation in the near future. This will all take time but the end result will be worth the wait.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a special deal for this holiday park for two nights. It is a bit out of town but that was perfect for us this time around.

However - the Holiday Park is right in the flight path of the Rotorua Airport - though no night flights after 10 or so and none before 6.30am - but still.. having planes with their landing gear already out going overhead is not that ideal..

The unit we stayed in was rather small - my brother actually moved his bedding to the couch outside to have a bit more room. However it was all clean and the staff is friendly - so no complaints there

Basically if you need something that is good value for money and don't mind driving (and the planes) this is ok for you

Room Tip: Try their private Spa Pool
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbkeri, Owner at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Thanks for your comments I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our large private hot pool. As for the planes We are 3 km away from the air port . Sorry about the small unit they are used when we have our special deals great for a weekend away for a couple we could have up graded you to a 2 bedroom motel unit had we knowing that you were Brother and Sister. I do hope you enjoyed Rotorua and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Keri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we at stayed there in feb for a week and i wouldnt recommend this park to anybody the cabins we stayed in the bunks had no ladders and the smoke dtectors didnt work

Room Tip: dont stay here go into town
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbkeri, Owner at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your comments on our Holiday Park, We have a regular 4 week check of all our smoke alarms as to our fire security warrant of fitness.
Our staff are more than happy to help at any time we have a 24 hour service.
I am so sorry about the bunks in your cabin did not have a ladder we have looked into this and assure this will be taken care off.
We do value your comments and this helps us to make it a better stay.
Kind Regards
Keri
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights and we weren't impressed at all - the place was in desparate need of a good scrub. The floor in the bathroom and toilet looked and felt like it hadn't been cleaned for months - the shower curtain was grimmy and smelt and the shower floor was sticky. Ran out of hot water midway through our showers - and we have quick showers! The sheets were clean but the blankets on all 4 beds were dirty and worst of all there was specks of blood on the blankets on the childrens bunk beds! - we didn't use the blankets. The owner was pretty much grumpy all the time and yelled at some children to stop kicking a ball - she runs a holiday park! - the young staff made up for her as they were very pleasant and helpful. Overall the kids had fun in the pool and playground and in stark contrast to the room the bbq's were clean but we wouldn't stay here again especially as the price per night is the same as a good hotel. Top 10? - i think not.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank OurWhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbkeri, Owner at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

We do value your comments her at the Holiday Park on a good point I am so happy that your children enjoyed the large swimming pool and our large adventure play ground and trampolines and so please that you enjoyed our lovely BBQ area.
As for me yelling at children for kicking a ball around cabins and units we have many broken windows around the park a year by children kicking balls I am trying to keep this down to a minimum. We do have space out the back to kick a ball.
As for the cleaning of the room our cleaners change shower curtains sheets ECT every time a cabin, unit is vacated they wash and vacuumed all floors. I am so sorry that you found this room unclean and only wish you had come in and seen us at reception and it would have been dealt with straight away.
Once again my sincere apologies.
Kind Regards
Keri
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews