We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, clean and tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holdens Bay Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holdens Bay Holiday Park
WELLINGTON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a two bedroomed motel unit. Had everything we needed in it. It was clean and practical - a little tired but good value for money. Certainly the best rate we were able to get in the area. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool which was a good size. We were a family party of adults, however it looked as if it would be great for children. Be aware the airport is nearby and so you do get the odd plane flying over. Its an easy location for travel in to Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Happy with our choice to stay here for a few nights. Clean and tidy and value for money. Staff very helpful and obliging when we needed our bikes stored. Is a wee bit out of town but a small shopping centre is close by. Kids loved the pool, playground, creek, birds and trampoline.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom motel unit which included a daily service (change of rubbish bin liner, towels as needed) and this was not done. Not acceptable in my books.
Fridge was not very good - if you cooled it down everything froze! In general the unit was looking rather tired.
On the plus side - excellent facilities for young children to enjoy and very close to the lake edge and Hannahs Reserve which is a great family area.
Be aware also that it is very close to the airport and the turboprop planes used for domestic flights are quite loud as they go overhead.
$NZ100 for the room was quite cheap, but the failure to provide the basic service which was part of the price is a big black mark.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the cabins and the mattress were saggy and very old decor. No sink in cabins and had to ask for a top sheet for bed. If your on a tight budget, fair enough. They need to update the cabins and get new flooring and new mattress. People are friendly and good location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darrenj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom motel unit which was very clean and tidy with lots of room. We felt that for what we paid it was great value for money plus we got a free bottle of wine on arrival which came with our package deal. The kids had a great time in the pool and the spa plus there is a great little stream which our eldest son had a great time exploring. Our boys also loved the playground and the trampoline. Service was great and the staff were nothing but friendly. We required a cot and a highchair for our room and these were provided straight away in very good, clean condition.

Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi Hayley,

Thank you so much for your great review & feedback. We are happy to hear that the kids enjoyed themselves here at the Park & that the Unit was clean & comfortable. We hope to be of service to you & your family again in the near future.

Have a good weekend & a big thank you again from the team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Having booked the "large" one bedroom hotel unit, we were truely impressed by how big it really was especially for the price we got it at! Had everything we needed and the kitchen was well stocked. The kids loved playing in the little stream running through. Very genuine welcome when we arrived. Thanks to all at Holdens Bay. :-)

Room Tip: We had the large one bedroom unit and it really did feel large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krickyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for your great review & feedback. We are so happy to hear that the Unit was spacious enough & comfortable & that the kids enjoyed the stream. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

A big thank you again from the team at Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom motel unit and you could not ask for better value for money. Plenty of room - tidy kitchen with decent microwave/kettle/toaster -element/grill was basic, but it was all that we needed. As you would expect for the price the unit was not it the tidiest of conditions, with very badly stained carpets & slightly tattered couch, but the walls & the rest of the floors were fresh & clean looking. The shower was basic but adequate & the bathroom roomy. The towels were changed each day & tea/coffee/milk were provided on arrival which was a nice touch for accommodation on a budget.
We were checked in by a very friendly staff member, the setting was pleasant - especially the children's playground with a lovely stream running through it & a nice swimming pool.
I have only two criticisms -firstly the hot water coming out of the taps at boiling temperature (literally boiling with steam coming out of the taps), so please be aware if you stay here with children - a child would be badly burnt touching the water straight from the tap. Secondly when we went to leave we need the perfunctory check under the beds -appears we might have been the only people to do that it quite some time with the amount of rubbish, old socks and even a glass with the remnants of an old drink still in it we found there!
All in all I would happily stay here again & would recommend it as a good place for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBHP, Manager at Holdens Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your review & feeback, we ppreciate all reviews very much.

We are happy to hear that you had a good stay & that the facilities within the Unit & the Park was of great use to you & your family & of satisfactory.

I am however very dissapointed to hear about what you found under the beds & I sincerely apologise for this but also appreciate the feedback as I always report feedback back to our Staff & this have reminded them to take extra care when cleaning & vacuuming the rooms as cleanliness is of high importance.
Also thank you in regards to the feedback about the hot water - would you be so kind to email or ring us with the Unti number you stayed in so that we can get on top of this ASAP so that we can change the temperature to avoid any injuries in the near future.

Once again thank you for your great review & we look forward to being of servcie to you & your family again the future.

Many Thanks
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
4.7 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
0.5 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdens Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdens Bay Holiday Park

Property: Holdens Bay Holiday Park
Address: 5 - 7 Stonebridge Park Drive, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Holdens Bay Top 10 Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holdens Bay Holiday Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Holdens Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing