We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Picnic Cafe

Picnic Cafe
Ranked #8 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe, Fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick coffee. Wasn't so quick but the chocolate brownies were worth the wait. Best brownie I have ever had, and the coffee was good also. Would of given 5 stars but the wait was too long, but well worth going to. Food is always great

Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    154
    23
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch with my son and what a treat, had seen good reviews online and they were all correct. My son had scrambled eggs with bacon which also came with fresh bakery bread toast & hash browns, he loved it. My choice of the daily special, a prawn linguine, was delicious and an unexpected Italian / Asian fusion. We finished with a choc brownie which again was inhaled and greatly enjoyed and an orange almond cake which was moist and the right balance between tart & sweet. The afghan to go could have used a little more icing as the biscuit was a little dry but the date & lemon scone was enjoyed by hubby later on. Attentive friendly staff. Overall would def be back, looked like a lot on the menu I would still love to try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roseygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great place for Breakfast, good service and reasonable price”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Picnic cafe is just opposite the Novotel Hotel where we stayed. Novotel's breakfast are always good but it's nice to try other options and it was lovely morning to sit outside and have breakfast.

Service was quick and friendly with a good selection at fair prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dagog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Congratulations,A fine wee spot.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Great friendly cafe with magic food. Big ups to you all. Food and drinks right up there with the best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ONE THE BEST CAFE IN ROTORUA”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Theres not many cafes that I have tried in Rotorua, but PicNic Cafe would have to be a weekly visit for all. We enjoy the people, the atmosphere and most of all the food. The food is sooooo amazing here. Have already recommend you to so many people. Being a local I don't spend much time at cafes as I work during the week, but I look forward to my special treat on the weekends and look forward to this weekend again. Keep up the good work guys & gals. You rock!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princess P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picnic Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Picnic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing