We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquility at its finest”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The owners and management of this property have thought of everything to seduce you at this property, on top of the beauty its location naturally provides. Service staff is impeccable but out of your way, accommodations include multiple locations for a peaceful escape. While Rotorua has plenty to offer, we simply did not want to leave the property to partake in anything else. Black Swan is 5 star all the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    21
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
117
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Loved this small hotel - however the place is made amazing by Gretchen, who was simply an excellent host. Nothing was too much trouble - organising a helicopter flight at 10pm at night - no problem! Night out with 4 hours notice - no sooner mentioned than organised! the hotel itself is in a lovely location, has a courtesy bus into the town. The room was very 'designer' looking, but was very comfortable and had everything you would need including hairdryers, irons, etc. The room had its own balcony with a gas fire for sitting out in the evenings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with amazing view to the Rotorua lake. Friendly and efficient stuff, ultra comfie rooms and delicious home made breakfast. Fantastic pool, sauna and crocket pitch! The one thing that disappointed us is that our shirts and trousers came back from the laundry without ironing.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel on Rotorua Lake is absolutely gorgeous. Right after we parked, we saw black swans swimming around in front of the hotel! The grounds are lovely and the room was so cool & modern! Loved the decor all around. Beautiful view from the breakfast room, and so many places to just sit & relax. A highlight was sitting on our porch at night, with the outside fireplace lit, drinking wine under the full moon.

Room Tip: Rooms outside the main lodge don't have water view balconies, but they have fantastic fireplaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A perfect weekend getaway from Auckland.
Stayed two nights. We brought a package with breakfast and dinner.
Rained all weekend but it made no difference as the location is so quiet and cosy we didn't even want to leave our room.
You will be hard pressed to find a better place in Rotorua

Room Tip: Get the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent 10 days in New Zealand. How were we to know that in the end all of us agreed that the Black Swan was our favorite place? The lay out and architecture is exquisite, and attention to detail is everywhere!
But a big part of the magic is Virginia and Sam. I will never forget our morning breakfasts served in the living room, overlooking the lake with candles and flowers on the table. And nowhere else in New Zealand did we find anything comparable to Sam's freshly made brioche.
The French couple was an interesting companion, Virginia a knowleagable pass time advisor (lovely secret places), and all of that to every guest of the lodge without anybody feeling left out.
The dinner, which Sam prepared was one of the best meals we had in New Zealand, served in a very romantic setting.

I'd go back again with friends for the setting, the lodgings and the great company.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjod272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A very sweet lodge with luxury rooms and an amazing view on the lake and on Rotorua.
But the VERY best of was the amazing couple (Virginia and Sam) who looked after us at every moment. We really enjoyed take time with them, very pleasant and kind. Always smiling!
We had a delicious dinner cooked by Sam, a traditional and modern, French and world cuisine tasted. Really tasty compare to other restaurant in NZ. And the breakfast! So fresh and homemade!We really hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
407 reviews
8.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel

Property: Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Address: 171 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing