We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAKESIDE LUXURY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LAKESIDE LUXURY”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The moment we headed down the long driveway to The Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel I had the feeling we were in for a special treat - and we were. The hotel is located on the edge of Lake Rotorua, a 5-10 minute drive from town, yet a world away. It is serene, stylish, comfortable and elegant.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Gretchen, who was born and raised in New Zealand. She is the perfect host and a wealth of knowledge. She made us feel like we were welcome guests in a private estate. During our stay she helped us with dining recommendations, shopping advice, outdoor activities, and even weather forecasts.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and well thought out. There were fresh flowers in our room daily. If it hadn't been our first time in Rotorua we may have never left the hotel grounds. The bathrooms are modern, the shower spacious and appointed with a deep freestanding bathtub.

Breakfast was served daily in the upstairs dining room. The dining room has lovely views of the lake and a seating area with fireplace perfect for late evening cocktails, after dinner drinks or just reading a book. Gretchen was there to see to our every need. After our first breakfast, Gretchen anticipated our every need, and appeared each morning with our French press coffee and toast.

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip and I recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel experience in Rotorua, New Zealand.

Room Tip: Any room - just stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    21
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
115
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a wonderful surprise to stay in such a beautiful place while visiting Rotorua. The grounds are beautifully manicured and the lake view is beautiful. The rooms reminded me of the Firmdale Hotel Group in London & NYC -- a big compliment! Enchanting and relaxing. The lovely young staff could not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Black Swan while travelling round New Zealand with friends. We were very comfortable there. It had all the amenities we like, good breakfast, swimming pool and an accessible lake, wifi.
On arrival we were greeted by Gretchen who apologised saying that one of our rooms had to be downgraded due to plumbing problems, we were extremely happy with the alternative pool view room, it was certainly not a down grade. (Gretchen was very attentive, she worked very long hours and was always available, a real treasure.). The public rooms are well located overlooking the attractive gardens and lake..
We had 2 good dinners in associated properties in Rotorua, the bistro and the hotel. Transport was efficiently laid on for us.
Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes small b&b-lodge type places.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stumbled on to this charming property as we had booked the Regent.
While at the front desk of the Regent we noticed information about the Black Swan. We drove about 5 minutes from the Regent in the center of Rotorua to the Black Swan. We were instantly charmed and booked it for 2 nights. The grounds are spectacular complete with beautifully manicured gardens on Lake Rotorua. Our room was small but beautiful with a lovely bathroom and a beautiful view of the lake. The dining area was superb with panoramic views of the lake and made to order wonderful breakfast. The staff was excellent and the attention to detail at the Black Swan is exquisite. The swimming pool and sauna are lovely and we thoroughly treasured every minute we spent at the Black Swan. Darren, one of the two owners along with Brett, is incredibly charming and fun to be around. There are only 8 rooms so book early for a fabulous experience in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was one of the finest locations of our New Zealand trip. A beautiful lake side property has excellently appointed rooms, with every convenience, managed by an out of the ordinary manager who responds to every wish or need. Worth making the trip just for this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but try to get one on the entry level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Brent & Darryn have done a wonderful job of creating a very special,sister property to their Regents Hotel in Rotorura. I mention this because we were originally scheduled for the latter property when our traveling companion was injured and had to return to the States. Darryn found us a last minute spot at The Black Swan. It's a renovated property on the lake. Beautiful, well appointed room with a spacious bathroom and panoramic view of the lake. Gretchen, manager of the property, is a great hostess and provided breakfast in the upstairs common area appointed with furnishings from Europe. This property is comfortable, classy and a great place to just hang out and relax. Darryn went out of his way to help us organize local activities, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Dinner at the Regent's restaurant didn't disappoint. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hotel situated on lakeside and as promised black swans swimming close by.

Very welcoming host, very friendly and helpful.

Beautiful bedroom overlooking the lake, lovely furnishing and bed linens.

Lovely gardens complete with swimming pool and beautiful garden furniture.

Breakfast tasty and very well presented.

Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmunro28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
3.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.8 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel

Property: Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Address: 171 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing