We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SADLY WE WONT BE BACK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SADLY WE WONT BE BACK”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We initially booked via Wotif for 2 nights, had to stay one night earlier and booked this by phone and email. Well, this booking while confirmed via email etc didnt get passed to reception and when we turned up no bookings available except the Wotif ones the following night. Evidently if you make internet bookings and there is no rooms available the actual hotel have to find you another room at another hotel at their cost but as I did it direct we were 'roomless' that night. We were shown room 706 after much stalling and this was dirty, had 2 huge holes in the wall, one where the tv had been and the other where the fridge had been. Room 706 looked like it was from a horror movie, wall paper peeling off the walls, dank, and the receptionist quietly told us there is a few rooms which they dont let since they pillage them when things go wrong in other rooms. The relief manager was very much like a character from "League of Gentlemen" and not helpful and actually appeared to be enjoying our discomfort However he eventually offered to find us a fridge and a tv and even some pottles of milk. We decided to go elsewhere that night.

When we checked in the following morning I reinstated that room 706 was totally unacceptable and the relief manager remarked "well, the next family who used it last night thought it was great value". I guess Saturday nights can be desperate at times.

The staff servicing the units were great, couldnt do enough to assist, however the relief manager couldnt help with the baggage since he had a hernia and there was no one else to help. There was no SKY channels and the curtains were hardly 'blackout', just cream thin curtains which allowed all the light in.

The view was what we came for, and yes it was superb but the room was on an angle, and it looked like a 6:1 slope from the window to the rear wall. "We laid a glass of water and what an angle! We had to put pillows down the side of the bed parallel with the window and using the only chair in the room propping it up so the child didnt fall off in the night. The toilet door didnt close because of this angle and a good 3 inch gap present when the door was 'closed'.

I have stayed at this hotel often over the years but sadly never again. Why the owners dont rip it down and build a spectacular zillion star hotel there is beyond me.

The potholes around the hotel are also pretty deep and wide. I have read they cant fix these potholes as thermal activity destabilizes them. Surely they could place large metal plates over these potholes? The outdoor pool was not heated and the spout pools are not thermal but doable on a cold freezing day and appeared reasonably clean. We didnt eat there and their gym was 'closed' and their 'business centre' was a joke - nothing inside but abandoned boxes and what looked like a broken table upside down.

In the room there were no plates, just glasses, mugs, 2 teaspoons and 1 tea towel. Apart from the beds (3) there was no table or chairs except the one chair we used for propping up the pillows for the bed. Lots of space for table and chairs. I guess there were no tables or chairs since everything would roll off the surfaces.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    80
    78
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
164
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I selected the hotel for a weekend breakup due to its location. Facing the geothermal park with the Pohutu geyser right in front of my balcony. And with rented car no problem to be in the city center or at other natural attractions nearby. However, the hotel has its best time gone. The room was large and enough clean and comfortable. Central heating was obviously powered by geothermal energy (nicely hot). But certain renovation is needed, carpets and wall paintings are a bit old, smudgy and splotchy. A bit noisy in the night from the main road. The staff in restaurant (two fellows) was nice and friendly, but the two young girsl at the front desk were quite bored by the off-peak season. Wi-fi was not for free, but for 10 NZD you can use it without limits. Although signal did not reach my room.

Room Tip: Ask upper floor, close to lift. These have good view of the geyser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edpePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Just wanted to write a review on the restaurant as we had such good service. My partner and I had dinner there. The food was lovely and the staff were attentive and friendly. The managers came over to speak with us and to check all was fine. We had a very pleasant evening and thought if that is the standard, it should be a good place to stay. Its a bit dated but this would not be a reason not to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishdNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Dirty bathroom with growth around the tap; used towel and shampoo packet on top of the soap pump in the shower; dirty and non-matching towels in the bathroom; a blood-stained pillow; worn carpet and decor from the 70s's; terribly over priced meals... and the list goes on. I thought I might catch something from staying there and checked out as soon as I possibly could in the morning!

Room Tip: There are plenty of competition in Rotorua!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwu014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in 2011.

There have been a number of changes at the Hotel, and I am certain you will see the improvements, we do hope we can accommodate you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

the hotel can do with a "face lift". the sink's in the entrance room, an open closet (no doors) the bathroom tiny, the decor has seen better days BUT THE SCENERY !!
you can't bit it. we set in our room, below was hot bubbling pool, few meters further, was the geyser that errapted every 20-30 minutes. some people came to the park, missing the eruption, not realising they have to waite for it. we had it "LIVE" from our room, day and night (illuminated). never mind the state of the hotel. the view compensate for everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morchyshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The main reason for staying at this hotel was for the view of the Pohutu Geyser. This in itself would normally cost around $40, but the rates for the hotel are not inflated because of this, and are still at the low end for Roturua.
The only problem is that some of the rooms do not have a view of the geyser which would upset someone expecting this. I would suggest that the hotel increase the rates for the rooms with a view by 10% and reduce the rates for the rooms without a view by 10% to keep everyone happy.
We had a room with a view which is worth every cent.
The room itself was clean and comfortable. This is an old hotel with old decor, but the room and bathrrom had been modestly renovated.
The restaurant was very quiet, which in my opinion is not a good endorsement from the locals, and I didn not try it. Although I was not staying during the weekend, when I was assured that it gets busier.
Breakfast was continental. Hot breakfast was $20. One of my dislikes is hotels that include 'breakfast' in the rate and then charge for hot breakfast. I suggest two rates, one for breakfast (hot) and one for room only.
The pothole is still in the carpark and I had no problems negotiating it.
I would suggest this hotel to anyone on a budget. It is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it claim to be. For romantic couples on honeymoom etc, it is a little bit outdated, but if you don't mind this (ie second honeymoon for someone married in 1975), it is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzieBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The view from the rear of the hotel is amazing, it's basically why you stay there! The rooms are simple, but I found them clean, and comfortable enough. My friends used the private pools, which they didn't charge us for, which are basically baths fed by the thermal water.

Room Tip: Request a back room with a view of the geyser
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#64 of 92 in Rotorua
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing