We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. First the front desk so rude, then the key would not work to get into the room. This went on for an hour before front desk would let us in. Then no towels in the room and front desk wouldn't give us any. The TV did not work and the pillows were only two and had no filling. The room by the pool was awful as deafened all night by the pump and the curtains did not block out the pool lights. I urge people never to stay in this discustingly dirty place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackhawkfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The check in time for the Hotel is 2pm, and whilst we do our best to check guests in before this time, if the Hotel was full the night before we may not beable to assist before 2pm. The pool pump is programmed to operate late morning, so I am not certain as to why you were able to hear it at nighttime, but we will investigate this. The extra pillows are available in the wardrope, where there are two extra pillows. Extra towels are always available, we do understand the guests need extra towels for the spout pools, the reception will arrange this and have delivered to your room by housekeeping, these are not stored in the reception. I am extremely sorry to hear you found the reception rude, they are normally extremely helful and friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    80
    81
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
165
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel is situated on the outskirts of Rotorua. Yes it is old but room 804 had a clean and working jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom, bonus! Breakfast is nothing to shout about, it's continental and it's free. You can upgrade on certain days to a cooked breakfast but I didn't. The rooms are big and if you get to look out over the geyser and bubbling mus pools, great! It was a bit noisy at night, every single lorry/ truck in New Zealand seemed to pass through Rotorua! Electric blankets were provided and the heating you turned on by yourself, on the radiator. Tea making facilities with UHT milk in the fridge. Bed was comfortable. You get what you pay for and we only paid 60AUD a night! The facilities didn't work , ie. pool, sauna and spa pool but it wasn't exactly swimming weather. If you just want a place to bed down for the night and want to see mud and geysers from your room (only certain rooms will have this view) then I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colourfulcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here recently and it was by far the WORST hotel experience I have ever encountered. It is not worth the view, it's old, the reception staff can barely string a sentence together, and the facilities were below par. We stayed for 3 days, and on the second day the fridge stopped and leaked - we rang reception and they told us someone would come fix it - nothing happened. We also went without hot water on our last night there. NEVER AGAIN. I would advise anyone to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is the only hotel, it seems, with a geyser view, and the view is awesome. Pohotu erupts almost constantly less than 50 meters from your window, in the Te Po geyser park, you can also see other steaming areas and bubbling mud pools in this area. This is a geologists ideal hotel! But beyond that there isn't much to offer, the hotel definitely needs updating; the furnishings, paint, fixtures are all very dated. Room wasn't that clean, hairs in bed etc, had to go and ask for milk for tea and coffee. It's a shame really, in a town with an enormous selection of very good motels that the hotel with the best location hasn't made more of an effort!

Room Tip: not all rooms have geisa view, make sure you request one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjamessarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The view from our room of Pohutu geyser and the Whaka fields made our night here one of the most memorable of our 3-week trip. The motel and room itself are austere in a '70s dorm style (same vibe as at US National Park lodging at Yellowstone), but the view from the full-wall window onto the adjacent geyserfields is incredible & stunning. If you think of it as camping out right at the geysers for $110/night, I guarantee that you will be delighted. We watched Pohutu spewing and the mud pits bubbling just yards from our 3rd floor balcony -- couldn't believe how close to the action we were. We barely noticed that our clean spacious room was chilly and spartan, and the motel was weirdly-configured with little windy hallways and odd level changes. Breakfast was decent and the staff was friendly. Really, all you'll remember is that unbelievable view.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BostonQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach waters
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

For NZ$115 we got a comfortable room which slept 5 overlooking the biggest geyser field in Rotorua. You could see the geysers from your bed and nearly touch them from the balcony. All for free. Although a little dated the location made up for the room. There were also tea/coffee making facilities. While in Rotorua be sure to drive the streets with geyzers coming up in backyards, visit the wonderful parks (which also have geyzers), the maori church, the lake, the museum and the gov'ment House. What a beautiful city !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallibull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We booked a room through wotif. We paid a promotional rate wherein we were upgraded to geyserview! The room is well presented, yes it looks a bit old but thats how unique it is. The view is spectacular, where on earth can you wake up with an erupting geyser as a view.

The best part of our experience is when I emailed them asking the iif they can arrange to prpepare a bday cake in the room to surprise my cuzin who will be checking earlier than us! They responded to my email straight away and was able to pull the surprise. If you are visiting rotorua, this is a place to be!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#60 of 92 in Rotorua
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
841 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing