We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #87 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We paid 69nzd/night through a voucher. Although the room was clean, the bed was too small for 2 adults to sleep in, and uncomfortable. We arrived on a Thursday night and they didn`t want to turn on the heating system, until Friday night, so it was quite cold in the room ( we did get a small heater though). Very noisy as well. We could hear everything that our neighbours were talking. Staff seemed ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacr1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Got a cheap deal from wotif for this place. This should have been a clue to the quality of the hotel.
The room itself is basic, but for the price we can forgive that.
My main issue was the bad service we received. The alarm in the vacant room next door started going off just before 6am, and is one of those annoying clock radio types that does not shut off after a set amount of time.
Whoever was working at the time hung up continually. We could hear voices in the background. Reception locked, nothing do but listen to the soothing tones of beep beep beep beep...
To top it off there was no milk in the room to make coffee whilst trying to get some one to do something about it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryza100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Brought a last minute wotif deal I travelling through Rotorua- Included breakfast - Geyser veiws - 2 single beds and late check out... I'm thinking top floor last room maybe the cleaners were tired by the time they get there?
Tired and dated. Felt abit gungy sitting on couch. Mould on bathroom tiles, grubby carpet. Cardboard wedged in window to stop rattling, and was cold despite radiator, due to the warped window that left a 3cm gap with the wind blowing through. Jammed towel in gap. Got bed request wrong, blanket smelt musty, fridge not working, milk was off, desk shelf had been patched with chipboard that was swollen from leaking water...possibly cause of broken fridge? Chair broken. Pool cold, spout pools out of order, 'Gym' a joke. Cleaner not told about late check out. No wi fi. TV had only 3 channels which were all static. Management not very helpful. Award winning hotel?? When 1960?? The only good thing was the veiw of the geyser, breakfast was passable, maybe we just got a bum room but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobiTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

We got a cheap deal and knew what it would be like. Some rooms have views of geysers. Others have wireless. If you must stay here, choose the view.

Gym equipment broken. Spout pools luke-warm. So is sauna. Blankets on bed marked. Shower ok. Staff helpful.

Bottom line: stay somewhere else

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collardsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

One of the best stays I've had. The place is a bit older but was definitely made up for by the service and cost. The view of the geysers was fantastic! Loved the pool and sauna.

The deal I got included dinner and breakfast which was delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicadeemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I bought a grabone/treatme deal last year. The price is quite good, but the facilities in the room are very old. The beds are not comfortable,no duvet, only blanket. Even we turned on the heater, it is still not so warm. Not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

When we stayed at SilverOaks we got a good deal through Wotif, it was $79 with a full cooked breakfast. We stayed in one of the geyser room the view was great but the rooms are a bit out dated they just need a small make-over. The staff was excellent and the cooked breakfast was amazingly beautiful, they even had rice pudding yum. The chief was accommodating as we asked if we could take our rice pudding to our room. The plunge pool was like having a massive bath it was great. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: The geyser rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuGae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#77 of 91 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#54 of 91 in Rotorua
18 reviews
1.3 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#49 of 91 in Rotorua
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#44 of 91 in Rotorua
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#73 of 91 in Rotorua
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#74 of 91 in Rotorua
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £53 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing