We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel in best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in best location”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel is a mess - we were totally disappointed with the facilities - nothing like those claimed on their web site! Entranceway dominated by HUGE potholes but receptionist seemed pleasant enough.

In the unit: Not the 32" screen advertised; three Freeview TV channels only - if you could get them, (the remote was really dodgy and had to replace batteries - then the receptionist gave us the wrong size!); no Sky TV as advertised; no Guest Directory for information.

The room was not particularly clean; the mattress was coming apart at the seams; the pillows were disgustingly stained - I made the mistake of removing pillowslips in the morning! Do wish I hadn't!!! Very minimal crockery and glasses (two) all mismatched; carpet torn and covered with old mat; thermal-drape curtains backing shredded; etc., etc., etc. And this claims to be a 4.5 star facility!

Breakfast staff totally disinterested in clients, she looked bored stiff and this was early in the morning - made me wonder how she gets through each day?

The best thing about the room was the view of Pohutu Geyser from the unit, especially first thing on a chilly morning, truly impressive!

We had booked and pre-paid through a travel agent so handed over our voucher on arrival. Today (one month after our stay) we have received our credit card statement and see we have been charged $89.00 by the hotel as well! $89.00 was far more than it was worth - $178.00 totally ridiculous!!!

Will see what luck we have getting a refund???

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    80
    78
    68
    148
See reviews for
108
163
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We only stayed one night but that was plenty. The geyser view is fabulous but what a shame the owners have let this place get so run down. It's obvious the owners couldn't care less, either. We arrived at our time to check-in and we were told we had to come back in another hour or so but the next moning when it was not even time to check out yet, the housekeeping crew kept knocking on the door on several occasions. The room is fairly clean but soooo dated and falling apart. The backing on drapes was cracked and peeling off when you closed them. Everywhere we stayed in New Zealand in a period of almost a month had a small unopened container of fresh milk in the little refrigerators which is such a lovely custom and one we appreciated. NOT AT GEYSERLAND. Here there was a large container of milk that was already opened and half gone. How do we know if the last person who had the room drank directly from the carton? So unpleasant. The lights in the room were all very large bulbs with no shades so if you turn one on to read you are practically blinded. The bathroom was newer and quite clean. The room was a decent size but several electric outlets were broken and the fan hung at a very crooked angle and wobbled. We were quite warm in the room but were concerned about the way the fan was turning making quite a noise.We had read the awful reviews before we made a reservation here but we were excited to see a geyser so hoped everyone was exaggerating. They were not. They were right on target. What a waste of a great location and view.

Room Tip: The tip is: Find another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The views from some of the rooms in this hotel are fantastic - looking straight onto a big geyser. But apart from that, there's not much else good about it!

Rooms are a bit shabby and not very well equipped. Worst of all is the attitude of the owner/manager - we borrowed a couple of towels to take to the spa for the morning and when we returned at lunchtime, he said he was very unhappy about it and was very rude! But to make it worse, the towels are awful anyway! The breakfast staff were also very miserable and couldn't spare a smile, but i guess that's because they were also being told off by the owner!

I think this is a big difference between this poor quality hotel with an attitude problem and the more friendly establishments in town where staff can't do enough for you.

If i had the choice again, i'd pick a better value, friendly option that's located in town, rather than this outdated place that's a fair drive from the town centre anyway.

Note to staff: a smile goes a long way! Remember that people are on holiday and want to enjoy themselves, not be told off or grumbled at!

Room Tip: If you are staying here - make sure you get a Geyser-view room. The others aren't worth your con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiereynolds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here the other night... Such a shame the hotel has an AMAZING view and location.. Such great potential.

No local information in the rooms and everything's a bit dirty and very dated.

Went to watch TV and it wouldn't work saying "no reception" and despite checking everything ourselves still wouldn't work. We informed reception and were basically told they didn't care. As we had planned a night in.. With no working radio or tv it was a bit boring.

My friend commented at night that she felt bugs crawling on her.. I told her not to be silly. Then I woke up with bites ALL over my feet, legs and torso.

At checkout I showed the boy at reception (who was very nice) my bites and said I wasn't happy. He said "I don't know what to do... " and informed me the owner had just gone out I should email them. I left my phone number for the owner to call me when he got back. No call. So I emailed... No response.
Shocking service and I'm still itchy and horrible!!!'

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This location should have a fabulous hotel but, this one isn't it. Our reservation was mixed up. The staff we met were almost all on their first day, that says a lot. The room we ended up with was overlooking the parking lot. The room was pretty awful and if we were going to be staying any longer than the two nights, we would have had to find another lodging. Oh well on to the bar that overlooks the mud pit. Again first day, and problems. Just a note, if the staff doesn't look up when people enter the premises, it speaks volumes about the atmosphere and the expectations you have are going to disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the newer wing, it will be your only hope. But, be aware that the mud pit is pr...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chawinflut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

As other reviewers have noted, the SilverOaks Geyserland is rundown. The old hotel name on the brow of the building had missing letters - a dead giveaway that the property has seen better days! However, my room was clean and spacious and I had an unrestricted view of the nearby geyser and boiling mud pool. The staff were friendly and I thought that the tariff (AU$51 per night though Expedia) was pretty good value. I was a bit annoyed that two minor maintenance concerns were not attended to during my stay. However, I still think that SO-G was quite satisfactory for a short stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprintlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed here several nights at the start and the end of my recent trip to New Zealand. They do have a pothole in the parking lot and it's an older hotel but, very good value and a great view of the geysers and mud pools. The front desk clerks and maids were all very friendly. You do need to be near the lobby for wifi though.

Room Tip: Ask for the view if it's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachump2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the positive review, Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohutu Lodge
Pohutu Lodge
#19 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing