We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free thermal park outside your window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #87 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Excellent hotel for the price. Really neat and comfortable. Nice staff though one of the girls at reception hadn't been in Rotorua long and didn't have any advice on attractions for us. Our room was on the ground floor and once you walked out of the door there was 2m to the fence and behind the fence was a bubbling mud pool and a geyser which occasionally spurted hot water metres into the air. Good location.

Room Tip: I'm not sure but I think all the rooms must have a view of the thermal park. We had a ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We appreciate your comments, Regards Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

If you want geysers and views of the thermal area then this place is for you. Otherwise, the hotel is somewhat older, is generally clean but there are lots of things "around the edges' that management could tidy up for little or no cost.
Our room was clean but not meticulously so, the bathroom amenities and towels are functional but not outstanding. The hot pool was OK.
The view from our room (in the 800 block) over the thermal area of Te Puia was stunning and much enjoyed. We slept well although there is a little bit of road noise.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was basic but no more. Much of the cooked part of our breakfast was greasy and overcooked.
The restaurant only seems to be open when their are enough guests in the hotel. Don't rely on it being open. It wasn't for our stay and didn't look like it had been recently.
All in all, a bit of a shame as Chef Ramsey might say. The hotel seems to have the bones of being a good property but needs a bit of work.
We got a good deal for our stay and were happy witht he value we got. Like I said, if you are looking for a view - this is the place!

Room Tip: The 800 block has good views of the geothermal area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwisc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

arriving at this hotel keeps a mysterious secret of the unfolding of its direct view of the infamous Pohutu Geyser day and night as well as the boiling muds within the area of Whakarewarewa Thermal Area in Rotorua. you can never be more close than their rooms which have direct view access to the geysers and boiling mud.laundry facilities was a convenience when you are travelling the kilometeres throughout this New Zealand so that we can have clean clothes. watching the sun rise with the geysers and boiling muds are very inspiring.so close to d petrol station is an added feature.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mustapha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the positive review
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This place calls itself a hotel but when I arrived I was basically told off for arriving after 9.30pm. This was after having to press the night button and wait for some grumpy man to turn up and let me in.

My room was not clean and just dull, dull, dull.What a let down when Rotorua is such a vibrant place and I was there for a fun event. Not even a picture on the wall. Even if they had put the local magazines on the table top it would have given the place a bit of colour instead of shoving them in a drawer.

Thought the jug didn't work as the "on" button was missing but luckily realised that it was in fact the plug that was faulty and managed to make a cup of tea by switching to another one. Large space for the fridge was now occupied with a very small and sad looking one.

Carpet was covered with stains - realise that the place needs a major overhaul but there is no excuse for black spodges in the middle of the floor space that a Rug Doctor could remove if they could be bothered.

Towels were thin and ragged around the edges.

Luckily I had an early start so was away before daylight - who knows what else I may have spotted!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are disappopinted that you did not enjoy your stay

We have new Management, and we are passionate about the Hotel and attractions around Rotorua

We are aware that you had some housekeeping issues, all rooms are checked by supervisors, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and we do continue to improve our standards

Kind Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed only one night, and would definitely consider going back again. The Motel definitely needs refurbishment and the older gentleman at the desk wasn't very helpful, however it was clean enough. The view of the geyser from the room was fabulous and listening to the mud pool bubbling outside the window all night was super relaxing.
The wotif description is out of date - the restaurant doesn't seem to be open for dinner, but just head next door to Te Puia if you want the traditional hangi and concert - they provide a discount for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a geyser view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikster_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

If your looking for location and value for money then this is worth considering, yes it's tired and could do with a revamp , but it's kept very clean and rooms over looking the geyser are fantastic. People pay over $40 each you can see it for free 24/7.
We paid $5 to upgrade to a cooked breakfast and it was money well spent, the wifi works better from reception than from your room.
Our last hotel in Wellington was $400 a night, we had 3 nights here for less, and value for money wise this is not bad.

Room Tip: Get a view of the geyser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

this place was really lovely! my partner and myself stayed here for one night (wish it could of been more) we thoroughly enjoyed our view of the geyser right outside our bedroom, and the yummy spout pool! the young lady on the desk was so pleasant to us and very helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area. the sauna was amazing and very private i guess it may have been a quiet time of the year as we werent interrupted! check out was a reasonable time and we were very happy with the whole package. we believe that it is the staff that make for an enjoyable stay as it its welcoming and relaxing when your far away from home :) we look forward to visiting again!! cheers silver oaks!

Room Tip: a friendly staff member always does it for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the positive review, Regards Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#77 of 91 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#57 of 91 in Rotorua
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
#83 of 91 in Rotorua
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#76 of 91 in Rotorua
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 91 in Rotorua
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#78 of 91 in Rotorua
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £54 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing