We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our room had an awesome view of the stuff that comes out of the ground!!

The room and hotel were very old. Our room was clean. The bed was very springy.

The gym is dodgey.

For a night or two this is fine.

It is such a great location and view. I hope that this place gets a re-furb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    80
    78
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
164
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Roll the owner and his staff are very helpful and friendly!!! Willing to assist With any of your nerds. The room was clean, with everything working plus the little extras that make an affordable room worth booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a geyser view, location is far from town but, beautiful. Especially if you want quiet this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The location is SUPERB - nothing else matters. This hotel provides the view that every traveller dreams of when they visit Rotorua - an uninterrupted view over the mud pools and geysers of Whakarewarewa. We just pulled up chairs, opened the sliding door, and watched the view for HOURS.

The hotel desperately needs maintenance - inside and outside it is tatty and crubmling. In fact if we hadn't pre-booked we would have assumed it was derelict, looking at it from outside. It looks like it was last done up in the 1980s. However, in the room everything was clean, the beds were comfortable and fresh, and at reception the staff were very pleasant. We didn't try the breakfast or any other services.

This hotel is cheap to stay at and is a unique experience because of the extraordinary view. Get in quick before it falls down, is condemned, or gets renovated out of the price-range of ordinary travellers.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korora, NSW
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very narrow stairs to the room floors & an old rattly elevator. Rooms are O.K and getting an upper room ( 3rd or 4th floor) you will have a great view of the geyser and the large bubbling mud pool.
Without the view it would be an overpriced hotel. Reception people on the day seemed unhappy & just did their job ( no smile, no interest in the customers )
Would only stay here again if I have the top floor rooms.

Room Tip: Get the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flesh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We got a great rate for this hotel with a view of the geyser. The staff ad manager were more than accommodating. Our room's view was obscured by a tree so they moved us to a different room with a perfect view. We loved lying in bed an watching the geyser. The hotel is old and a bit outdated. But everything you need is available. We were warm and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but the shower head was quite old and sprayed in every direction. If you don't need 5 star and want a great view, this is the place for you!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_E_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the great feedback

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matamata
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

we stay in a number of different hotels around the country and were a bit disappointed with this one. the website did not ring true, so the room and amenities were different than we were expecting which was the first negative. the spout pool was lovely and relaxing. a better type of heating would be recommended for the rooms. the breakfast the next morning was a really good selection which we both thoroughly enjoyed. all in all, a basic hotel for the price we payed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We appreciate your comments, Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for one night with my mother and we were very impressed and would say that many of the reviews on here are quite unfair. Our room was basic, but very clean and tidy with everything you needed. The room was also lovely and warm and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Then of course there were the views!! We were in a room on the second floor and had absolutely incredible views over the geysers. I think anywhere else you would pay a lot of money for those views!!

Room Tip: We were in a room on the second floor and the views were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#64 of 92 in Rotorua
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing