We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good luck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good luck”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lesson learnt big time not to trust pictures on the internet. I'm sure that at one point they reflected the hotel but the place needs a lot of money spent on it in repairs and tidying up. Ruined the holiday experience for the family. Management leave a lot to be desired and seriously lack the skills and personalities to run a hotel. We even considered walking away from the money we had paid and staying somewhere else however unfortunately we could not afford to pay for two hotels each night. BE VERY CAREFUL IN BOOKING ONLINE AND SUGGEST VIEW FIRST.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riptoff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay

We appreciate your comments and we will work on resolving the issues your incurred

Thank you
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    80
    78
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
164
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Close to third world!
Stayed twice because of pre booked business vouchers complained re the shocking room and promised the Best Room in the place next time. WRONG IT WAS WORSE.
Great views however of 100's of tourists looking at Whaka.
Not that any stayed in the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, the Hotel does have a great view, and our team are very focussed at providing a great experience to all our guests.

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were shown into 4 different rooms before finally bailing and finding another motel. Pity we had already paid for the night. First room: faded linen, hole in the wall, shower dirty, dingy and so worn out. 2nd room: shower dirty. 3rd room: linen dirty and shower dirty. 4th room (the best they told us) was a family studio. Floor was uneven - this was 3 floors UP. Shower dirty, towels dirty, no kitchenette sink only bathroom sink. Lumpy pillows, linen looked dirty on the beds. It was worse than any youth hostel I ever stayed at and they were marginal. The owners should be ashamed. NOT up to standard for one of the top tourist destinations in New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank casey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest

I am extremely surprised that such a complaint has been posted.

As Manager of the Hotel, and at your request, I personally took you to show you the room, and did show you three options.

To put this politely, I know that you did not check the linen, as I was with you the whole time.

The room that you had booked did not have a view of the Geyser, but we had offered you a free upgrade to a Geyser view room, it may have been on the third floor, but it was accessed by the lift, so I do not really appreciate your concern about being 3 levels up.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua, and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This place is incredibly outdated, dirty and run down. It is in serious need of TLC to the point where it should be shut down. Do not even consider staying here unless you do not care about standards. It is Cockroach infested (photo to prove it), the tvs dont go, its dirty, moldy, sheets and carpets filthy, and badly kept. The view of the geysers from the rooms on one side are nice however pool view rooms are noisy. The owners seem out of touch and are terribly organised. Spend a little extra $ and find a decent bed for the night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent two days in the hotel. The most exciting impression is that Pohutu Geyser is just across, 200 meters from the window. So I was able to see eruptions in details absolutely free! It is really fantastic experience, one of the most intriguing places I've ever been.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your comments
We would agree, the Hotel offers simply amazing views of the Pohutu Geyser and mud pool, we would say the best view in Rotorua

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Went here last week thinking I scored a sweet bargain off one of the coupon websites until I got there at least.
Rooms were fine and the view of the geysers out back was pretty cool but none of the hotel amenities were available the pool was only half full, the jacuzzi hadn't been used in years, It was full of dust and rubbish the sauna tried and tried to get some steam the heater/hot rocks just didn't get hot enough so it wasn't looking good to chill out and relax the weekend and then we realised the restaurant was closed which is where the bar is located so couldn't even get a drink in the hotel a major joke when I complained I was filled with rubbish excuses they told me basically the whole place was being renovated even tho it was plain to see there was no work going on there all the furniture was set up for business but all covered in dust so all in all a nitemare stay especially no bar ya think when they heard the Irish accent they would of warned us ;-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 367peadard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and we do agree with you in that we offer the best view over Te Puia.

We also appreciate your comments about the clean rooms.

We have had the comment about the pool being half full a few times, this is not actually the case. The way the pool is designed is that it has seating around the entire pool, and guests seem to think that these steps should be covered in water. I assure you they are not meant to be, it is simply pool seating, if you look at the end of the pool you will see a metal filter, just below the steps, it is like an overflow opening in a bath, in that the water can not go over this point. The pool is 1.5metres deep and this is clearly marked.

The pool, four indoor heated spout pools, sauna and gym, are all open for use. The spa pool in the hut next to the sauna is not currently in operation. Within the next month the spa will be removed and a new hot tub will be put in it's place outside in the pool area.

The restaurant is open for buffet cooked and continental breakfast only, we have a wide selection of delivery meals at the reception and these can be ordered for you, from Indian, chinese, pizza, to urbano.

The bar is open for service from 5pm to 8pm, outside these hours drinks can be purchased from reception

Thank you for your valuable feedback


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#65 of 92 in Rotorua
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing