We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hi,I have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and this is the second worst I have ever been at ,the worst was in San Francisco where the airconditioning unit caught on fire,it started with the personalities of the people at the desk and went downhill form there.Form the toilet not flushing to the heater not working,but it did make a noise al night to keep us awake,the pool was not clean and there was a two hour wait to the spa pool.You need to run around in the shower to get wet.the only good thing about staying here was leaving.I am sorry to have to write a report like this but I want others to know not to waste their hard earned money staying at a place like this.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 207Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do have radiators to all rooms, they do give off a great heat.

We appreciate you have raised some maintenance issues, and these have now been resolved.

Thank you
Regards Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lesson learnt big time not to trust pictures on the internet. I'm sure that at one point they reflected the hotel but the place needs a lot of money spent on it in repairs and tidying up. Ruined the holiday experience for the family. Management leave a lot to be desired and seriously lack the skills and personalities to run a hotel. We even considered walking away from the money we had paid and staying somewhere else however unfortunately we could not afford to pay for two hotels each night. BE VERY CAREFUL IN BOOKING ONLINE AND SUGGEST VIEW FIRST.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riptoff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay

We appreciate your comments and we will work on resolving the issues your incurred

Thank you
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Close to third world!
Stayed twice because of pre booked business vouchers complained re the shocking room and promised the Best Room in the place next time. WRONG IT WAS WORSE.
Great views however of 100's of tourists looking at Whaka.
Not that any stayed in the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, the Hotel does have a great view, and our team are very focussed at providing a great experience to all our guests.

Kind Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were shown into 4 different rooms before finally bailing and finding another motel. Pity we had already paid for the night. First room: faded linen, hole in the wall, shower dirty, dingy and so worn out. 2nd room: shower dirty. 3rd room: linen dirty and shower dirty. 4th room (the best they told us) was a family studio. Floor was uneven - this was 3 floors UP. Shower dirty, towels dirty, no kitchenette sink only bathroom sink. Lumpy pillows, linen looked dirty on the beds. It was worse than any youth hostel I ever stayed at and they were marginal. The owners should be ashamed. NOT up to standard for one of the top tourist destinations in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank casey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest

I am extremely surprised that such a complaint has been posted.

As Manager of the Hotel, and at your request, I personally took you to show you the room, and did show you three options.

To put this politely, I know that you did not check the linen, as I was with you the whole time.

The room that you had booked did not have a view of the Geyser, but we had offered you a free upgrade to a Geyser view room, it may have been on the third floor, but it was accessed by the lift, so I do not really appreciate your concern about being 3 levels up.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua, and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This place is incredibly outdated, dirty and run down. It is in serious need of TLC to the point where it should be shut down. Do not even consider staying here unless you do not care about standards. It is Cockroach infested (photo to prove it), the tvs dont go, its dirty, moldy, sheets and carpets filthy, and badly kept. The view of the geysers from the rooms on one side are nice however pool view rooms are noisy. The owners seem out of touch and are terribly organised. Spend a little extra $ and find a decent bed for the night.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent two days in the hotel. The most exciting impression is that Pohutu Geyser is just across, 200 meters from the window. So I was able to see eruptions in details absolutely free! It is really fantastic experience, one of the most intriguing places I've ever been.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your comments
We would agree, the Hotel offers simply amazing views of the Pohutu Geyser and mud pool, we would say the best view in Rotorua

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.9 mi away
Baden Lodge Motel
Baden Lodge Motel
#61 of 92 in Rotorua
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £41 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing