We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One notch above disgusting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #91 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One notch above disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I should have had a clue when I wasn't shown the room when I checked in. Spiders on the curtains in the bath, dilapidated furniture, a half inch gap under the door were just the start. The only reason we stayed at all was because we had already paid. The pressboard furniture was falling apart. The carpet is stained with heaven knows what. The curtains were torn, with tattered tiebacks holding them. The windows rattled with the wind. Oh, and the windows are covered with spider webs. The geyser was pretty. Oh, and we were told that we had the best room in the establishment because it overlooked the geyser. But really, the management should be ashamed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback

We have raised all your concerns with the Management Team and we are working on resolving these issues

We do hope to see you in the future

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    80
    74
    65
    144
See reviews for
104
159
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hi,I have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and this is the second worst I have ever been at ,the worst was in San Francisco where the airconditioning unit caught on fire,it started with the personalities of the people at the desk and went downhill form there.Form the toilet not flushing to the heater not working,but it did make a noise al night to keep us awake,the pool was not clean and there was a two hour wait to the spa pool.You need to run around in the shower to get wet.the only good thing about staying here was leaving.I am sorry to have to write a report like this but I want others to know not to waste their hard earned money staying at a place like this.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 207Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do have radiators to all rooms, they do give off a great heat.

We appreciate you have raised some maintenance issues, and these have now been resolved.

Thank you
Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lesson learnt big time not to trust pictures on the internet. I'm sure that at one point they reflected the hotel but the place needs a lot of money spent on it in repairs and tidying up. Ruined the holiday experience for the family. Management leave a lot to be desired and seriously lack the skills and personalities to run a hotel. We even considered walking away from the money we had paid and staying somewhere else however unfortunately we could not afford to pay for two hotels each night. BE VERY CAREFUL IN BOOKING ONLINE AND SUGGEST VIEW FIRST.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riptoff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay

We appreciate your comments and we will work on resolving the issues your incurred

Thank you
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Close to third world!
Stayed twice because of pre booked business vouchers complained re the shocking room and promised the Best Room in the place next time. WRONG IT WAS WORSE.
Great views however of 100's of tourists looking at Whaka.
Not that any stayed in the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, the Hotel does have a great view, and our team are very focussed at providing a great experience to all our guests.

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were shown into 4 different rooms before finally bailing and finding another motel. Pity we had already paid for the night. First room: faded linen, hole in the wall, shower dirty, dingy and so worn out. 2nd room: shower dirty. 3rd room: linen dirty and shower dirty. 4th room (the best they told us) was a family studio. Floor was uneven - this was 3 floors UP. Shower dirty, towels dirty, no kitchenette sink only bathroom sink. Lumpy pillows, linen looked dirty on the beds. It was worse than any youth hostel I ever stayed at and they were marginal. The owners should be ashamed. NOT up to standard for one of the top tourist destinations in New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank casey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest

I am extremely surprised that such a complaint has been posted.

As Manager of the Hotel, and at your request, I personally took you to show you the room, and did show you three options.

To put this politely, I know that you did not check the linen, as I was with you the whole time.

The room that you had booked did not have a view of the Geyser, but we had offered you a free upgrade to a Geyser view room, it may have been on the third floor, but it was accessed by the lift, so I do not really appreciate your concern about being 3 levels up.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua, and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This place is incredibly outdated, dirty and run down. It is in serious need of TLC to the point where it should be shut down. Do not even consider staying here unless you do not care about standards. It is Cockroach infested (photo to prove it), the tvs dont go, its dirty, moldy, sheets and carpets filthy, and badly kept. The view of the geysers from the rooms on one side are nice however pool view rooms are noisy. The owners seem out of touch and are terribly organised. Spend a little extra $ and find a decent bed for the night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing