We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“realistic please”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“realistic please”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a very good weekend stay, really enjoyed the views and the excellent staff who went out of their way to help us. Feel sorry for them putting up with flack caused by the owner's lack of upkeep, but be realistic people, you paid very little and get what you pay for. Who wants to spend all their time in their room watching tv anyway?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brealistic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We are currently starting an upgrade program, and we do hope that you see some amazing changes to the property, over time

The property is in a great location, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    80
    80
    69
    148
See reviews for
107
165
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wonderful views and budget friendly price. Suited my needs for the night. Only had 4 TV channels and breakfast was only coffee and toast, however this was included in the price. Very friendly man at reception. Great parking for trucks

Room Tip: One with a view over the thermal pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback

The Hotel does offer an amazing view of the Pohutu Geyser and mud pools, it is probably the best view in Rotorua.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm going to start with the only positive thing about this place: the staff were friendly but this doesn't save you from a bad review. The smell coming from the geyserland was so overwhelming that it makes me sick even now...I thought they would provide some sort of air filtration for the rooms but they do not, fair enough that isn't they fault but it isn't pleasant. The worst part was the filthiness of the room. The carpet was tattered and stained all over to the point we wore our shoes everywhere in the room. The bathroom had mouldy tiles and all the fixtures were old and well overdue for replacement (tried to be passed off as a bi-product of the geyserland). The linen and especially the doona felt dirty and made me itchy all over. At night I tried to stuff towels under the front and rear door jams just to stop the smell and insects from coming in. The price was a joke for the quality they provide. Even though we couldn't get a refund as stated in the paperwork we still tried to look for alternate accommodation but every other place was booked out in the area at the time.This place is an abomonation. I would never return here, not even if you paid me. I'm sorry for this bad review but this is THE worst place we've ever stayed in. If you see this place drive by with a smile knowing that you checked it out here first.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Not even if it's the last room available in Rotorua
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seleneenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are disappointed with your review.

The Hotel is located in an amazing position, the Hotel overlooks the Pohutu Geyser and mud pools, Rotorua is a thermal area, and there is a particular smell in Rotorua, that you will experience all over Rotorua, not just outside Hotel. I would suggest that with in an hour you get used to the smell.

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well 5 star it ain't but nor is it priced to be. Handy to the geyser and the views on the upper floors are actually pretty good. Place was clean if a little rough around the edges, was pretty cold when I was there and found the room a bit chilly. Shower/etc was fine, cost us $80 a night for 3 people and figure it was worth that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the Hotel

We are currently running some great Winter deals, and these do offer great value

The Geyser View Rooms do offer an amazing view over the Pohutu Geyser and Mud pools

Great that you found your rooms clean, we have a great housekeeping team, and new pressed and fresh linen

We hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

There is a really cool view of the mud pool and the geysers right out your balcony ... and unfortunately, there is really nothing else good to write about. If the rooms were to upgrade with new carpet, new beds, new furniture, new bedding - this could have been a $200 per night room. Unfortunately, it is so dirty that I didn't want to take off my shoes - and that never happened. The continental breakfast is bare minimum. Thus, if you're booking because of the cool view of the geyser, don't pay more than 65 usd per night. I know it is nearly fall this time of the year but we were the only one the entire third floor. The hotel management should consider renovate rooms in the low season-it doesn't take much really.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor facing the geyser - a picture perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedynikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback

The view from the rooms is fantastic, and we are pleased to let you know that we are currently maintaining all the rooms, and then we are starting a full refurbishment

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here last year and would never return. Below is an email I sent in complaint about the hotel. I never received a reply to this email. This may be due to being unable to find a direct way to email the hotel and I had to send the email through they company's online 'Contact Us' option (or similar, it was a fair while ago I did this).

Good morning,

Last week I booked a room for Saturday 30th March in your Geyserland Hotel as a treat for my partner's birthday. I booked this through Agoda and paid the discounted rate of $149. The room I booked was a Junior Suite.

We checked in to the hotel at 2pm, the advertised check in time. At this time we were told that our room was not quite ready. However, after we had checked in the man at the desk sent us to our room to see if it was ready but told us we would have to wait for towels.

We entered the room we had been given to find that, while it was ready for occupancy (minus towels), it was not the type of room I had paid for - it was a studio room.

I returned to reception and asked to be put in the correct type of room. Eventually the man managed this.

However, we were not impressed with what we got for $149. The room had stains on the carpet and on the board where the fridge used to sit. The door that joined two rooms had loose hinges and could not be locked - we had to move the fridge in front of this to ensure it was not opened.

According to the room description on Agoda, our room should have had:
a mini bar
hair dryer
CD/DVD player
We could find none of these things.

Shortly after we had arrived, we left to go into town. On our way out (approx 3pm) I called into reception to ask that we had towels delivered to our room, as we would require them when we returned. The man at the desk said they would put some in our room while we were out.

On our return, at round 5pm, there were no towels. We called reception and they said they would deliver these to us. After some time the towels arrived. My partner answered the door and the girl who delivered them told him they had run out of big towels and were we happy with small towels. Presuming that she meant small bath towels instead of large spa towels, he said that was fine. However, when I inspected the towels I found that we had been given bath mats. I find it appalling that a hotel would even consider passing bath mats off as towels.

I called reception again and the girl told me they had run out of towels. I explained that I had paid money for the hotel room and I expected to be given bath towels. She said she would speak to the manager and see what could be done. At around 6pm a man delivered two bath towels to our room.

As we were obviously some of the first to check in at 2pm I am unsure how we had to wait until 6pm to be able to have a shower.

All in all both myself, and my partner, were highly disappointed both with the quality of accommodation and the service we received.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest

I do apologise for the delay in deliverng towels to you over the weekend.

We do have an internal commercial laundry, unfortunately one of the washing machines broke down over the weekend and we were unable to source the part in Rotorua until the following Monday.

As a result instead on operating on the normal 3 machines, we were reduced to just one over the weekend, and I do appreciate it caused a substantial delay.

Of course the matter has now been resolved, but it certainly did cause a number of problems over the weekend.

We appreciate your comments and will work on this

Thank you

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I should have had a clue when I wasn't shown the room when I checked in. Spiders on the curtains in the bath, dilapidated furniture, a half inch gap under the door were just the start. The only reason we stayed at all was because we had already paid. The pressboard furniture was falling apart. The carpet is stained with heaven knows what. The curtains were torn, with tattered tiebacks holding them. The windows rattled with the wind. Oh, and the windows are covered with spider webs. The geyser was pretty. Oh, and we were told that we had the best room in the establishment because it overlooked the geyser. But really, the management should be ashamed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback

We have raised all your concerns with the Management Team and we are working on resolving these issues

We do hope to see you in the future

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#60 of 92 in Rotorua
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing