We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEVER STAY HERE”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My sister and her baby were surpose to stay here for 3 nights, but only stayed for 1.
The room was small, old, cold and you could here the conversations from the people next door. There was also ONLY 1 chanel available which was disappointing. Waste the time having a TV in the room. It gets wrose the CUSTOMER SERVICE was poor. The 2 ladies on thr front desk were rude and unhelpful and they didn't even give us a hand with our bags, or show us where our room was. NOT WORTH THE MONEY OR STAY...

I'm glad my sister didn't continue to stay at this place, I should have taken photos to show how discusting the rooms are.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

The rooms do have radiators to all rooms, and whilst they do take 5 minutes to warm up, they are extremely effectice in keeping the rooms warm

I am concerned that you did not find the staff helpful, most guests do find our staff friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    80
    81
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
165
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here while in Rotorua, mainly for the view from the guest room. The hotel was easy to find- just along the main street into town- and close to the city center where there are lots of restaurants and grocery/convenience stores. The rates are inexpensive, but you get what you pay for when it comes to the room itself- very outdated. The views, however, can't be beat! We had coffee every morning on our balcony which literally overlooked the bubbling mud pools and geyser of the adjacent Te Puia thermal park. No need to pay admission and we got our own balcony seats to the show! The staff at the front desk was also very friendly and helpful. So as long as you don't mind the décor, Geyserland is a decent choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotusandthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it is a great place to stay

We agree you do get the best seat in the house, and a nice cup of coffee looks at the view from your balcony is a great way to start the stay

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Advertised as having restaurant bar, Spout pools, TV, views of geyser. And the room was dirty, had a 3 legged chair, and a wall heater half hanging on the wall. It wasn't until after we paid (cash) that they said "oh you can only get chanel 2 on TV and Spout pools dont work, and restaurant bar is closed for winter". Oh and can only contact Manager by email to request cancellation.......but then my husband bumped into the manager in the hallway and after telling him our concerns he agreed to give a refund. Dont go there.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landgholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Cheap price for an overnight stay. The place certainly had its faults, but as far as money goes, we got what we paid for. If we wanted excellent accommodation we would have had to pay more.
The Hotel is in definate need of a good makeover, but I've stayed in worse.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzredranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay, and we are certain you will see the improvments we have made

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Thought that when i checked into the room , that at last new owners had taken over the Hotel , as some cleaning changes have been instituted and linen appeared new
Sorry TV didnt go but wasnt an issue
Alas when i checked out, no new owners and Mr wilson back in control, hope he dosnt make this manager again reduce the standards as has been mr wilsons method of operating hotels in the past, he is well known as a poor operator of accomodation hotels , his standards of cleanliness leave a lot to be desired , no excuse for poor housekeeping
Had a complimentary breakfast and overall the package deal was well priced
Great view of geyser from the room
Can definitely see that the new manager has far better standards and is slowly implementing them, keep up the good work
Shame really that Wilsons ran the Hotel into the ground as is a great site , and if decent operators got hold of it could make something out of its location

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the geysers, in the tower block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Fantastic to hear that you appreaciate the improvements we are making to the Hotel

The brand new pressed linen looks great in the rooms, and the rooms are extremely clean

We look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's very difficult to give the Geyserland an overall rating. The condition of the hotel is so bad it's a joke! The building is very old and poorly maintained, and it looks like it has not been touched for years. The whole place is in dire need of a complete refurbishment and given the state it is currently in it will be a big job!

BUT on the other hand it is a cheap place to stay if you're mainly intending to be out and about, and the view from upper floor "Geyser View" rooms is fantastic...you have the geyser right in front of you and a plopping mud pool directly below your window. It's fascinating to watch and where else can you look out of your hotel room and see that?

The hotel reception area actually isn't too bad and the rooms are basic but ok, but the decor is very dated. The hotel facilities are very limited though...and don't expect everything to be in good working order either!

We visited Rotorua regularly over a number of years while living in NZ, and despite the drawbacks we kept returning to stay at the Geyserland. It really is worth staying here for the thermal experience. We always found the staff to be friendly and helpful as well. I just wish that the owners would invest in the place to bring it up to the standard it deserves for being in such a brilliant location!

Room Tip: Only worth staying here if you choose a Geyser View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackinBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
We do appreciate your comments

It is fantastic to hear that you will continue to keep returning to the Hotel, it is in a prime location and offers an increible view of the Pohutu Geyser, and we agree the rooms are very clean.

We will keep you updated as we move to refurbish the Hotel

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for one night while travelling to Wellington and again on our return to Auckland. the room and bedding were clean and comfortable enough for the time we stayed there.
The hotel itself is a bit dated and needs some upliftment but on the whole the staff were pleasant to deal with and very helpfull.

Room Tip: facing the geyser
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We agree the rooms are very clean and the view is amazing, we hope that on your next stay you make it a long break

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#60 of 92 in Rotorua
13 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing