We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the view & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We especially chose this hotel as we had stayed there years ago and were familiar with its location and fantastic views. We got a very cheap deal from ‘Wotif’ of NZD99 for bed and breakfast. Yes, requested upper level room with geyser view and were not disappointed with our 4th floor room. Our room view was amazing looking straight into the Te Puia thermal area. So close to a huge mud pool we could hear the mud splashing overnight0! Night and morning, when there were no tourists in Te Puia, the geyser and mud pond put on a private show just for us – a memorable experience. On the cool mornings the steam rising from the thermal area was awesome.

Yes it is an older hotel (at least 45 years) and rather run down but not in terrible condition at all, just old and a bit faded. Our room was clean and comfortable. The narrow patio is the ideal spot for taking in the view and photographs but the door was old and wooden, and we used our ‘toolman’ to open the lock and slide it open. The bathroom of course was dated but quite usable, with a very deep bath with shower over. There was a spacious clothes hanging area, lots of room for your luggage, bed side tables, chests of drawers, an easy chair, desk and chair and good lighting. The fridge was roomy and worked well (made our own ice cubes). The ‘cable’ TV – Sky only appeared to have one channel (news) plus the local free to air TV. Breakfast (continental – part of the deal) was okay with juices, choice of cereals and fruits, toast, spreads etc. About what you would find in an average American motel.

Although located close to Te Puia entrance there were no other attractions very close by and your own transport would be best situation. There may be a bus service from the city centre as the hotel is located on a main road. We went to Tamaki Maori Village one evening and their bus picked up and returned us to the hotel.

The hotel appears to have had numerous owners over the years although it has always retained the ‘Geyserland’ name. When we arrived it had change owners again to Silver Oak chain. They may have plans to refurbish the hotel as it surely has potential due to its very unique location. On arrival the staff at the Reception check-in were efficient and friendly. We did phone Reception one evening to ask if they knew the weather forecast for the following day and received a negative, off hand reply as if it was the oddest query they had ever had. The outdoor swimming pool was not heated (very odd for Rotorua where hot water flows freely from the ground). The hotel had private ‘spa’ pools available for a small charge but we did not use them. Yes we would stay there again but only in one of the upper level room at the lift end (better views) of the wing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2009

Just back from new zealand and our stay at hotel geyser was very comfortable; after reviewing reports on travel adviser I was skeptical of the quality of hotel but was surprised;
the view of the geysers was amazing just a shame we were on a ground floor room the sight from up stairs would have been great;Smell not so bad;
Yes the hotel was a bit run down but so was all hotels we stayed in at New Zealand;

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AdelaideStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Got this hotel booked via a package with ANZcro
I can understand someone getting frustrated with it. I stayed for 3 nights including Xmas and there's really nothing to look forward, except the good location (just beside Te Pua) and the good views.
Restaurant was average and service too. No problem with my room although reception did wake me up at 9AM
Looks like they want to have people at breakfast to make an extra money from it.

It is not as bad as it seem and I would stay there again if it was the cheapest 3 star I could find in Rotorua

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chfalcao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our holiday to New Zealand. We booked the hotel using our credit card loyalty points and unfortunately didn't check Trip Advisor first. I should have known better! The rooms are old and shabby and the only thing going for this place is the view. It does have a fantastic view of the geyser, but that's it! The carpet in our room was torn, the exhuast fan in the bathroom was very noisy and the light outside the bathroom was out. The room just didn't seem clean. Also, it seemed we weren't to have a sleep in at this place. The first morning we were woken by a phone call from the restaurant at 9am asking if we were coming for breakfast as they would be closing in the next half hour. I could understand if the restaurant was the only place in town that you could get food, but there are plenty of places in Rotorua to eat and breakfast wasn't even included in our stay. We didn't appreciate being woken as we have a 9 month old baby and we take whatever sleep we can get. The next morning we were woken by the fire alarm at 7.15. The fire brigade did arrive but didn't seem too concerned.
There is a wide selection of accommodation in Rotorua, I think if we went back we'd stay at the Regal Palms.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treens250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We had a big function last weekend to attend and needed to do some shopping next day so decided to stay in Rotorua (we live quite close by). We went to a last minute deal website and got a great deal for this hotel including a hot cooked breakfast for two.
We read some mediocre reviews on here so weren't expecting much but it was great!
We had a large room with a clear view of the geyser. The room was very clean and quiet. It had the usual amenities, although the bathroom layout was rather strange.Lots of luggage rack storage. The breakfast in the morning was ok- not outstanding but certainly not the worst we've had.
Overall we'd stay here again but as we live close to Rotorua, it was probably a oncer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank teelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Booked a room for three adults (husband, 17 year old son and I). Was initially given a room with a wonderful view, air con, one bed and a non-sleeper love seat. We don't mind togetherness (love camping) but there was not a single sleeping surface that would accommodate full size son.

Moved to a room with view of pool. The new room explains why some love the hotel and others hate it. Over looked pool in old area. No air con, very small room but did have two beds (yeah). Shower (no tub like last room, small hairs on wall) that started backing up as soon as I turned it on. Since I have waist length hair I exited the shower and called maintenance. Was finally able to wash hair but had to turn water off at times to avoid overflowing the shower pan.

The hotel itself has a general dirty, unkempt look.

Nice staff was about the only plus.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

The hotel is a little bit out of town, so you'll need transport. Ask for a Geyser view room if you don't mind listening to bubbling mud pools while trying to fall asleep. You won't be able to avoid a little bit of traffic noise, as the hotel is right on the main road. We found the hotel an absolute bargain at NZD99 including continental breakfast. It might be in need of a brush-up, but the view from our room (the weather was perfect) made up for any shortcomings of which there weren't any worth mentioning. Our room was large and clean, and so was the bathroom which had an extra deep tub. Bring your own bubbles! There were tea and cofffee making facilities and a fridge with mini bar. The hotel offered internet access, but this was a bit pricey. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn' t require luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#71 of 92 in Rotorua
92 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.9 mi away
Baden Lodge Motel
Baden Lodge Motel
#53 of 92 in Rotorua
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £39 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing