We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Views Comfortable Bed What more do you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely Views Comfortable Bed What more do you want?”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We Stayed at this Hotel as it takes Bartercard. The building itself is very 70's from the outside, but There is nothing wrong with the rooms for the price. The rooms are very large with ouside private balcony overlooking the Pohutu Geyser. The beds are very comfortable and we slept very well. The bathroom could do with updating but everything in it was working properly and well so we had no complaints.

We have certainly stayed in a lot worse during our NZ holiday

BUT IT HAS CHANGED NAME
NOW CALLED

REGAL GEYSERLAND HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
Thank you for your comments, the Hotel does offer what must be the best views in Rotorua.

Where else can you view the Pohutu Geyser and mud pools from your room, and over look the Te Puia Village, it is an extremely unique location.


We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    80
    78
    68
    148
See reviews for
108
163
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland and New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We always bring visitors from UK to this hotel despite it being a little run down and dowdy. The view as you open you room door is straight to the Pohutu Geyser and bubbling mud pools. Average rooms, clean and good linen. Good sleep. Bathroom very much in need of renewal. Heavily chipped bath, badly brown stained tap mountings. No soap - just a dispenser like a public loo.
Double and single bed in room but only one easy chair and one desk chair.

This was the only place in a 3.5 week tour around both islands to take a deposit. It was the only place to get the booking hopelessly wrong when I came to confirm it 2 months before arriving, and that was despite me quoting the booking refernec AND my customer number. I eventually sorted the booking out and 3 weeks later they wrote to confirm the rooms I wanted were booked. BUT when we arrived the desk hadn't got the right info!
Included breakfast was poor and basic.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alhcookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
Thank you for your comments, and yes it is a must stay place.

We have recently moved to the soft soaps in the Hotel as part of our sustainability drive, the soft soap is a high quality New Zealand product and is good for the environment reducing paper and product wastage.

I am extremely sorry you had problems with the reservation staff, I assure you we will review our systems to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you for bring your guests from the UK to see out Hotel and view, we very much appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I booked this hotel for a quick last minute family break to Rotorua. Having stayed there as a child in the 1970s I had fond memories of the place. However it seems the hotel is pretty much still stuck in the 1970s! We booked a "Devonshire" deal, a room which came with a devonshire tea, an interesting marketing idea... The room was on the third floor at the far end, overlooking the thermal area, we supposedly looked right down on the geyser, however the trees were so tall we had no view of the geyser at all, only a peak of the steam rising over the trees. Could they not keep the trees trimmed?

The room was very tired, the carpets were stained, the linen was old (sheets were very thin) the blanket even had a small rip in it. The bathroom was clean and functional, but there were only 2 towels and one facecloth for a 4 bed room.

As to the devonshire tea, it never happened! We enquired in the evening and were told to come down for scones in the morning. At 9:30am we reported for morning tea, and were told that the chef had gone home after breakfast, and there were no Devonshire Teas available...

Another thing that surprised me was that the pool was not heated, sitting on top of the thermal area it would not be hard to heat the pool? The "free" spa pool was empty, and the sauna smelt as if it had been used as a toilet. Very dissapointing.

Overall we would not stay here again, despite the budget pricing. It is a shame as the location is so unique.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We were here for Labour weekend and stayed for 2 days.

Upon check in, the lady at reception did not have our reservation, she said it might not have come through the system yet. We made the booking 12 hours before we arrived and as a hotel receptionist myself I thought this was strange!Bookings generally come through straight after they are made so I don't know what that was about.

Anyway she checked us in and managed to move some bookings around to give us a room with a view. And boy did we get a view! We were in room 844 and the view from that room was absolutely amazing! The view is what you would expect from a 5 star $500 a night hotel.Everytime we looked out the window we could see the massive geyser and steam, along with a massive mud pool only a few metres away! Seriously save the $40 entrance fee to Te Puia and ask for a room on the 4th floor!

The room was ok, nothing special but any disappointments were overshadowed by the amazing view! Housekeeping needs to pay attention though, we found open shampoo/conditioner packets in the shower. A simple refurbishment of the room, maybe some paint, new bedcovers and lampshades would make the room more welcoming ( and pricey! )

We also had dinner at the restaurant, which although quite expensive, was very delicious. The desert was to die for!

All in all, the hotel exceeded our expectations and we throughly enjoyed it. We would probably go back. If you are going to stay here, it's best to have your own transport as they are down the other end of town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Stayed here 24.9.09. Travelkling with my 10 y.o. grandaughter. Great rates for room and Continental Breakfast.Breakfast wasnt anything fantastic but enough to get you on the road and keep you going.We upgraded to some poached eggs for $6 each which was OK. Room was clean and tidy. Grandaughter loved the views onto the Geysers and other than a fire alarm for 10-15 min. all was great. Would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We especially chose this hotel as we had stayed there years ago and were familiar with its location and fantastic views. We got a very cheap deal from ‘Wotif’ of NZD99 for bed and breakfast. Yes, requested upper level room with geyser view and were not disappointed with our 4th floor room. Our room view was amazing looking straight into the Te Puia thermal area. So close to a huge mud pool we could hear the mud splashing overnight0! Night and morning, when there were no tourists in Te Puia, the geyser and mud pond put on a private show just for us – a memorable experience. On the cool mornings the steam rising from the thermal area was awesome.

Yes it is an older hotel (at least 45 years) and rather run down but not in terrible condition at all, just old and a bit faded. Our room was clean and comfortable. The narrow patio is the ideal spot for taking in the view and photographs but the door was old and wooden, and we used our ‘toolman’ to open the lock and slide it open. The bathroom of course was dated but quite usable, with a very deep bath with shower over. There was a spacious clothes hanging area, lots of room for your luggage, bed side tables, chests of drawers, an easy chair, desk and chair and good lighting. The fridge was roomy and worked well (made our own ice cubes). The ‘cable’ TV – Sky only appeared to have one channel (news) plus the local free to air TV. Breakfast (continental – part of the deal) was okay with juices, choice of cereals and fruits, toast, spreads etc. About what you would find in an average American motel.

Although located close to Te Puia entrance there were no other attractions very close by and your own transport would be best situation. There may be a bus service from the city centre as the hotel is located on a main road. We went to Tamaki Maori Village one evening and their bus picked up and returned us to the hotel.

The hotel appears to have had numerous owners over the years although it has always retained the ‘Geyserland’ name. When we arrived it had change owners again to Silver Oak chain. They may have plans to refurbish the hotel as it surely has potential due to its very unique location. On arrival the staff at the Reception check-in were efficient and friendly. We did phone Reception one evening to ask if they knew the weather forecast for the following day and received a negative, off hand reply as if it was the oddest query they had ever had. The outdoor swimming pool was not heated (very odd for Rotorua where hot water flows freely from the ground). The hotel had private ‘spa’ pools available for a small charge but we did not use them. Yes we would stay there again but only in one of the upper level room at the lift end (better views) of the wing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohutu Lodge
Pohutu Lodge
#19 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing