We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel was recommended to us, but never again.
The whole place is so tired, it needs a thorough overhaul. We were were told by a very bored member of reception staff to move the car so we could access our room more easily.
The room was quite big and had a fantastic view of Te Puia, but that's all. The minibar was half empty, the lamps all had different bulbs in, the carpet was threadbare and the bathroom was only vaguely clean with dirty grouting between the tiles. The spa in the bath didn't work. We were offered the key to a spout pool. That smelt like a swimming pool and really did not look inviting.
We thought we might eat in the restaurant. The waitress was attentive and helpful and chatty, but the food was the worst we had in New Zealand. My partner's steak was all gristle with no meat, he decided against another main course and had another starter. The bar closed early and we were left to drink what we could find in the minibar.
We slept, but it was not the best sleep I've ever had. We left as soon as we possibly could and fortunately did not pay for the disgusting meal the night before. We did not stay to complain to the reception staff. We did that the night before and they really didn't care.
I'm not sure I'd even recommend this to my worst enemy. The only thing going for it is it's location overlooking the geysers and mudpools of Te Puia.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1107nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
We are very disapointed to read your comments, and we are taking them on board in a positive light to improve our service.

The rooms do offer an amazing view of the Pohutu Geyser.

We are greatly concerned about the unhelpful attitude you received from the Receptionist, we have offer this receptionist more training in customer service, we reach an acceptabel level.

We do pride ourselves on our restaurant, and are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal, we have raised your concerns with our chef.

The Spout pools are thermally heated, we have raised your housekeeping concerns with our housekeeper.

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and we would like to welcome you back on day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    80
    78
    69
    148
See reviews for
108
164
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The hotel is right above the main hot springs area so expect a strong smell of sulphur for the duration of your stay; however the location is fantastic because you are right above the main attraction.

The rooms are large but a bit dated, the staff are polite and helpful and the location is quiet unlike downtown, Rotarua is a bit like the Las Vegas of New Zealand but in a bad way.

I definitely recommend staying here, as we entered our room we were greeted with a fantastic view of an erupting geyser, you just don't get that anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Thank you for your positive comments, the views from your Balcony are perhaps the best in Rotorua

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

When we booked online, the description for that booking said a Geyser view room. Unfortunately, we were placed in a small room with a window covered in bird droppings & view of the corridor & pool. No bar fridge, no teaspoons & not enough towels for all guests in room. No heaters and electric blankets didn't work & a bathroom window that wouldn't close. In a New Zealand winter, it was a freezing nights sleep! These lower rooms should go at a budget accommodation rate. On a positive note, when we complained the same evening as check in to be moved rooms or have our money back as we had booked in for 2 nights, they were accommodating and the following day put us in a geyser view room and I have to say that if you manage to get placed in one of the upper Geyser view rooms, I would recommend the stay at Quality Hotel Geyserland.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Thank you for your comments

It is disappointing that you were not checked into a Geyser View, as you had requested, on check in. We have reviewed our policies to ensure that this does not happen again.

We are pleased you enjoyed the Geyser View, it is Incredible, and a view that can only be seen from the SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We had a 1 night stay booking through Wotif.com.nz under the name SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, 424 Fenton Street, not to be confused with a sister hotel SilverOaks Heritage. Our room contained 2 single beds, and 1 queen, small fridge, complimentary tea & coffee, ensuite with shower, price was inclusive of continental breakfast for us all was $120nzd. We booked a Geyser View Room, which also included complimentary wifi in our room, which these days is a must, especially with two teenage girls!! Great value we thought. Our room had a spetacular view of the Geyser at Whakawerawera Thermal Reserve, which from our little balcony was great, a couple of metres away was a large thermal mud pool which we stared at for ages.

The room decor and style is old, however as we were out for most of the day, this wasn't a concern for us. The reception check in was smooth, friendly and very quick & we also got late check out to 12 noon. The only let down was the pool outside was cold, however, for $5 we hired a private pool for 30mins, thinking it wouldn't be long enough, but after 20mins we were finished, it was very hot & lovely to soak in from all our sightseeing we had done. The breakfast the next morning was very plain, so we opted to upgrade to the full cooked buffet breakfast for an additional $6 each, it was well worth it, and kept us going for the day - food selection was the standard, not a huge variety, but certainly did the job. House keeping was very quick when I requested additional towels, as too when I needed extra milk for my morning coffees. So all in all a good experience for us, the closeness to the thermal village was a plus for us. While there we also went to Hells Gate (brilliant), Gondala's & luge rides (wicked fun), shops and the lake front, as well as a morning at the Thermal Village.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Room and bathroom in need of repair. Very old and tired. Musty, damp and cold.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcourty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

We normally get great comments about our location as we offer the unique view over the Pohutu Geyser and Mud pools.

We have, over the last two years, upgraded all the bath rooms and they are now all tiled.

We do have central heating in all the rooms, whjich does offer substantial warmth to the rooms.

We do wish you an enjoyable Holiday in New Zealand and wish you a safe trip back to France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We Stayed at this Hotel as it takes Bartercard. The building itself is very 70's from the outside, but There is nothing wrong with the rooms for the price. The rooms are very large with ouside private balcony overlooking the Pohutu Geyser. The beds are very comfortable and we slept very well. The bathroom could do with updating but everything in it was working properly and well so we had no complaints.

We have certainly stayed in a lot worse during our NZ holiday

BUT IT HAS CHANGED NAME
NOW CALLED

REGAL GEYSERLAND HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
Thank you for your comments, the Hotel does offer what must be the best views in Rotorua.

Where else can you view the Pohutu Geyser and mud pools from your room, and over look the Te Puia Village, it is an extremely unique location.


We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland and New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We always bring visitors from UK to this hotel despite it being a little run down and dowdy. The view as you open you room door is straight to the Pohutu Geyser and bubbling mud pools. Average rooms, clean and good linen. Good sleep. Bathroom very much in need of renewal. Heavily chipped bath, badly brown stained tap mountings. No soap - just a dispenser like a public loo.
Double and single bed in room but only one easy chair and one desk chair.

This was the only place in a 3.5 week tour around both islands to take a deposit. It was the only place to get the booking hopelessly wrong when I came to confirm it 2 months before arriving, and that was despite me quoting the booking refernec AND my customer number. I eventually sorted the booking out and 3 weeks later they wrote to confirm the rooms I wanted were booked. BUT when we arrived the desk hadn't got the right info!
Included breakfast was poor and basic.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alhcookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review, 31 March 2010
Thank you for your comments, and yes it is a must stay place.

We have recently moved to the soft soaps in the Hotel as part of our sustainability drive, the soft soap is a high quality New Zealand product and is good for the environment reducing paper and product wastage.

I am extremely sorry you had problems with the reservation staff, I assure you we will review our systems to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you for bring your guests from the UK to see out Hotel and view, we very much appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#64 of 92 in Rotorua
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Property: SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing