We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$121
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$130
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$153
US$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$142
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$64
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
21
81
82
70
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
81
82
70
157
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2007

I stayed here as part of a large group. The convenience of this hotel to Pohotu was a definite plus. We were booked for the Hangi Feast on the night of our arrival. I wouldn't recommend spending your money on this. I was disappointed with it and you can spend your money at the Pohotu cultural center down the street for something better. The breakfast is good and hot (although I was sick of tomatoes, beans and scrambled eggs by this point in our trip). Our room was large and the beds were comfortable. The shower was large too. The hotel has spout pools which you can use in the winter. They are large enough to accomodate at least six people. The sauna is a steam sauna and it a nice touch on a cool winters night as well. I loved Rotorua and only wish we had had a few more days there. Be sure and try the Agrodome and the Adventure Center too. Zorbing was the highlight for my daughter.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IwantoliveinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

The good - I liked the size of the room, nice shower and bath, outlook over the mud pools and Pohutu Geyser

The OK - a bit far from town unless you wanted to drive, breakfast OK, but not great, traffic noise, but there was an internal door which cut down noise

The bad - large cockroach that crawled in to my bag and came home with me (a colleague had a cockroach end up inside in clotthes she was wearing), dated and worn in areas, conference room seats absolutely disgusting (dirty and broken) - need to be thrown out

Hotel is in a thermal area so there is a sulphur smell almost al the time (this does not bother me however).

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jeffrocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Location on the outskirts but did not impact us as we had a car

From Room got free view of Geysers in action

Am quite used to smell as work on a chemical plant

Good value for money for 1 night stay

When booking expectations were low but place bettered these

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threespires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

In my view this hotel was truly horrible. It stated refurbished in 2006 - dont believe it, the reception area possibly, the room we had was circa 1960. Really shabby, and dirty. We stayed at 6 different motels/hotels throught the north island and this was outstandingly bad. We asked to be moved and they offered us a better room for one night but had to go back to the original for the remaining 2 nights of our stay as the hotel was fully booked, the 'better' room was marginally better - still dirty. The pool was filthy with black scum around the rim, the only parasol was rusted through. To say the hotel was fully booked we didnt see anyone going anywhere near it!! I cant remember the last time I stayed in a hotel that had BLANKETS on the beds, these were definately circa 1960 - tatty and torn too. Rotorua is absolutely gorgeous and we stayed in the lousiest place. Do not stay here. They are also changing the title to Regal Geyserland (God know's why) its anything but Regal. BE WARNED!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondewithbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2006. The hotel was reasonable inexpensive compared to other hotels on offer and compared to those we stayed in. The hotel and the decor were dated, but our room was neat and clean and had Spectacular views of the Geysers and mud pools!

Our room included breakfast and we ordered it to be delivered to our room, where we ate breakfast watching the Geysers erupt and we had no complaints over the food or the service!

We basically only used the hotel as a base to explore the surrounding areas including all the geothermic parks except for the one which we overlooked!

The smell of sulphur is not that bad, you get used to it!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the great feedback

Regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews