We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet for value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Its a nice place. My family stay here whenever we are in Rotorua as the food, and location is exceptionally good and you are safe in knowing you will get value for money.

We only stayed the one night this time, booked a standard room upon arrival where check in was swift, hassle-free and our room was comfortable and clean. Our t.v was a little fuzzy, however the children didn't seem to mind.

Sudima is an ideal place to stay and was $60.00 cheaper than the holiday park we looked at, in a far better location, and with better amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderwander26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked 2 nights including breakfast for two at $139 NZD. The "hot pools" were free... and that was all that was free. $10 for 2 hrs of internet. $19.50 for a hamburger (a really bad hamburger). Breakfast was not that good. Runny eggs and horrible looking bacon that I would not touch (and I will eat most things).
But the really bad part was the service. Tried to order room service and no one would answer the phone...ever. I tried for 20 mins. The next day I called again for a bucket of ice. Again, no one answered. I called the front desk and ask them to send a bucket of ice. They sent 2 "ash-tray" looking containers with ice. Maybe enough for one drink. I asked the duty manager about this and he said they no longer serve buckets as they are stolen more often than not.
Too much attitude from the staff for me. I wont go back and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for the feedback contained in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed two nights superior standard room which came with 2 queens beds. It would seem that the coach trip guests were given rooms to the front of the complex and the car travelers were to the rear of the complex. The package trippers included the Dancing and Hungi so got the better deal. The room was fine, clean and comfortable with wifi available for a small charge. Every thing was close by including all the shops and the Pig and Whistle is recommended for a good beer and food. Must try the Polyanesian Spa next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swagman162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel was right next to the lake , very steamy as a lot of places are in Rotorua. The room was nice and comfortable. I stayed here with a tour group and we had breakfast and dinner here and the meals were fantastic. I also found all the staff friendly and helpful. There was a spa available at the hotel or it was a short walk to The Polynesian Spa down the road. It was also walking distance the the shops but if you just wanted a few souvenirs there was a nice little shop on the premises. I loved Rotorua and would not hesitate to stay here again if I returned.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for the valuable feedback that it contained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel is in front of the volcanic lake and hence, have private hot water spas available to guests freely. The whole of Rotorua has rotten egg smell, but is not harmful in anyway. The room was offered to us at a very discounted price - NZ$ 109 per night and we thoroughly enjoyed the views and its surroundings. Nice room with queen bed and clean linen and towels and complimentary breakfast was ok. The only downside is that many of their staff are Asians who cannot speak much English, and we were confused whether we are in NZ or in some Asian nation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. It was where I stayed as part of a tour package while down in Rotorua and would definatly recomend. Bed was very comfy, bathroom was nice and breakfast the next day was very good too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Great hotel, great bathroom and nice breakfast! Right by the lake, check it out in google maps! Nice to save some bread from the breakfast to go all the way to the lake to feed the seagulls! But don´t tell the hotel I´ve suggested it! lol!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Leopoldino M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for keeping our seagulls well fed! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 91 in Rotorua
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#23 of 91 in Rotorua
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £78 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing