We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for the Price! Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great stay for the Price! Convenient location”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Great cheap place to stay, only paid about $70/night for my Queen room which was almost cheaper than some of the private rooms in backpackers.

Room had everything required - TV, Fridge, bath, toiletries. Facilities even include a private hot bubble jet spa or could go next door to the Polynesian spa (which was actually really crowded). Plenty of parking available.

Staff were friendly and helpful! Would stay here again@

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puringu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities on offer at our hotel and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    557
    396
    160
    65
See reviews for
394
540
75
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This hotel was part of a package. It is one of a large number of similar places in Rotarua. The location is convenient to shops and a supermarket. The room are adequate and reasonably comfortable. The food was very good and plentiful. We were able to use laundry facilities and they were not expensive. Wifi was available at reasonable cost. Reception staff were very good and helpful. Close to Museum and spa facilities in house are included. Very close to
Polynesian spa. A pleasant stopover.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read about the many positive experiences that you had during your stay at our hotel. We also trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip through our beautiful country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

10 of us stayed here and very pleased with everything.
The rooms were the most spacious rooms I had ever stay in.
Very close proximity to the main street and attractions.
Hotel staff very efficient to resond to requests. Very friendly
Swimming pool lovely

Room Tip: The most spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Guest, We are very pleased to hear that you and your group had an enjoyable stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future! Thank you also for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights. I was in the last room of the last wing on the ground floor. I found the room to be very nice.

Beds were comfy, bathroom was clean, curtains blacked out the light.

The breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed staying here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My hubby and I visited with our 22month old daughter. Fantastic service, a porter helped us with our bags up to our room and set up the portacot (mattress, in addition to the usual portacot one). All staff were extremely polite and helpful in comparison to other motels/hotels we stayed at whilst in the North Island this trip in the same budget range. Staff at the resturant for both dinner, breakfast and the Hangi were awesome... when they saw us coming they were already prepared with the highchair.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is a standard big hotel - the service was fine but nothing special, and same goes for the room. The bed was a bit too springy and our toilet flush was originally broken, but when we pointed this out it was quickly fixed while we were away. There is a little geyser right in front of the hotel which was a nice - though stinky - touch.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pancreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am sorry for the issue you encountered in your room, I will most certainly share this with the team in order to ensure that we maintain our quality controls at the highest possible level. I am pleased that you liked the geyser, the smell is most certainly quite unique!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

budget is how I would describe it. go out for breakfast. Coffee at the museum is the closest good coffee. staff were great.

Room Tip: not all rooms have air con. mine had a noisy ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk1cortina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that our breakfast was not to your liking, pleased to hear that you managed to visit our beautiful museum though! You may also be interested to know that since your stay we have added airconditioning into another wing in the Hotel for the comfort of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
1,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing