We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience with Hotel Sudima”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We landed in Auckland after 23 hours of air journey from India. From there we hired a car and drove to Rotorua. After a 3 hours long road journey we reached our hotel...the Sudima Hotel. We spent 3 nights in the hotel and pretty much enjoyed our stay there. The room was very spacious and comfortable.. it had 2 huge beds, chairs, tables, sofas ...almost everything. We had a great sleep in the cosy room after a long journey.The view from the room was also nice.The best thing about the hotel...was the breakfast buffet served there. It was simply amazing, a huge variety to pick from. The salads, fruits, breads and beverages served were super.We also ordered sandwiches to our room on one of the day,s of our stay in the hotel and they were really good. They served lot of fries and fresh salad along with the sandwiches.The staff and the room service was really good. The staff guided us about the best activities in Rotorua.Also,there was lake near the hotel which is beautiful. The hotel is very near to the market and other important places. All the major eating joints, supermarket are around that area. We also booked the private free hot pool which proved to be a good experience.They do offer some spa's in the hotel itself. The only issue we faced was to locate the hotel, as it can been seen from the main road but the entrance to the hotel in through some street. The coffee shop in the hotel was really good. They served nice coffee and snacks, with an amazing view of the lake.They provided paid internet and pool table was also available. They also organize some local dance performance in the hotel for the guests.Overall a nice experience with Sudima hotel.

Room Tip: Book in advance
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vipgup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about your enjoyable visit to our hotel. We are pleased that the team here was able to provide you with an experience that made your visit to Rotorua a memorable one. We do hope that the remainder of your visit to our country was equally enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed here one night on25 December 2011 on our way north. Great location. Good size room and clean. The Hotel is very large and seem at varying stages of refurbishment. We were first shown to a double queen room at the far end of the facility. We queried this as we had booked a King. We were relocated. The King room had a balcony, which was nice. The double queen room did not have one. The room was very quiet - so good sleep. The bathroom had a shower over the bath tub and was clearly refurbished. Not very large bathroom but adequate.

We had booked a table for the buffet Christmas dinner and found our reservation paid off with a window seat. The service was good and staff were friendly. The Turkey was cooked to perfection.

We booked through a rewards system and paid a reasonable price for the room. Overall, very good value for money.

Room Tip: If you want to step outside the room, suggest you ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest, We are pleased to have assisted you with a room of your choice and that you subsequently enjoyed a good night's rest. Thank you also for your comments about the Christmas dinner, the turkey was definitely a highlight for many of our guests. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Great cheap place to stay, only paid about $70/night for my Queen room which was almost cheaper than some of the private rooms in backpackers.

Room had everything required - TV, Fridge, bath, toiletries. Facilities even include a private hot bubble jet spa or could go next door to the Polynesian spa (which was actually really crowded). Plenty of parking available.

Staff were friendly and helpful! Would stay here again@

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puringu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities on offer at our hotel and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This hotel was part of a package. It is one of a large number of similar places in Rotarua. The location is convenient to shops and a supermarket. The room are adequate and reasonably comfortable. The food was very good and plentiful. We were able to use laundry facilities and they were not expensive. Wifi was available at reasonable cost. Reception staff were very good and helpful. Close to Museum and spa facilities in house are included. Very close to
Polynesian spa. A pleasant stopover.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read about the many positive experiences that you had during your stay at our hotel. We also trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip through our beautiful country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

10 of us stayed here and very pleased with everything.
The rooms were the most spacious rooms I had ever stay in.
Very close proximity to the main street and attractions.
Hotel staff very efficient to resond to requests. Very friendly
Swimming pool lovely

Room Tip: The most spacious rooms
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest, We are very pleased to hear that you and your group had an enjoyable stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future! Thank you also for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here for three nights. I was in the last room of the last wing on the ground floor. I found the room to be very nice.

Beds were comfy, bathroom was clean, curtains blacked out the light.

The breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed staying here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My hubby and I visited with our 22month old daughter. Fantastic service, a porter helped us with our bags up to our room and set up the portacot (mattress, in addition to the usual portacot one). All staff were extremely polite and helpful in comparison to other motels/hotels we stayed at whilst in the North Island this trip in the same budget range. Staff at the resturant for both dinner, breakfast and the Hangi were awesome... when they saw us coming they were already prepared with the highchair.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £59 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing