We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We are a family of 4, and we stayed at the Sudima for 2 nights. The location of the hotel is great, right by the Polynesian Spa. The reception is nicely decorated, however our room was a bit tired. (Maybe some new bedcovers would make the room more appealing.) The room was clean. We had a Standard Room, and we found the double beds to be too small and uncomfortable. I would recommend looking at a Superior Room for a better sleep.

Room Tip: Double beds in Standard Room are too small. Recommend trying a Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRobertsons43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and the comments in regards to the double beds. You will be pleased to know that we upgrade these beds to queen size when the guest rooms are refurbished in order to address this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a total of 5 nights, we have 2 small children & didn't know how we would cope this long in a hotel room, but it was great!! Our room was perfect in every way!! Extremely clean, comfy, comfy beds, flat screen t.v with good selection of channels, bathroom was really great, no view at all, but we really didn't mind at all, fantastic parking, they have a small splash pool & spa's for guests to use, we loved the pool, was fun for the kids, didn't use the spa though. All staff we had dealings with couldn't have been more friendly! Hotel is in a great location too, really right in town, easy to walk to shops, supermarket right across road. Right on the Sulphur lake, very beautiful! A tad smelly, but hey it's Rotorua & I actually don't mind the smell! We didn't eat in the hotel restuarant, but it looked great, gift shop in the lobby was good & lady behind the counter was so lovely!! My daughter loved her! Thank you Sudima, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eden9825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

very nice place to stay, friendly staff, nice room (though the bathrooms could do with a better clean) really comfortable beds, good food at the restraunt

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwianna-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Sudima Hotel and were pleasantly surprised, The service was great and the room was extremely comfortable. The restaurant was nice and the staff were all very friendly. We enjoyed having a spa which was very private and the heated pool was lovely. A bonus was also that we were right on the lake which was just beautiful. Also there was ample parking at all times which really helped after a day of exploring.

Room Tip: Let reception know exactly how many people with be travelling with you. I travelled with my partner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel is located right next to the lake and our room had a great view. The sulfur-egg smell is always present but this obvious given the location. We spend two nights at the hotel and really enjoyed our time there. The breakfast was very elaborate and of high standard. We suggest making the wifi free. The pool was very hot as expected, which we loved. Overall a good hotel at a great location!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

At first i and most of my friends were turned off from this place because of the sulfur smell, but once we were in the hotel we were pretty content. You could never smell the sulfur once you got inside, and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were very nice, clean and each one had a balcony and a big window. I was in a 3rd floor room and had to carry my bags up and down on my own so that was a pain. I would recommend a ground floor room if you have a lot of luggage. But if you don't mind a little weight lifting, the higher rooms have great views of the lake and town, it was very nice to make up to.

After a few hours there I didn't even notice the smell. The area around the hotel is lovely, you felt safe walking to a restaurant on your own or with a friend, and the locals were very nice and would gladly help with directions. There were tones of restaurants, and gift shops in walking distance.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms have great views of town and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimD1993NFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here only for 2 x nights ( got a deal on hotelcombined.com)28-29 Feb 2012. We were in room 340 non smoking. Nice clean rooms, comfy, nice clean new linen sheets, For the cost $350 all up which was a special it was OK, the pool with a view of the stars was lovely and warm - I just think if you are in Rotorua, go jump on line and search for a special deal.

Would i go back - NO.

Room Tip: It will totally depend on cost for this massive sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briarley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing