We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great Value, Awesome breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Superior room and we're very pleased with our stay. Our room was set back off the lake and all though had no views it was of a big size and clean. The rooms are a little dated in decor although this is not comprised in cleanliness. We had to two big beds and plenty of space to relax.

The hotel has a swimming pool and private spa pools which we used on two occasions during our stay. There was also good laundry facilities. Our stay included breakfast which was exceptional. There was so much to choose from and the quality was excellent.

This hotel is a few mins stroll from the town centre and everything you could need on your doorstep. We didn't have a car but had no issues getting around. Yes the hotel does smell of sulphur.......but as does the whole town as you are in the Geothermal centre of NZ.

We were extremely pleased with our stay overall as this hotel is simply excellent value for money. Had the wifi been free of charge I may have even rated it higher. For the ridiculously low prices and excellent breakfast we would recommend to all others visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 1 night in a deluxe room, we had a great view to Lake, Beds were comfortable and room was nicely decorated, very noisey by restraunt, which made for an early morning, bathroom was nice. windows had to be wiped down with a towel in the morning as so much water on them, which dripped down onto the carpet. Restraunt breakfast was great, and so were the staff, front counter staff were extreamly welcoming and friendly on arrival and departure. Overall for the price we paid it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyx3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Sudima Hotel is in a good location although the actual bedrooms are spread around the site in different blocks so the walk back to reception / restaurant can be quite a journey.
The rooms are functional - perhaps in need of refurbishment; especially the bathrooms.
Stayed as part of a group for two nights - the dinner buffet was very busy although it was well stocked and replenished. Food quality was acceptable although not outstanding. Breakfast was a similar situation - getting tea and coffee was a long walk to the other end of the restaurant.
The bar service was friendly and efficient and the area comfortable to relax in.
Reception staff were excellent - very helpful when we ran out of milk in the bedroom and able to assist with printing from the internet access point.
Location is good as it is in easy walking distance of the main street.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in January as part of a tour.
As soon as you arrive at the hotel the smell of Sulphur is overwhelming but do you get used to it. Our tour guide advised us to take all Silver off that we had as the Sulphur would turn it green!!
I was in a triple room: 2 single beds and one double. The hotel room was lovely and clean and very modern. We had tea/coffee making facilities and a good sized bathroom with shower. The water pressue of the shower was very good!! The room also had a TV.
We had dinner at the hotel and watched a Traditional Maori Dance which I thoroughly enjoyed!!! The dancers were AMAZING so this is a must while you're here. The dinner is buffet for the show and is all traditional New Zealand foods, desserts included. The food was very good.
Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant, and was very good! It consisted of cereals and fruit etc. but also Bacon, Sausages and so on.
This hotel was very central and was a 10 minute walk from local restaurants/shops.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dani_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed in a 2-Queen Bed size room. Rooms were inexpensive, very clean and beds very comfortable. We chose the plan which included a full breakfast. Breakfast was exceptional - a full variety of hot and cold dishes. Hotel location is superb - within a block of the town center but right on the lake which meant great views and little traffic or noise. Most impressive was the friendliness of all the staff. We were greeted everywhere with the type of acknowledgement you typically find at a Ritz Carlton or similar.....without fail, every staff member had a smile and a warm greeting for you

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Dickeydido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Thanks to an online voucher giving a wonderful discount on a Superior room with cooked breakfast - we stayed 2 nights over Easter - also many thanks to the management at the Sudima for making the special available. By the numbers in the dining room at breakfast time, there were lots of Kiwi's who were taking advantage of the special and spending time with their families..
Our room was very clean and tidy and the beds excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. The location excellent - yes the smell - but that is what Rotorua is all about and we did like being able to have our window open to get air in during the night - we were on the first floor and there were security stays on the windows.....
Only downer was the block were we stayed, did not have lift access - but the helpful staff did offer portage if we required it.,

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground level or one on a floor that has lift access - if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZKiwiAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Sudima Hotel in Rotorua with a group of 17 people. From the moment we arrived the service was absolutely excellent. A fabulous guy by the name of Ropata jumped on board our coach and introduced himself, welcoming everyone to Rotorua. He proceeded to explain all the hotel amenities that were available for us to use, and his great sense of humour had everyone laughing. Upon disembarking from our coach we were met by Shane who then proceeded to tag all the luggage and deliver it to everyone's room. Excellent service. The rooms were well equipt and very clean. The hotel is in a great location with wonderful views over the lake. Next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant and everyone agreed that we would give this restaurant our vote as the best breakfast we had experienced on tour. It was lovely. We spent two nights at this great hotel, and I would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Rotorua. Thank you for being such wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unitedtourleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing